Hot Chocolate

in #creativity7 years ago



Hello Friend! It was a tie between seven and three, so I asked for little extra help to my old friend kitty the Pucina. She chose seven. Oh my goodness! Look!  We have to make a cup of hot chocolate. Winter is here and it is rather cold. Something warm for heart and soul.



Forget those hot chocolate mixes and Starbucks Christmas specials! All you need is a bar of chocolate, milk, marshmallows, candy cane and tiny bit of cinnamon. It takes few minutes to warm up the milk, melt the chocolate, whisk, whisk, whisk,  and add the rest. There you go, you have a cup of true hot chocolate! Scent of cinnamon. Mmm!

Now we have warmed up, on to the next one we go! Which one shall we open now?


Lily’s Christmas song of the day: Frank Sinatra - Let It Snow
Lily’s choice of the Christmas film: Elf

Do you have special holiday drink or a treat you like to have during winter, Christmas time?

Pick a number from one to six. Lily will open envelope of the tastiest sounding comment. ^^

If you missed the beginning, you can have a look here.   

Sort:  

I'd say my favorite holiday drink is Scotch whisky. I've discovered this during a trip in Scotland and developed my taste buds since. Started with the smoothest ones and now going for the peaty and cask strength ones.
5!!!

Hey Julien! :) Thank you so much for participating. Scotch whisky? Now that I think of it I don't think I have ever tried it in my life. Maybe I should.

Well sure you should. Try an aberlour 10 or 12 years old for starters.

Since I got my 7, then my new vote goes to 3! :)

My favorite Christmas drink is a German (I'm not in Germany) wine that is supposed to be consumed heated up that they sell in the supermarket nearby only for the holidays. It's 90% red wine with cinnamon and a few more things that make it taste and smell really nice and Christmasy, especially when you heat it up.

Thank you so much @rocking-dave for being here! ^^

Oh I know exactly what you mean. Weihnachtswein! I love those too! Christmas in the bottle.

@m31 and @rocking-dave Here in NRW it is called "Glühwein" ^^ But I do not like it that much, instead I always buy or order "Kinderpunsch mit Schuss" which is a hot punch for children (so a lot, lot sweeter ^^) with a bit of rum or whisky :>

But my absolute favourite christmas drink is hot mead ^^

This one is labeled Christkindl Glühwein but it should be the same thing and this might be the brand rather than the type of beverage. It's good to know the proper name, so thanks for the info! :) We always get at least a few bottles every year.

Still going for that #4 ;)

I love the Christmas special hot drinks, you know the ones that resemble mulled wine, but doesn't even have to be wine. I keep drinking them constantly this winter. Not that there is snow or anything..
throws a jelly eye at UK, DK and BE

Thank you @josie2214! ^^

Mmm, yes! Berries, cloves and cinnamon! Aww, I was so disappointing that all snow melted after rain. I hope it snows again soon. Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow! :)

Definitely! Looking forward to hopefully white Christmas.

Envelope #3

For Christmas it must be Glögi (Mulled wine)
I had never had it before coming to Finland but really enjoy either the berry or the apple version. The drink s good but what makes it special is that it is shared with friends.

@tarazkp Thank you for being! ^^

Do you recall what you thought when you first tasted it? It is indeed shared with friends. I have few memories of such occasions and this drink being involved :)

Oh, this little hedgehog is really the cutest! Really nice drawing!

My favorite beverage on a cold winter day is called rakia - it's a strong spirit drink made from different types of fruit like grapes, apples, pears, plumbs, apricots, peaches and so on that is usually home-made. In the area of Bulgaria where part of my family originally comes from, they make it especially strong which is my favorite one. I'm not a huge drinker and I don't big quantities, but I enjoy this drink a lot, especially on a cold winter day surrounded by Christmas decoration.

And my vote is number 3 (again)

Thank you so much @naydenova! ♡

I tried rakia when I was in Greece. ^^ Not sure if it tastes the same as Bulgarian rakia though. Thank you for sharing. It is so much fun to hear about different things from different cultures :)

I guess the taste should be pretty similar as it's made in the same way - distillation of fermented fruit. There might be differences because it ferments in different weather and there might be differences in the fruits used, but different rakia makers in Bulgaria also have different results, especially keeping in mind it's home-made. For instance, there are types that also include chilly peppers as part of the recipe, but that's a bit too spicy for my taste.

I know they make this drink in Serbia, too.

Congratulations @m31! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49