Steemit Construction Paradise - A Memo to minnows, dolphins and whales

in #creativecomp7 years ago (edited)

I’ve been on Steemit for about 3 months now and I can honestly say that I’ve been around here long enough to notice the highs and lows of this platform. It's like a construction site really.


Source

I don’t think I’ve seen it all yet and I definitely have a lot more to learn. I get to know and I notice newcomers everyday, some bring meaning with them and some are just here to see how much they can irritate others, especially those dull comments on post which mean absolutely nothing. I’m not talking about the occasional “follow me” “upvote me” comments…I mean those comments that talk about the color blue when your post is about the color red – totally opposites, no meaning whatsoever, spam.

I usually just ignore those as I don’t want to step on the wrong toes, but it’s starting to get so annoying that I have thought about packing up and leaving. I know there are lots of “policemen” around and that members are keen to report those, so I’m still sitting tight for the moment.


Source

We all have our very own reasons for being on this platform. Some are here to blog, some are trying out their writing skills, some are here to read and support, some are here to learn, some are here to explore, but at the end of the day, we are all trying to earn a few extra bucks, whether we like to admit it or not. My reason is quite simple really…I’m saving for a rainy day while finishing my studies and raising three children. My husband works his butt off and this is the only way for me to make a contribution.

The thing is, each and every one of us has a path to follow here on Steemit. We don’t just fall in and earn big bucks. We have to lay down a foundation and start building brick-by-brick, post-by-post, day-by-day with as little or as much help as possible. I’m talking about quality authors. All of these whales and dolphins earning the big bucks were minnows once upon a time and have earned their reputations, as we will too one day. Rome wasn’t built in a day and we’ll all reap the benefits of what we sow now, in the future.


Source

One day, we minnows will be the ones who get to upvote others at percentages we choose and we will have earned that right.

I kind of feel like a minor some days to some of these whales who abuse their power and those who views us with less reputation as idiots, looking down on us as if we're dog poo. Whales and dolphins, you’ve got to remember that even when we’re new-ish and have not yet finished our houses, that does not make us less intelligent or easy targets to bully. We are all just doing our own jobs in order not to get fired by the big boss and while we're still earning peanuts, there's no need to be rude.

So what if we are still testing the cement from different shops to find the right one?

I for one, test out every subject tag and have still not yet decided which format I want to use when writing my posts. I’m experimenting and I am allowed that.


Source

I have learned quite fast that the amount of followers you have means nothing unless they actually follow you. By building relationships with fellow builder-colleagues (aka Steemers) is the only way to get followed anyhow.

My message to fellow builders today, is to have faith, keep building relationships and keep doing great quality posts.

There are good days with nice weather, and there are rainy days, but at the end, we will all have nice, big and colorful houses. When our houses are built, we can chop and change the interior as we please.


Source




signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

blue!

I'm joking, I agree, I don't like spam comments either! Even though I do believe people should support each other - at least the same type of people :)

Haha @cwbrooch. I agree. Thanks for your comment

This is a well written article, and am sure that the light will shine on you soon if you remain true and consistent. I agree that spammers are annoying -see my older post about the topic and whom to contact about the issue. I wish you more success. Upped and resteemed

I will check them out, thanks @charles1. Thank you for your upvote and resteem and especially for your time to comment here. Appreciated! I wish you more success too ;)

You are welcome, always. More success to you.

Thx for sharing

I feel really related to this post, love the metaphor. Step by step, with patience, steemit gives you the opportunity to build something awesome here. The beginnings are really hard when you put so much work in your posts and nobody reads them...but you have to believe and have a strong why to keep on going.

People who think that they can live from steemit in a short period of time just spamming all over the place are simply nuts. The good part is that they realize sooner or later that that strategy won't get them far. Thanks for sharing @bdmomuae, it's important to bring awareness to new users about the spirit of this community ;)

I agree @arturomdg, they are nuts and they make the rest of us seem like we're doing it too. We have to keep going in good days and bad. Thank you for your support and for taking the time to read my post. May you build a beautiful house ;)

That was a lovely read. I have been here for almost 3 months too and can relate to all that you wrote about. I have my share of heartaches but it really does become a mostly fun daily routine after a while. Steem on :)

That's exactly how I feel. Thank you and may success follow you everywhere you go! ;)

Hi there, that was a wonderful post and I know there are times when all the minnows feel like they can't get anything...and just like any platform out there you will always find spammers around. I hope that everything goes well for you and looking forward to reading more of your awesome posts :)

Thanks so much @kyrios

good post. let us build brick by brick

Let's get to it! Thank you

@bdmomuae
Nice posts dear... quite on point and well targeted... i admire your sence of optimism... keep it up and truly one day you..yes you @bdmomuae & @kenhudoy will be swimming comfortably with the whales...and earn their admiration...
thanks for sharing

It's coming @kenhudoy, it's coming. Thank you for your inspirational comment, as always!

awww...i see you under that big whale... keep it up...look deep ahead... you see me punhing some hungry sharks ...blocking them from swimming to your side...;)
Lets keep steeming hot and also change the world by making our beds daily... doing small things...being hopeful for the better and never give up... good enough my Navy Seal buddy inspires us with his speech... ( Take a listen in my latest blog post) as your support will be appreciated ;)

Thanks for this post. I feel like a lot of people feel like this.

The spam is getting more and more annoying, and I have lost my tolerance for it and started downvoting them. Also since I do not want some random spam message at the top of my comment section. Feel free to do the same, afterall it's up to the actual, working community to take those spammers down because just waiting for something to happen isn't going to make it better either.

Minnowlife is tough and I am trying my best to help others out with my 20c upvote.

I guess all I can say is: Just keep swimming. Because no one is going to do it for you, and I can ensure you that things will get better :)

Cheers!

Hi @sjennon. Yes I also think many people feel this way and can relate. Thank you for helping out others, even if it is only 20c. It's 20c more than they had. We'll swim and build and eventually get there. Thank you for your comment.

I just hope every little bit helps :)

Luckily, those who give the small amounts of upvotes, are the ones who will also grow to support one another with big ones!

Construction is a really good analogy. I've been on here nearly 1 month and I still have a ton to learn. I recently started paying for upvotes and resteems...not sure yet if that is just smart steeming, or adding to the problems.

I see those as contractors that are sometimes needed to get hired to help getting the job done. I don't see anything wrong with that when it's used in moderation. Thank you for your comment.

Thank you. Beyond the contracting for votes and resteems, I completely agree with you about the problem with spam comments which seem to be a large proportion of all comments left on posts.

It's terrible those spam, but we will not let them win!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30