You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Here’s An Underrated Trick For Eliminating Writer’s Block: Experience More Art

in #creativity7 years ago

I read that people stop listening to music around their 30's? I certainly have seen people end up just locked away at a certain point of time.

I've seen friends happily following around bands from their much loved 90's youth that are pretty much doing run of the mill fan service tours. A music community that I'm on got excited because The Avalanches came back from out of nowhere into a place where they weren't that relevant any more. Plus also wondering why a certain podcast series didn't sound like it did in the early 00's (it had evolved to keep up with changing times and artists).

I'm not fussed, I'll carry on moving along and listening to fresh sounds. I'm generally in a place where I'm getting new music thrown at me though, so it's probably different for others!

My issue can be writing about it. The Zabiela review I've been doing took me, like, two weeks of courage to drag over the line. Something about trying to fit it into a difficult life and also overcome a mental block of "omg this is such a big thing to review".

I'm doing good at taking in new TV though. Always picking something new for either me or the kids to watch. Otherwise it's Paw Patrol and Doctor Who forever...

Sort:  

As a music reviewer you are probably on the high end of "listening to new music" for sure lol. I cant imagine being one of those people who follow the same band around all the time... I mean I love some of the same bands as I used to, like my old favorite band Tera Melos is still great, but I can't imagine literally following them on tour as a fan for years or something. That would be not the move.

I've met Phish heads with multiple ipods of live recordings... ergh, not for me. It feels more like a religion than a fandom at that point, like "join this crowd and obsess over it and your identity will be secure"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65897.19
ETH 2706.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88