Countdown Logo Design Contest: Which One Should Win? I Can't Decide!!! ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™ˆsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #creativity โ€ข 7 years ago

Concision in style, precision in thought, decision in life. - Victor Hugo

That's the mission, Victor.

A couple of days ago I decided to do an important step.

Since my blogging activity has turned out to be a full-time job and there is a chance that surfermarly might become a real brand in the future, I want to do things right.

So the next logical step to me is providing this brand with a clear identity.

My blog needs a logo! That's why I asked the Graphic Designers on steemit to help me out. What happend then completely exceeded all my expectations!

@surfermarly with the two logos that have received most upvotes by the community so far

I called for proposals and received masterpieces!

To be honest when launching this logo contest in my blog I had absolutely no idea that it might gain momentum the way it has.

Funnily right after publishing the call for proposals, my best friend commented the following:

I think you should have also made clear when you do not intent to pay, so not anyone can just win by putting some simple pic together via ppt.

I agreed.

Now, a couple of days later I have a completely different "problem":

There are too many good entries!!! ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™ˆ I definitely unterestimated the creative power of this network!

Which one would you choose?

The following order of entries is according to their current ranking in the original article.

Some of the participants have submitted more than one logo. In this update I will only display one per designer, choosing the logo that I'd prefer if I had to decide today.

Remember that you can still vote for your favourite logo (please only vote in the original article) and that you can still participate as a designer and submit a proposal until Thursday 17th of July! The winner takes 250 SBD ๐Ÿค‘

Here we go: Proving that steemit is the home of uncountable creative talents!!!

The name of the designer is written below each entry.

Please bear in mind that most of the designers have published articles in their own blogs where they give some background information on the creative process. Don't forget to upvote their blog posts as well!

@sjennon (Her entry is currently the leading logo according to user upvotes and surely one of my personal favourites so far. Awesome job!)

@juliakponsford (This Japanese style wave is simply impressive, for a reason her logo is ranked on position no. 2 right now.)

@sogata (That's 100% Art! He even promoted his entry on Instagram, well done!)

@enazwahsdarb (He's been celebrated by many users who already considered this being "the winning logo". Without any doubt it has great potential to become my no. 1.)

@yusaymon (He's totally hitting the surf brand idea with this coloring! Thumbs up!)

@leotrap (He perfectly responded to my need of a logo being suitable for apparel, excellently done!)

@eqko (As well as Leo he totally got the idea of a surf brand, designed to be printed on apparel - great one!)

@karensuestudios (You won't believe it but she hand-drew this one - amazing!)

@seveaux (I could perfectly imagine having this one as a sticker and given them away at the next Steemfest!)

@oceansoul13 (The surfer's pose is unique and the coloring totally my thing! Yes, you're a true "oceansoul" :-))

@veibone (I love these colors and the dynamic in the movement! Great job!)

@elteamgordo (Beautiful is not enough to describe this one. So much love for detail, amazing!)

@rojassartorio (He was the one this the most submissions so far, thanks for your outstanding efforts! All of them are super beachy and summery, very nice!)

@ckurtish (This is 100% surfermarly, you totally hit my style - thank you!)

@foways (Probably the most sophisticated one of all entries, very professional - thank you!!)

@dksart (Wham! So much power and so intense, a really strong entry!)

@ahmedezzat (This is how I'd love to look like surfing a wave! Ha! Thank you!!)

@spaingaroo (He submitted uncountable versions with different colorings, thank you for your dedication!!! Yours is probably the most artistic one, very cool!)

@kerlund74 (A very smooth and silent entry that totally reminds me of one of my favourite Canary Islands: Fuerteventura - endless white beaches. Lovely!)

@detlev (He used an original photography as background - very powerful!! Thank you!)

Two entries were not mentioned due to copywrite issues.

Do you have a favourite one? Then vote for it in THIS ARTICLE.

I'm absolutely impressed by the creativity bundled on this platform!

We should do these kind of contests more often and give all these talents a forum where to present their skills.

Looking forward!

Marly -

PS: Special thanks to @steemgigs for supporting us in the process!

This banner was designed by the talented @rvanstel. Contact him for more info.


Original content. Sources are mentioned in the content.

Sort: ย 

Ey! I see my logo in your hand haha :) Wishing everyone good luck!

Well I don't mean to sound selfish, and it's definitely not about the money for me.. But I really would like to see you using my logo! :) Will be awesome. I think I will in any case distribute any winnings I get to the other contestants!

Talk soon my friend :)

That is super cool of you mate, you sure gonna win this....

As far as, I know this was never about money for you!
This is the competition of ART and You are the best artist I am familiar with. And I know that your logo is the best one and Of course you'll win! :) Best Of Luck.

You are generous, @enazwahsdarb :) . . . and a good sport. Any SteemIt contest would be lucky to have you participate <3

@enazwahsdarb am with you all the way,your logo remains my favorite......All the best,your pal @detycoon

On behalf of my boss, steemhive cast its vote for @enazwahsdarb

I cast my vote for @enazwahsdarb

i cast my vote for @enazwahsdarb

Good call @enazwahsdarb :-)
You don't sound selfish at all.

Well I still haven't made my decision. I've got three favourites. Three. Maybe I will toss a coin, haha

In all honesty, if I were one of those 3, I wouldn't mind splitting the rewards into 3 :)

60 SBD each. Just to make your life easier too haha! Just me though :)

I don't think people noted that the votes must be on the original post lol.. There are a few on this post :D

ofcos this logo is great i believe it should be the winner, oh i like the art of it

Thanks brother :)

You've got it coming, buddy!
Voting for @enazwahsdarb

seriously?? If anyone should win this, AJ says it should be you. So, AJ cast his vote for @enazwahsdarb.

Agreed!! Leave your vote in a main comment though :) not on a reply to his one :D

@enazwahsdarb I am with you all the way

I'm really impressed how many great proposals you got. The both you have on your hands are also my favorites. However I'think it's important to consider that you an scale it to make sure it looks good as small icon as well as a full screen banner.

I vote for @enazwahsdarb. It's very dope. Sooo cool. I super duper looove it! I like the text and how he designed it. So perfect for the name! If i were you, i'd choose his. โค

So many amazing creative people on Steemit. I love the one by @enazwahsdarb but think I have to vote for @sjennon

Yes, there are soooo many, I really never expected such a great feedback!!!
Thanks for voting :-))

IM going with @enazwahsdarb.

@sjennonโ€™s logo has everything in place.

Yeah, it's very finetuned...

  • Fรผr Blogging auf Steemit ganz klar: @sjennon, weil es "deine" Interpretation von Steemit darstellt.
  • Solltest du allerdings in Erwรคgung T-Shirts zu produzieren, vor allem fรผr Frauen, dann das von @yusaymon. Ich finde es farblich sehr gut gelungen und kann es mir als Brand auf Kleidung vorstellen.

Liebe GrรผรŸe (:

Es ist als universelles Logo gedacht - fรผr alles, was zukรผnftig im Zusammenhang mit meiner Brand publiziert werden wird. Habe auรŸer steemit noch ein paar andere Projekte in der Pipeline :)
@sjennon's Logo funktioniert allerdings auch auรŸerhalb von steemit, da die Welle ja auch der Link zum Surfen ist.

Aaaaaaaaah, ich will nicht entscheiden mรผssen!!!

Oh man... wenn du dich so auf die "universelle" Brand Recognition fokussierst, dann ist das wirklich alles andere als eine triviale Entscheidung....

Du hast recht damit, dass man das Logo von @sjennon auch als Wellen interpretieren kann, ich finde die Bindung und ร„hnlichkeit zum Steemit-Logo allerdings dennoch zu groรŸ.

Wenn du also jemals unabhรคngig von Steemit agieren mรถchtest, oder *auf Holz klopf* du aus einem anderen Grund Steemit nicht mehr magst, dann bleibt hier ewig diese Verknรผpfung.

Die Resonanz deiner Kommentare tendiert ja zumindest zu @sjennon's Logo, also gib der Meute was sie will? :D

Es gibt ja zwei Preise: den "Zuschauerpreis" und den "Jurypreis". Da ich mir schon fast gedacht habe, dass es hier zu Differenzen kommen kann (und ich niemandem auf die FรผรŸe treten mag), hatte ich das so aufgeteilt.

Es wird sicher niemals so sein, dass ich Steemit nicht mehr mag (es finanziert mir ja gerade eine geschmeidige Zukunft), aber die Identitรคt der Marke muss auf jeden Fall skalierbar und auf diverse Medien รผbertragbar sein.

Das Logo muss รผbrigens auch "animierbar" sein, da es natรผrlich in ein bewegtes Intro (fรผr meine Vlogs) รผberfรผhrt werden muss.

Und nun weiรŸt Du, warum ich heute am Feiertag die ganze Zeit vor diesem Computer gesessen habe :-)))

Thanks for the mention @cobalus and @surfermarly <3

oh my god all of these entries are so good!
hmm which one would I pick if I was you....
I, like many others, would pick @sjennon but also I really like the look of @yusaymon one as well.
I'm heading over to vote now

You nailed it! It's really difficult - that's why I asked for help here :)
Thanks for participating in the voting round!!!

Thanks @arckrai ^ ^

Can't decide between these three @leotrap @yusaymon @sjennon I do like these three the most :) In the end it should still be you to decide ;)

Of course I will decide on the no. 1. However, the one that receives most of the user votes will get another 50 SBD of reward. So it's really worth voting for them :-)

@sjennon gets my vote since it is based on steemit theme.

Yeah, the link between steemit and the waves is just brilliant, I fully agree on that! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27