BitPunk v.1 - The Human Hardfork

in #creative7 years ago

digital-2270281_960_720.jpg

When they criminalized crypto, they unleashed a revolution.


To be fair, all governments through all time want the same thing: Money, power, security for their genealogical line. See, it doesn't really matter what type of government a country claims to operate under. In the end all of them fall under the same umbrella.

Though "Representative Republic" and "Dictatorship" may reside in different wings, make no mistake that they exist in the same house, are a part of the same fraternity, and differ only in their execution of State, not their fundamental functions or desires.

Resistance is not only necessary but absolutely vital to the security of the future. Without it, we will slide back into the dark ages, once again relegated to serfdom in obeisance to one crown or another. No more Masters, no more Crowns!

  • Excerpt from the manifesto of the Crypto Liberation Front (CLF), dated June 21st, 2018

2017-06-21_12-22-37.png

Ekon thumbed through his copy of the CLF Manifesto, first reading the mission statement again and then idly flipping through the rest of the work. His copy had been made special order on paper, a rarity these days, but even still it had been worn down and the pages dog-eared many times over.

But in a digital world gone rogue, paperback books were worth their weight in crypto.

His long frame was gathered on a simple metal chair and the breeze up here wound its way through his dyed-gray hair and over his skin, raising small goosebumps that gave the tattoos on his arms an almost 3D-like texture. One blue and one green eye stared out over the edge of the town, spying small figures that made up the citizen patrols.

In the Grapevine DAO, everyone wanted to be there and participated accordingly based on their skills and abilities. If not for the feds, Grapevine would be as close to an ideal community as could be since the Civil War II. As it was, this DAO and the others that dotted this side of the demilitarized zone had banded together to form the Common Defense DAO.

But the CD DAO wasn't what kept the Feds at bay. Before Civil War II descended into open hostilities, the white hats of that time inserted code into the burgeoning blockchain projects that were spreading across all the old industries. With the commencement of open war against the citizens, the white hats executed some of that code, severely disrupting the infrastructure of the Fed cities. Those hackers had created a dynamic that was not unlike the Mutually Assured Destruction Doctrine that had outlined the relationship between world powers in the history books.

The Feds, unsure of how deeply the resistance had infiltrated the blockchains of their infrastructure, backed off but still conducted raids or "kinetic actions," as they called them. It was assumed they were looking for "leaders," but there were no leaders in the CD DAO. The Feds were convinced that this was a lie and so were not deterred from their violent action.

Ekon had been on watch for several hours now and the inconspicuous make-shift bird's nest that hid him from any prying eyes had become more than a little cramped. But while it did cause his claustrophobia to flare up it was a necessary outpost that could provide ample warning should the Feds make a move on the border five miles east of Ekon's location.

A slight, imperceptible rustling of the wind was the only noise in the room, but it was enough to alert Ekon to someone else's presence.

2017-06-21_14-34-00.png

"Hey, Nightwatch, shift's over"

Darma had been a fierce fighter in the latest conflicts, earning her the nickname Bounce for how she often managed to repel squads of Feds on her own. She since had insisted being called by that name, wearing it as a badge of honor. She had taken to keeping her face painted in a variety of styles and said that it called her warrior ancestors to aid her in battle, while also scaring the crap out of the Feds.

"Thanks, Bounce. Quiet night, this one. Want some reading material?" Ekon held out the CLF Manifesto Booklet, but Bounce shook her head negatively.

"No thanks, I could recite the whole thing by heart. But thanks, 'Kon."

Ekon moved past Bounce to give her the watch seat and head down to rest, but as he approached the ladderwell a rumbling seemed to vibrate the crow's nest, a deep thrumming that he could feel in his chest.

"Is that what I think it is?" Bounce asked as she leaned out of the window and into the brightening morning.

2017-06-21_15-01-53.png

"Fed Paratroopers!" Ekon grabbed Bounce's arm and turned her around "We need to get to the armory and run over to the gatehouse, they need to know to activate their perimeter defenses!"

Bounce couldn't peel her eyes from the gently falling Feds but nodded in agreement, "Call down to the gatehouse from here and..."

Ekon interrupted her before she could finish the thought "No devices, there are rumors that they've cracked our encryption so we do this the old fashioned way."

Bounce snorted "Ugh, fine! At least trip the offline wallet, the Feds shouldn't be able to even reach that mesh network. God, I haven't seen this many since I was a little girl. Why now?"

Ekon took only a moment longer to watch the paratroopers glide from sky to earth, like small snowflakes rocking gently in a soft descent to the ground, before speeding off to wake, warn and prepare the others.

The non-combatant civilians of Grapevine would need time to descend to the tunnel systems that ran underneath the town, and Ekon knew that without community, there would be no point in resisting the Feds. Getting those civilians safely tucked away would have to take precedence over everything else, once he alerted the gatehouse to activate the defenses that ringed the major entrances to the Grapevine.

As usual, the Feds didn't mind shedding blood... as long as that blood was far from their borders where their citizens could see.

And just when Ekon thought the Feds couldn't surprise him anymore, he began to hear the distant pops that could only be explosions.



What's BitPunk?

Almost like Cyberpunk, the BitPunk genre adventures in a world that is significantly advanced in technology set against the backdrop of a society in decline, economically or morally, and often both. At this point in time there aren't many works that deal in this genre, but if you are interested in it I would suggest reading Max Hernandez's Thieve's Emporium, as it's the closest I've found to blockchain fiction.

I hope you enjoyed the first part and will join me for the next episode soon!

Thanks for spending time here
@prufarchy

giphy-17.gif

courtesy of @hilarski
images sourced from Pixabay.com
posted via Chainbb.com
Sort:  

This was a great read, prufarchy! The way you wove a modern crypto-mythos together with strong characterizations and the ever-relevant tropes of war was truly remarkable. At times, the phrasing was a bit awkward and there were some minor punctuation mistakes but, overall, this piece is well worth its salt!

BitPunk seems like a tremendously fertile terrain for digital narrative, and I’m really glad you’ve decided to explore it. Steemit is in dire need of authors who foster diverse voices and storytelling styles.

We are currently hosting “Cryptails”, a digital narrative contest, and I honestly think your writing would be perfect for it. This week’s theme is “technological-horror”, so I believe it’s right up your alley! We would love to read an entry from you. This comment is a personal invitation = )

All best,
Jean

I just checked out what you guys are working on with Cryptails and I love it! These are the kind of community efforts that help people realize that they have a voice in them that's just waiting to get out.

I'm churning some techno-horror blockchain fiction in my brain and will probably be posting a story very soon, thanks so much for spending time here and sharing what you're doing too.

This is what Steemit is about!

It is, indeed! We truly believe digital narrative is the future of literature, and Steemit may very well be its bedrock. There’s a tremendous amount of talent in this platform, so we just need to rally and create something amazing!

Can’t wait to read your story prufarchy = ). And please do tell your writer friends about the contest. Our reach is limited at the moment, but we will walk through fire and brimstone to make Cryptails worth it!

I am constantly being surprise by how many good writers are on this site. Followed! :)

Cyberpunk is my favorite genre, and BitPunk sounds like a cool offshoot from that. I have no idea how I never thought of a world where crypto rules, or is the driving force for the plot at least. It's such a cool idea, and it's great that Steemit members are exploring it!

Seeing as how you're already into writing, I would really appreciate it if you checked out my blog post. Any feedback would be amazing. Trying to create some high-quality blogs.

Thanks! Cheers!

Love it! Is this the first time you've veered from poetry into story writing on here? If not, I'd definitely want to read what else you have :)
Needs more exposure my friend, putting it on my page ;)

I'm definitely a born song writer/poet type, but I have been trying to level up my fiction writing since joining Steemit.

Lately I've been posting under the tag #blockchainfiction to try and keep it somewhere easy to locate.

I love your work, so all constructive criticism would be highly valued :) let's be honest, I'll take destructive criticism too as long as you're smiling when you say it ;)

Look at this post go, yes!! That is more like it. I'm thinking this hardfork is working out well, people have to really consider their votes, so quality has suddenly become a lot more important! (My power keeps getting whomped, I have to figure out the right formula. Probably the toughest part has been not hitting everyone at a hundred percent which I've always done.)

I will definitely check out your other stories. Aw, thankyou! And you'll never get destructive criticism from me, but if I have any suggestions, I'll definitely share them with you :)

God, can I relate! Not only did I not know I was a dolphin until a couple of people convinced me, but now I have no idea how to handle my voting slider since I never felt like I had to much, before.

Talk about great problems, but it's actually really strange and I'll probably have to post about it since I'm so used to 100% everything. I hope you don't mind but I used your awesome reply to test out some voting slider stuff... crazy!

Man, it seems like we're running down similar paths at the moment. Very nice job, buddy. Keep it up! :)

Upvoted and followed @prufarchy.. this is a job well done. You have a bright future and your talent will bring you far. Keep it up. Salute on this one.

I truly thank you for that humbling compliment, I'm trying to get better every time :)

Excellent post
Precisely written
Great job

Thanks a lot, I'm glad you enjoyed the story

You welcome
I am new to steemit, i regularly follow your posts
Sir give me a favour..i need your kick back
THANKS

Sorry, I was so busy in the office that I replied to the wrong comment!

This was meant for you:
I tried to check yours out but my mobile isn't playing well with video, but I'll try again later when I'm back on desktop, I'm curious about that xrp analysis one :)


I'm more of a reading type and as I said my mobile isn't playing well today (for some reason my reception has been crap all day everywhere in lower manhattan) but I'm going to sit down and check out your video when I'm back at a desktop where I can see it!

also, you may not want to call it a kick back haha it's more of an invitation to check out your work and I will absolutely do that, I'm all about new steemians!

Great post . Check out mine if you have time :)

thank you for good posting.

hi @prufarchy , yes i have enjoyed the first part
thank you, actually cool story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71