You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crocheting makeup pads - a fast project on the go...

in #crochet5 years ago (edited)

As I love puff stitch (I think I am into the puffiness :-D) these are my thing. But I am unsure what kind of yarn I should use... I think acrylic will not absorb and the cotton yarn I have is soooo scratchy. Hmmm I am deeply in thought ...
You gave me a nice project for this afternoon as it is so stormy, we cannot go out (and as I have no migraine, I so wanted to use the time)

Sort:  

I'm now wondering what type of yarn you decided to use in the end, @neumannsalva. I know exactly what you mean about 'scratchy' yarn, especially if it needs to be in contact with delicate skin. I wonder whether after a few washes the cotton would soften a bit. There's a way of making acrylic yarn softer by soaking it in water with fabric softener for a (long) while. The cotton I used was just a second hand ball from a charity shop - no clear provenance but it's really soft and I had enough for 5 (ie 20g) + a tiny bit (3g) left :D

Incidentally, I made this jasmine stitch crochet square ages ago - that is puff stitch too, isn't it? I was sad it looked so messy but was happy to understand how to make the stitch :D

I only need to perfect it now :D

I do not find your puffs or daisies messy in any kind. Especially the Jasmin (I know it as daisy stitch I think) is beautiful and (I am so predictable) can envision this pattern for a beautiful spring cardigan.
And I found a yarn... but I will not tell 😂😁 because I think I will write about it on Monday. Thank you so much for your inspiration 😍

Yes, this stitch would look beautiful in a cardigan, @neumannsalva. I'd personally just manage a scarf though (ha ha no shaping) and I'd use 4-ply as it could be a bit thick otherwise - okay temperature wise but not so good to dry naturally.
I look forward to seeing what you make :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84