The Aftermath - Time to move (Short Story by @inuke)

in #creativity6 years ago

Hello Steemians,
I hope you all are doing good and I am back with a new episode in the series "The Aftermath"

Previously
The Aftermath - The Dinner Table (Short Story by @inuke)
The Aftermath - I am sorry (Short Story by @inuke)
The Aftermath - It is not easy (Short Story by @inuke)

Aftermath.jpg

"Are you sure about this?" She wasn't shocked when I told her, In fact, she was kinda expecting it.

"Haan, Maa. I would like to go to Kolkata, to stay with Chinu for a couple of months. And look for a career option." I replied.

"But Beta, why can't you do something here? I mean, Why do you have to go that far?"

Being in the commercial capital and the land of Bollywood still hadn't provided me with a break for my ambition of becoming an actor, The idea of me working in an Industry which is known for not being ethical is hard enough and on top of that me being a lesbian has made the living in this household a bit difficult. That is why I have decided to move to Kolkata to chinu, my cousin. He had been working in the Bangla TV series for over 5 years now and probably the only person in my entire family and friend circle who know anything about the TV or films.

"Maa, This may seem like I am running away from things. But it is actually more related to my Job than what I am? I don't have any problem here. In fact, the last 2 months had been a revelation to me. I love you and brother even more than before. And the same goes for Dad too. Even though dad and I aren't exactly what we used to be, But I am sure things will get better for us."

"But, he doesn't know it Yet?" Mom told what I already knew.

"Maa, It has been 2 months already. And we haven't spoken even on a single time. I didn't know it was possible to be in the same house and not speak to the other person for such a long period. I am not angry anymore. I understand why he is the way he is? In fact, I was a fool blaming him for not understanding me." I said while looking at all the pictures of him on the wall, A decorated soldier. Mom followed my gaze and kept quiet.

Mom is in terms of my lifestyle choices. But calling my sexual orientation a choice would be wrong. I wish there was a test or something for the sexual orientation, Like how they determine the blood type. More like that, so that the people can understand better that it is not a matter of choice but something which I cannot control. I am born this way. And since not many talks about it, No many know anything about it. Hell, My family took such a turn when I told them the truth, what to expect from the other. To be honest, I didn't know when I noticed that I am different than the other. I was always more comfortable around girls but so are the rest of the girls. Infact, They were more easygoing and comfortable around one another. The only thing is that I would get a little confused when I didn't find interesting what the rest of the gang finds in the guys. I stopped my train of thoughts and informed mother of my plan.

"Maa, I have already booked the tickets for the next week. I will be staying at cousins place for a 4-5 months and will see how it goes." I told her.

Mom was about to say something when I interrupted her.

"I know this doesn't seems like a well thought plan, but trust me I need to move and think as an individual for my career. Honestly, I had been very confused and distracted in past half a year or so. With me not getting a break and you know." I smiled a little nervously. "Mom, I want to be more than a lesbian daughter to you and dad. And to find the answers I have to think straight". My train of thoughts took off again with the mention of the word straight. But i managed to pull my senses back. "I need to know, if I have what it takes to become an actor. And honestly, with so much going around I am not able to focus on myself."

"Okay". She said the saddest OK, I ever heard. She also knew, That things need to get better around the household.

We ended up talking a bit more and mom got up and heads out of the kitchen. This time I followed her too and started helping her out. I like the feeling of being around her more. And I could feel the relationship between us getting stronger by everyday. Although I had to be a bit careful around her with my words and had to avoid the taboo topics. But apart from that, I had managed to mend the mother daughter bond.

"You know, You still need his permission to leave" Mom, said referring to dad. Who was busy doing what he does the best in the Hall, watching business news.

"I know, But how can I get the permission, when he is not even ready to look at me or talk to me?" I replied while organizing the plates. Soon it will be dinner time. The awkward time of the day when no one talks but munch on the food.

"Let me talk to him" Mom offered. "Maybe I can convince him".

" Thanks Maa, but don't do it at the dinner table" I plead. and She smiled. These are the moments that I started to like about our relationship. The smiles and chuckles about the things are not funny but are more like situational comedy to us.

We had our dinner and I went to my room, on the way I heard mom and dad talking. Probably about me, I didn't stayed back to eavesdrop on them. I noway would want to know about what is going on with them or rather between them. My coming out has affected their chemistry too. But there is nothing that I can do, but me being there could do more damage. He is not in a good health, and all the stress has been too much for him. A solider can deal with physical pain, But the mental and emotional stages are the same for everyone. Infact, I believe women are good at that stuff.

I climbed on the bed and picked up the Kindle which Dad gifted me on last birthday. I became very good at reading, and why not when you don't want to step out of the room or be seen by others. I bought the e-book almost a month after I got the Kindle and wasn't able to start reading it. But given the events of the past few months. I believe this books contains the answer to my question. I clicked open and the pages turned up ''You'll Grow Out of it - Jessi Klein". I hoping will grow out of it.

[To be continue]

EOD.png

I am inuke.png

I am almost wrapping up the series and the next one will be the final chapter. Hope you all are enjoying it. Please do share your opinion on the story. And a very big thank you for supporting me. :-)
Special Thanks to BeAwesome and Indiaunited discords channel, Where I made some amazing friends and who are very supportive and helpful.

EOD.png

inuke2.png

Also I am a proud member of Indiaunited a community committed to help and support quality contents and guide the new minnows. If are new to Steem and has no clue please join our IndiaUnited Discord Channel. Do check, IndiaUnited trail, a dedicated trail to support fellow steemians to write and promote quality content, Community growth is the precursor to Individual growth. To find more about the trail, please visit : Indiaunited Curation trail

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sort:  

Keeps getting better and better. I am anxious to know more. Well written dear

Thank You, I am almost closing in on the climax. I hope you like it. :-)

It's one of the stories that has hooked me the most here in Steemit .. I've already read your 4 posts and I love how this story is developing, I'll wait for the next part, I'm always pending, Greetings @inuke :)

Namaste @naideth. I am really happy to read this comment. I am working on the final episode of the series and hoping to post it in next 24hour. And hopefully to take the story to a suitable conclusion.
Thanks for your support. :-)

Nice story my friend.

Thank you Buddy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76