Memories of an artist | My Writings |EN|

in #creativecomp7 years ago

   It had been at least a year since he last drew her as he remembered her, even though he remembered her almost once a day, because he saw her on many things. He started outlining her dark eyes, and her lips smirking as she used to do. He loved it when she smirked like that. 

   He missed her. 

   He enjoyed drawing her beautiful hair, filling it with black, and leaving small spaces in white resembling the light reflected on her locks.

   They were total opposites, and if you asked, he wouldn’t deny it. However, immediately afterwards, he’d say they complemented each other, and that nothing in life would really be exciting if everyone were equal. He loved the way she made him lose all his senses, and how she’d always show him the best way of existing was to follow his gut and not give a damn about anything else. 

   She was very spontaneous, and that was probably one of the qualities he loved the most about her. When they were together, she always kept telling him to live for the moment. She was naughty, always looking for fun or looking for trouble, she talked back, and she didn’t ever meet his family because she thought they were lame and that they wouldn’t get along. She was probably right about that, though. 

   He kept drawing, taking his time to resemble her cheeks and dimples as correctly as he could. 

   They met when he was fourteen; she was thirteen and one grade behind. However, she had walked twice the miles he had. She’d been through a lot of things a girl her age shouldn’t have; she ran away from home to live with her uncle, who, despite his anger management problem and excessive drinking, took care of her far better than her abusive parents ever did, and signed her in school. 

   He remembered the first time they saw each other. He had been chasing around a rare blue butterfly, wanting to draw it. She had noticed, so when the butterfly flew by her, and placed itself on her hand, she smacked it and brought it to him. He recalled her telling him that way it’d be easier to draw it because it was still. 

   The boy didn’t know much about human relations, but he was pretty sure offering someone a dead butterfly as a gift was quite a rough way to start a friendship. He also recalled himself yelling at her for killing one of the most beautiful creatures to ever exist in nature, to which she replied by shoving the dead insect inside his mouth, and leaving. 

   Yes, that girl sure was one of a kind, and she was his first love. Among many, they had exchanged a lot of amazing, memorable first times, throughout their years of friendship, as they slowly fell in love. He didn’t regret a thing. 

   He thought of the times he’d help his girl study for her final tests in the library for hours because they kept getting distracted, or when she’d secretly come to his place at midnight and they’d clamber to the roof of the house to watch the stars and then the sunrise, and the times he would sneak out late at night and she came to pick him up to be together in the back seat of her uncle’s car. 

   She’d been his first kiss, his first poem, and the first good reason to not let him shut an eye in the middle of the night. She had been the first one to ever care for him so bad to never give up on trying reaching him, even when he tried to push her away. He, as well, had been her first date to a romantic restaurant, her first homecoming dance, her first night watching the stars, and her first actual weakness. She called him her unicorn.  

   She was the first person to break his heart, too. 

   She was the only one who made him cry himself to sleep, the first person to ever make him feel boundless sorrow and emptiness all around and his first doubt ever about God’s goodness, or existence.  

   She was the first friend he buried. 

   He just didn’t understand how heaven could give him something as precious as her, and then take it away from him, without even giving him a chance to say goodbye. He was never able to kiss her again, or hug her, or run his fingers through her hair ever again, and he hated having to deal with it. He hated the fact that the only person in her funeral aside from her uncle was him. No one else cared. 

   He hated that nobody ever got the chance to get to know her as good as he did. He hated having to carry on with his life without the one and only person who made him feel worthy. 

   He felt his eyes slightly water, and his chest hurt a little, but it was nothing odd anymore, just something that happened every time he thought about her.  He finished up his drawing, swallowed hard, and straightened his back, putting himself together as he took a deep breath. 

   He was used to it, and even though he hated the sensation, he’d never hate the sentiment.

>

Note: This is an original story, written by me. Do not copy or distribute without my permission.

Source of image: https://kociepierogi.deviantart.com/art/Meg-Masters-526476994



Sort:  

Losing a family member or losing a friend is one of the greatest pain that can happen to man in life especially when it is somebody you love so much somebody you care about somebody you cannot do without when such person is bin taking away from you it seems like the life has been taken away from u generally. To live will become very difficult because the thoughts of the person will continue ringing in your head. nice post dear. keep up the good work

This is extremely true. The truest of truths, I'd say. Thank you very much for leaving such a beautiful comment.

We are family on steemit

hi @mariacaffrey i've follow your post and upvoted it.
thanks for sharing..love your art.excellent drawing sketch there.
kindly see my poem about cats..hope you upvoted it also..hope so,.your vote will help me a lot..
https://steemit.com/poetry/@mrblu/cats-love-me-much-poem

excelente de verdad!!!

Muchas gracias corazón <3

We live, we die, we live again.

Thanks for sharing. <3

Thank you so much for your support, and thanks for the opportunity as well! I wouldn't have thought about sharing this story if it wasn't for your contest. You inspire!

wonderful story teliing

Thanks a lot!

   Wow! I cried reading this. I went through a similar experience in high school; my fist love died in a car crash, her name was Jessica. Even though I have been married, divorced and have three beautiful girls, and a new girlfriend, there is rarely a day I don't think about her. I love my girlfriend now, she is awesome, but I have never felt passion like I did when I was with her. We shared so many first together, and for two years that was the best time of my life. I miss her, and it is unfair, and the part in the story when you write,

“She was the only one who made him cry himself to sleep, the first person to ever make him feel boundless sorrow and emptiness all around and his first doubt ever about God’s goodness, or existence.”

I know exactly what you mean, till this day I question God’s existence, his goodness, his purpose. I still got most of our pictures and a couple of poems she wrote, which isn't a lot, in the nineties people didn't have camera's and cell phones, lucky to have the internet. She even wrote me a song, and sung it to me. She was beautiful, amazing, awesome, and all words I can’t find to explain her. I was seventeen then, and twenty years have passed and I still love her, and miss her, and would do anything just to go back to those days and hold her one last time.

This is a great story, and thanks for writing it. You deserve many congrats, if you can write a story and make people feel emotions than you have done your job well. Congrats.

This comment has deeply touched me. You are such a strong person! I never thought I could ever write something so close to reality, leave alone having someone who feels related to it find it and read it. You have no clue how much this comment meant to me, I teared up while reading it, just like I teared up while writing this story. I'm very thankful you took the time to leave this message to me, I appreciate it immensely. I am extremely sorry for your loss, and even through years go by, feelings don't just fade away. I send you nothing but good vibes, and rest assured that she's proud of how far you've come. Much love, my friend, you deserve all good things in the world. Thank you again for letting me know about your story, I think you have left something in this story. Thanks. You have made me think so much.

Oh dear, you got so much talet... Told you!!! YOU are made for steemit <3 Love you and your stories... Want to read more, wish you the best of lucks in the contest <3

You told meeee, and you're awesome. Thank you my dear. Ily💜💜💜

Glad meeting you, I'm an illustrator too, but a very different one, I draw maps.

I am filled with sweet sorrow reading this
the writing is beautiful, on point, you did not miss
an inch, so moving
and proving
true love never dies

Thank you very much! It means a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57