You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: North Carolina man arrested for planting bombs at three locations. Media says almost nothing

in #crime3 years ago

some anti-gun individuals that I know here like to point to how gun crime went down a lot in Australia when they federal government seized all weapons so I was curious and looked into it a bit. I discovered that gun murders did in fact go down following this, which you would expect... but the number of overall murders didn't change at all because people who want to kill someone are going to do so. Not having a gun doesn't change that.

Sort:  

Interesting. I never bothered to dig into that because I think such an action would be met with extreme resistance in this country and especially certain conservative states such as my own (well, NC is a strange one but still conservative for the most part). We also have to consider that the entire country of Australia has a lower population than many US states.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40