Building your own platform bed. (King sized!)

in #creativity6 years ago

IMG_20180306_182705.jpg

90% of the wood for this project was salvaged either from other projects, yard sales, or the discounted lumber rack at Home Depot for cut/damaged/warped boards.
Regular deck screws were used for the framing, with some finishing screws for the cedar veneers (the only wood that was bought new)
I'm pretty sure the total cost of all the lumber and screws was under 250.00 which for a king-sized bed that is rock solid and attractive (depending on what your aesthetics are) it was a no-brainer.
Most of what you could get for remotely near that is either going to be second hand, most likely pressboard, or requiring a box spring because it's a metal rolling frame (which means squeaking and shaking and possible breakage if a weld gives out).

IMG_20180306_160317.jpg

The planning is the most important part: make sure you know the exact measurements of your mattress (you can go off of online dimensions because mattress sizes are standard if you are not talking about an RV bed).
Use 4 inch deck screws for the 2x4 frame, and make sure BEFORE you do your cuts that you have factored in the width of your boards.
PRO HINT: a 2x4 is not actually 2 inches by 4 inches - it is actually 1.5 by 3.5 inches. That means, you need to be subtracting 3 inches (the width of 2 2x4's) from your total platform width when figuring out your interior brace cuts.
I usually add an extra inch to each dimension, which gives a half inch space on all sides between your veneer and the mattress, so that with winter blankets etc. it doesn't look like it is hanging over the platform.
Then again, if you put a comforter on the bed you wouldn't notice anyways, so carpenter's choice.

IMG_20180306_174722.jpg

Here you can see the platform frame secured to the lower box.
You could use metal "L" brackets to secure it, but I chose to pre-drill channels going vertically through the braces (greater than the width of the screw going 50% of the way through the board) and just secure with 4" screws going straight down.
I chose to make a dramatic overhang for the platform to leave the option for under-bed storage at a later point, and this required the 45 degree brace you see and the two 4x4 foot posts.
At this point, it's just tacking down your platform surface!
I chose to use 1x4's because I found a lot for cheap, and they act as yet another layer of bracing for a rock-solid build.
However, if you have access to cheap plywood (or really any type of wood) that works as well.
Just make sure to give it the good jump test before you pack up the tools in case you expose a design flaw that needs bracing.

IMG_20180901_120040.jpg

I chose to build the head-board almost at level with the mattress, because I am tall and this allows me the option to have my pillow half on the head-board and gain another 6 inches of foot room.

ISe0dad0z7kbmf0000000000.jpg

I built this 6 months ago and have never heard a single sound out of the bed =) not one creak, pop, clunk, or squeak.

Are you an artist or just someone with an idea for a cartoon?
Make sure to enter my weekly #Cartoon-off and join other first time and experienced cartoonists competing for a share of 9 SBI shares! Judging is done by different artists from within the Steemit community, and prizes are awarded based on originality of ideas, not drawing skill! Come check it out and show our cartoonists some love!
https://steemit.com/cartoon-off/@corpsvalues/sixth-weekly-cartoon-off-contest-guest-judge-sanderjansenart
Last week's winners can be seen here.
https://steemit.com/cartoon-off/@cartoon-off/winners-of-fifth-weekly-cartoon-off-contest

Image 110 (1).jpg

Sort:  

Looks like a great bed! Wish I was that handy :) I'm more of a destroyer lol

Dude, I can't believe that I missed this in my feed, I am so happy that I scrolled through your earlier posts and got caught up.
This is an amazing piece of work you have done, I like how you have squared everything and it looks so neat and tidy. well done you :D

you can build me one and ship it to the UK for $300 if you want haha. :D nice job buddy

Very nice. I like your writing. I want to read more from you.

Looking very professional and comfy!!

I can vouch for it: it is! Especially when paired with a Saatva mattress.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57738.58
ETH 3102.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34