More Than Just a Table

in #creativity7 years ago

IMG_0575.jpg
This is more than just a table. This table represents a moment of growth and success, as well as a big, "Ha! I told you I could do it!" You see, this table was built by my own two hands (and yep! I put the fence up, too!)

It started out as a simple idea while trolling on Pinterest. The great Ana White is the flagship of all female do-it-yourselfers and woodworkers. She has an amazing website (http://www.ana-white.com/) with loads of free woodworking plans and do-it-yourself ideas inspiring women everywhere to pick up a hammer or saw and make your dreams a reality. Whenever I see a tutorial or a video, I always think, "Well, I can do that!" So after some planning and measuring, I decided to build my very own farmhouse patio table. I was tight on money and had a naked patio just waiting for stylish pieces to bring it to life.

I went to my local chain hardware store and began pulling lumber from the shelves onto a very large cart. Of course, I got the typical, "Can I help you?" that I always get being a female in the lumber section of the store.

"No, thank you!" was my cheery reply as I continued to pile things on.

"Are you sure?" the friendly gentleman asked, "These are pretty heavy..." Did I tell you I was wearing a skirt? (Well, technically it was a skort, but...) I'm sure that added to the nice gentleman's concern.

With that encouragement, I rolled my very heavy cart to the cash register. By myself. As I was checking out, the lady behind the register began inquiring about my project. She was very surprised when she found out I was intending to build a table on my own, today, in a skirt. So great was her shock, that when she asked someone to help me load my car, she told them of my intentions. The two men who were asked to assist in loading my car glanced at each other as one casually said, "Uh, really? Can you take some pictures and bring that back here to us?" I could feel the doubt wafting toward me as I went to get my car.

I pulled up my Honda Accord to be loaded, and both guys made sure I understood there was no way that my lumber would fit into my car. "Oh, but it will," I assured them, "I measured, altered, and chose specific sizes so that I could haul it. Trust me, I've hauled a lot of lumber in this thing...it will fit." The man continued to hem and haw, mumbling something about how I was going to have to make a second trip or go borrow a truck from a guy. I smiled confidently (when I would have much rather just loaded the car on my own) and said I was very sure it would be fine. Every last piece fit. As I got into my car, the younger of the two called out, "Good luck!"

I went home that day and built a table, two benches, and two Adirondack chairs the following day. I painted and stained and coerced a friend to come help me carry the behemoth table to the patio, where it still sits a few years later. It's not perfect, and I definitely learned what I would do differently if I were to ever build it again. One board is warped and there's a gap in a corner; I've come to see those as reminders of the power of an idea, taking risks, and trying new things. For just under $100, I now have a place to entertain family and friends that is big enough to accommodate anyone who comes for a meal or a good time. And to think...a lady in a skirt (skort) built it with her own two hands and her trusty chop saw and nail gun (yes, I own both!)

When I was looking to buy a home, I actually wanted a home that had a project list. My only criteria was that the big stuff was done: windows, roof, furnace, air, etc. My house sat empty for months because people came in and lacked vision and ambition to breathe new life into it. It's in a beautiful neighborhood, and had it been updated, it would have sold long before I even began my home search. I've been in my house for about 2.5 years and there isn't a space I haven't touched. My projects are done in phases due to me not being a millionaire. I am OK with that; I am not someone who has to have it perfect now. I'd rather work hard to earn it and create it with my own two hands. Currently, I'm beginning the planning stages of Phase 2 of my dining room and kitchen renovation: the floors.

I love making, creating, decorating, and renovating. It's my form of art--to create a space that becomes my sanctuary. I've tiled floors and back splashes, built tables and chairs, refaced cabinets, refinished furniture and hardwood floors, scraped popcorn ceilings, hung light fixtures...I've tried just about everything! There are always the haters who express to me their doubts in my ability to complete a project. I haven't failed yet and have silenced a lot of those voices in the process. I hope to blog about some of my projects in the coming weeks to share how my spaces have been renovated and updated on a budget and encourage others, especially women out there, to do the same.

Sort:  

That looks amazing. Very nice work.

Thanks! Come for dinner sometime :-)

Love Anna White. I made a kitchen table from one of her blog plans. I made a steemit post about it too. I love woodworking stuff on steemit
https://steemit.com/woodworking/@alaqrab/old-barn-wood-dining-table

Congratulations @thesimplelife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39