You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is STEEM's Brand Story? A Fun Community Experiment: Crim Says Take Action

Actually, DTube deletes content from there servers after about 6 weeks. It is neither a truly distributed network, nor is it persistent.

Surprise!

I left DTube after I discovered that my content was gone. Apparently if you read the fine print in the FAQ on the Discord channel they explain this. (It isn't on their website... Hmmm?)

Consider BitChute as a better option.

Sort:  

I’m sorry to hear about your view about Dtube @spbeckman!

I guess you haven’t done the research and also may be Dtube hasn’t explained things probably.

Before I go further, I claim that I’ve nothing against you or BitChute.

  1. You can host you video for free for unlimited time by contacting @igormuba ( a steem witness decided to help out Dtube community )

  2. Also we’ve @onelovedtube where you can purchase $10 monthly subscription for the uploader and unlimited time IPFS hosting for your videos. And @theycallmedan is supporting anyone who purchase this his upvotes to cover the cost.

https://steemit.com/eos/@theycallmedan/f1n55v7o

Dtube is continuously working to fix these issues and soon we’ll have solutions.

If you want to contact me directly then please do and I’m happy to help you.

My contact details Telegram @nathanmars WhatsApp +447901003594 Twitter @nathanmars7 Discord @nathanmars#2708

Wow, I thought there wasn't away out of the 6 weeks dtube limit, maybe I should bookmark this comment for future use.

Dtube uses IPFS technology, so it hosts your content during payout period, but it does purge videos later on unless you have pinned the content. If you include an article body with your video, that text content is stored on the chain, permanently. Because videos themselves are not kept in the chain, they are susceptible to hosting fluctuations. I can hook you up with a few groups who can help you pin to IPFS and keep control of your video content, if you like!

From where did you find this documentation?

Which part of it? The part about IPFS I learned from the curation and community groups that have formed around Dtube - I'm not normally a video content creator so I've really learned a lot in a short time from the people who know more about Dtube than I do. It's pretty cool and relevant, when we talk about how special the community is here, and how it's in our hands to really educate! Any hosting platform could poof your videos or content out of existence (because of resources, censorshi... you name it), no matter who or how big they are. IPFS does mean that you can make sure your content is pinned and hosted yourself, but it does also mean a tiny bit of extra work/resources to have that control.

As for your text on the chain, that's the underlying basis of what Steem is all about! If you ever want to see what a post really looks like, and the basics of what actually goes into the chain, take a look at your post on Steemd. For example, if you look at this post itself in it's text form on the blockchain (click here) you can see what the post actually looks like. You can also see that images and video are permanently included in terms of the link to the content hosting, but the actual media itself is off-chain at those locations. The text as I wrote it (so, perhaps, a text transcript of the video or an explainer) is in the chain for good.

Let me know if I can help you meet up with some experienced Dtubers who can help answer more questions!

It's pretty clear that they use IPFS. If you want to make the video available forever you need to host it yourself, or make something viral so it's replicated enough times that it'll hang around forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79