A Canadian Pine coffee table that my girlfriend and I made together... Creativity contest entry :)

in #creativity7 years ago


Heeeeeey Everybody


<><><>




First things first, I have a big thanks to @sammosk for the inspiration behind this post! CLICK HERE to view his new and improved contest rules and to see why this contest is gunna HUUUUGE, as he puts it!



Also a big shoutout goes to the minnowsupportproject (MSP), go check them out if you're looking for a group of people dedicated to helping minnows


<><><>
So before I left to go back to the rigs, maybe a month and a half ago, my girlfriend and I decided that we needed a coffee table for out new apartment that we had just moved into together for the first time! And what better place to get a coffee table from than to design and build one ourselves... And that is what we did.
I didn't think to snap a whole bunch of pics during the time we were making it, as I didn't have Steemit then and wasn't much of a blogger, but noooooow things are different :D

Heres what it looked like once we had started assembling it before staining and clear coat

We used wood screws and wood glue to hold the table together, and I made sure to use a jig to pre-drill out our screw holes so that all the screws and visual join spots have been hidden out of site for the most part.
We must have spent about 15 hours together both of us in sanding and staining alone, because I am kind of a perfectionist and like to have things I do ... well almost perfect, At least to where I can say yup, I put my ALL into this and gave it my best effort!
We decided on a stain that wasn't too light or dark, somewhere in the middle. We collectively decided to use the stain called provincial which gave a beautiful contrast of color on the pine wood. We covered over top of the stain for a procreative finish with a clear finish, semi-gloss oil based sealant.
Here are the tins we used:

And here's what it looks like set up in our apartment


"You can see @sammosk contest running on my TV in the background ^^^ :D"


"HAHAHA, this fit so perfectly, andreally... its Kramer!?"


Huge shout-out to my awesome girlfriend Brittany for her tremendous help building this table. It was a fun project for both of us and it was the first of many projects we plan to do together as a team... Team Sniper!!

"We call ourselves Team Sniper lol!!"


I almost forgot!! While I was away for work, Brittany decided she would make me a hat rack for me to hang a few of my gazillion hats!! (I have an obsession with baseball hats!!)
This was an awesome gift to come home to, because I know she did her best and well.... look how it came out!!! Fantastic!!!


People always ask when they come over, Did you make that?" or "Where did you buy that from?", And all I can do is smile, and tell them NOPE! we made it
I always remember and try guide my relationship goals by this piece of advice I was given years ago... Couples that PLAY together, STAY together...!!!
😁


Gifs taken from Giphy

Cheers and happy Steeming

@Diggerdugg




Sort:  

@diggerdugg got you a $0.73 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@diggerdugg got you a $0.73 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

I tried upvoting you but I already upvoted, you are really famous :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51