Speed Drawing: Muscle Study, Latissimus Dorsi.

in #creativecoin5 years ago

screen-anatomy-latissimus Dorsi.jpg

Hi all! Today I am going to focus a bit on human anatomy.

I am really passionate about anatomy and more specifically about figure drawing. In order to accurately draw the human figure, I believe you have to understand its mechanics from bones to muscles. To draw something coherently, I have always felt the need to understand how it worked. To draw a whole I need to break it down in smaller parts & functions in order to understand & draw it.

Last year I focused on bones, the core of any animal & human figure; this year I decided to study the next layer: the muscles and their functions. Today´s time-lapse illustrates a few studies of a muscle group named the Latissimus Dorsi.

What are the Latissimus Dorsi?

They connect the humerus bone (arm) to the rib cage, and extend to the pelvis & the spine to which they are connected. Their function is to assist in pulling the arms down to the side of the rib cage.

screen-latissimusDorsiCLoseup.jpg

In these studies, I only focus on this specific muscle group and a few surrounding ones; I don´t bother with the rest of the figure. I just want to find where the muscles are located, block them out, and figure out where they connect to the skeleton. I also draw the muscle groups surrounding or overlapping it.

D-tube link

Subscribe to my YouTube or D-tube channels if you like that kind of videos:)

As you can see I am adding a lot of lines that don´t exist in the photo reference in order to keep track of where all the muscles are located. I am looking for anatomical landmarks and little clues on the skin of the models to determine where muscles start and end.

This is definitely an advanced drawing technique, I will go back to the basics of the human figure, gesture drawing, landmarks,... if you guys are into that kind of content.

Book of the day:

FORCE: Drawing Human Anatomy, by Mike Mattesi . This is by far my favorite anatomy drawing book, written by the extremely talented Michael Mattesi, a legend in figure drawing. I will explore his drawing techniques in a later post, there is too much to be said to add it here.

This book clearly & concisely breaks down every muscle groups artists need to know about; it explains their start, end & function. I can´t recommend it enough to any aspiring figure drawing artist.

screenCent-MatesiHumanAnatomy.jpg

I am trying to keep it short so it will be all for today, I hope you like this post because I would love to write more about human anatomy. Writing about it would be good test for me, revealing the flaws to improve in my anatomy knowledge.

As usual, please shoot any question, advice, & critique my way. I´ll try to answer them the best I can.

Have a nice day,

Skeenee!

signature-steemit2.jpg

my site| instagram | twitter| makersplace| youtube

slideShow-skullWall.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks again for you support!

Congratulations @skeenee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95