Lost Lizzy -- The Key To The Universe: January 24, 8042 -- Commander George Carnegie

in #books7 years ago (edited)


The Key To The Universe:  Lost Lizzy

by Diamond Sutherland

STEEMIT EDITION

* * * * *

PUBLISHED BY

Diamond Sutherland on Steemit

Copyright ©  2017 by Diamond Sutherland, All Rights Reserved.

Steemit Edition License Notes

This ebook is licensed for your personal enjoyment only. This ebook may not be re-sold or given away to other people. If you would like to share this book with another person, please send them the author's posts on Steemit.

Author's Note: Each post is a journal entry from one of the two primary characters George Carnegie and Elizabeth Sinclair. 

* * * * *

January 24, 8042 

Dear Elizabeth, 

I am writing this letter to you because I am having an awful time dealing with the events that occurred in the past 24 hours. You are gone.  Your brother has officially reported you as MIA.  Command wants him to report you as--gods, I do not think I can write it. I will not give up until I find you.  We have lived through some of the craziest moments--this cannot be the way your life ends.  My captain, my wife, my love -- where are you? 

24 hours of hell.  I hope you do not remember how frustrated we were with each other.  Even Alex was snippy.  Two years of being aboard the Daedalus -- two years on the front lines and more --Alex and Lizzy are the twins, a force of nature. Your brother, Acting Captain Alexander Sinclair, has not been on the bridge since you have disappeared. 

We were called to Darden to assist with a power plant run amok.  Particle physics is a hobby of ours. Even you were swept up in research. 

Our marriage is young, you are young, and I feel ancient.  We have always been on the same wavelength, even before we were bonded (something you actually agreed to--again you keep me on my toes).  We had disagreements. Normally it does not affect the outcome. This time... I am sorry, we were both wrong. 

The power plant’s, where the black hole was, staff stated there had been no issues in the past hundred years.  When their stability field began to fail, they put a distress signal out to the navy. Our calculations showed two different outcomes and both were valid.  We had our first ever Captain versus Chief Science Officer fight in a briefing.  We did not apologize, but we did stand shoulder to shoulder planet-side while the scientist briefed us.  Alex stayed aboard the Daedalus. 

What a nightmare.  We were wrapping up.  You left your comm in the room where the black hole was.  I say was because you and the black hole are gone.  All that was left was your comm and jewelry.  Your indestructible comm is a ball of electronics.  Your rings, necklace, and earrings are sitting on my desk.  It makes my stomach sick to look at them, but I cannot stop.  

The woman they belong to is gone and all I have is a mashed-up mess metals.  The diamonds are gone.  You are gone.  Acting Captain Sinclair has begun a full investigation, but as your brother, he is suffering through this as poorly as I am.  I promise that I will find you.  Lizzy--where are you?  Wherever you are, please be yourself. Be amazing.

Your heartbroken husband, 

George  


Next Journal Entry

Sort:  

Keep going, @clevercreator I love your idea about Steemit Publishing <3

:) @gktown I really appreciate the encouragement. It is queued and ready to go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65578.21
ETH 2613.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67