Elevator Pitch for Steem: Star Wars Edition

This is in response to a challenge by one of my mostest favorites in this part of the world, @crimsonclad. She is part and parcel of the change that is rocking through the world of Steem and as such it is just imperative that I pay attention. After all, I can either be the change I want to see or suffer the consequences of not participating.

What Do You Like Best About Steem?

There is a lot to like about Steem. One of it’s best features is that it is an immutable block chain, which means that NO ONE can ever remove my content. Once posted it is there forever and I simply can not be censored.

cat-2536662_1920.jpg
Source

But what is a block chain you might ask? It is essentially a mathematical construct that stores information in blocks. Once a block has been recorded it can’t be changed. It works incredibly well for storing huge hunks of information. Steem has a max 3 second delay on recording so it records and holds darn near in real time.

The block chain in general and Steem specifically is fast, accurate and open. Once a block is recorded it is available for anyone to examine. One of the drawbacks is the raw amount of data and how it is processed.


That’s it? Because It Protects Your Content?

Absolutely not. The block chain is really good for storing financial information and by so doing tends to give Steem value. Steem can be bought, sold and used to pay for the endless storage. That means my content (and yours) can have real world monetary value.


Really? Some Voodoo Geek Math Construct?

No. We haven’t even gotten close to what I really like the best. The community that is gathered around Steem and the possibilities that presents is what I REALLY like.

knots-2766267_1280.png
Source

There it is, my elevator pitch. Now you know for a fact why I’ve never been worth a pinch of pup shit at sales.

In order to really drive home the point about what I like the best about Steem I’ll have to mention what I don’t like the best. That would be Steemit Inc. and the culture that has grown up with it and around it.


Source

Before you react to fully to that statement I beg of you to remember your lessons from Star Wars. IE: The Empire wasn’t always bad nor the Republic always good. I don’t think the leadership at Steemit is in anyway related to Darth Vader. I just think they aren’t particularly friendly to the Stormtroopers who are thought to be in their care. Darth doesn’t give two shits about his troopers so long as they line up as told and fight when needed. The only time he even thinks about them is in a negative way: The bastards didn’t take the planned objective so they should be punished.

So here’s what I really like. The Stormtroopers are starting to talk and more than just talking they are starting to take action on charting their own destiny. Rather than waiting patiently for the long promised super weapon known internally as SMTs they are starting to talk and ACT on charting their own destiny and making their own way. Instead of waiting for their next place to fight and die the troopers are picking their own battlefield and leveraging the tools known as Dapps. While the Empire tells us that there simply aren’t enough developers to provide the staples that we so desperately need to be free the troops are doing it. On their own.

millenium-falcon-1627322_1920.jpg
Source

How can that be? Long ago and far away we were all raised and taught and instructed to compete with any and everybody that wasn’t us. It is all just Us vs. the Universe so let's just crush the opposition to jelly.

But that narrative all changes with cooperation. Why should I compete with and try to dominate anyone that wants their slice of the pie? Why not talk to them, see what they perceive as the Primary Directive and how it fits in with and can work in conjunction with our perception. Then let’s build it open source so EVERYONE can benefit and see what happens.
spaceship-2844249_1920.png
Source

That’s the thing I like the best. There is an entire new paradigm emerging. One based on cooperation and trust of our fellow troopers in spite of our leaders. We don’t need no stinking leaders, we need guides and deep thinkers. Welcome to the new reality.

Cooperate, Communicate, Continue

Sort:  

Haha... weird but nice analogy! Although, I would liken us to the droids in the Star Wars universe... individually (and sometimes in co-operation) bumbling around, yet somehow often appearing the pivotal moments with game-changing consequences!

...plus, I don't want to be a Stormtrooper!

I'm not exactly excited about being a Storm Trooper either, but we are members of the proletariat around here. I like it better than being a prole :)

Ahahahaha! That is great!

Yeah, there are some pretty funny star wars propaganda posters out there, I think the new "Solo" movie has some pretty funny enlistment propaganda in it too. Nice post by the way.

Cheers!
/FF

Great analogy @bigtom13 , glad you were inspired to share you thoughts on the subject using the Star Wars comparison.

Thank you. I always appreciate your approval. It's important.

Well that was a creative way to present your perspective. Also, the elevator pitch is good 'cause it leads to more questions. :) And you'll always catch my attention with Star Wars.

Thank you. I really do think we might be standing on the edge of something large here.

This is pretty funny, I like your tongue twisters and Star Wars theme. Great job!

Thank you. I had fun writing it! Glad you stopped by.

Howdy sir bigtom13! Hey this was very interesting. I didn't know that people were starting to take things into their own hands, I love that! Is there anything to stop them from doing it?

Not a thing! People are developing apps like crazy and we are starting to be known for it in the crypto world. They are also starting to take the promises of Steemit Inc with a grain of salt and making their own (or more correctly our own) answers. It's pretty exciting.

howdy again sir bigtom13! wow that's great news! very encouraging, thank you!

This was a very nice write up and you have some pretty intense thoughts :) I mean that in a good way. It is always good to question a little and not just accept the status quo. Thanks for sharing this!

I'm pretty excited by the possibilities right now. I tried to write this with a positive tone, rather than the tone I often take for SteemitInc. Thanks for stopping by!

I think there are some good things coming down the line as well and most of them are not even from Steemit Inc! I was a little excited about dstors and I had delegated some SP to them, but now I have rescinded that given some of the stuff I have seen going on. I think I am going to put that SP into a couple of other projects that I already support and have proven to be beneficial to others on the chain.

I agree. When I began to see the power of Steemit and the ability to earn in a fun community, I keep wondering, "Why can't we ban together, we small fry, we plankton, and amass our own collective?" Of course I haven't a clue how that would be. I see that we can meet up at discord and I am happy that exists, that is where I met you for example, but for me I'm not always available for that interaction?

I so wish we could 'get together' as it were and form our own online site of wonder and fun and earning. I hope there are changes coming, but honestly I wish we could have the early 2000's Blog style internet with the Steemit earning potential, so we could all focus on our one page and be assured we can find one another and they us, for now I feel more splintering and we have to now be one MORE steemit style sites and MORE discord channels and do MORE of this or that to stay connected or hope for a penny here or there. The best way to control a group is to splinter them and have them compete or hate one another. Even sports teams are part of that controlling narrative of the mass population...but I digress.

I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and I hope Steemit can grow and be a happy place in 2019.

Things are starting to happen that could make big changes. I think the oft promised (for the whole year I've been here) SMT program might be the catalyst to the people making things happen. A whole bunch of folks have decided that SteemitInc just isn't going to get it done, so are trying to figure out how to do it themselves. It's got to be a good things for us 'little people'.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 351 (12/25/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80