HOW TO MAKE ONE OF THESE THINGS

in #creative7 years ago

Every once in a while, something cries out deep from within man and desires to reproduce things that he has been exposed to.


For @papa-pepper, today was one of those days. This peculiar little craft ball was just begging me to attempt to make one of my one. In the end, I could not refuse the beckoning, and set off to figure out “how to.”

The Master-craftsman and the Masterpiece.

I found the original crafty little ball in a potpourri mixture in a restroom. It appeared to be made out of some sort of vine, so I sent out to find some vines.


Since @grandpa-pepper was already helping me clear a path for our driveway, we were removing many trees that were covered in grape vines.


I figured that we had better save some of the vines so that we could make one of these things. This was the creative spark that fueled my genius and allowed me to be blessed with a huge success!

A SIMPLE STEP BY STEP HOW TO

This process can be more difficult than one would think. A skilled creative genius like myself can even struggle at moments. For that reason, I'll break this down in a simple and slow, step by step process complete with photos so that anyone should be able to understand. Here we go!

Begin slowly by bending a few of the vines into a sphere-like shape.


Add a few more vines to the sphere.


Add a few more vines to the sphere.


Add a few more vines to the sphere.


Add a few more vines to the sphere.


Add a few more vines to the sphere.


Finally, be sure to add a few more vines to the sphere.

Overcoming Obvious Obstacles

At this point, you are probably noticing a certain size discrepancy. You may even believe that I messed up on this project. Well let me tell you something, you do not get this close to the top of the steemit reputation rating system and not be able to deal with minor obstacles like a size discrepancy. Papa-pepper has got this!

If you move your giant version of one of these things back a few hundred yards, it will appear to be the correct size to match the cover photo. Check out how well it works in this gif.

See, I totally made one of these things. You've got to admit, mine is really close to being a perfect match to the original. Plus, mine can be seen by low-flying aircraft too! I'd let to see other people's decorative potpourri things do that!

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-one-of-those-things


Until next time…

STEEMIT WITH CREATIVITY!


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Looks like one of the sepak takraw ball.

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sepak_takraw

This is serious game in South East Asia. Not just the men do it.

I thought that it was just going to be like volleyball... that was amazing! I just watched that whole video with @mama-pepper and now I want to play.

I think i'll have to order one of those balls now! Thanks @ace108!

You're welcome. That was just a promo video. There are full games on youtube. Just search for "sepak takraw". Enjoy.

I think I'm going to check that out and order a ball! Thanks!

Go big or go home!

Thanks for checking it out.

Way cool crafty BIG ball thing. Think you should hang it from the barn, or a big tree for display. Thanks for sharing your project, and great photography/perspective idea.

Yeah, I was just goofing around and having some fun. Thanks @ddschteinn!

very cool, beautiful forms!

Thank you. We had some fun with it!

Yo siempre pensé que eran naturales xD

so how much pot-pourri do you think you cold get into that?
if you put that in your bathroom it should last a whole year at least.....

LOL - you are right, that sure would last!

Or just point at a tumble weed. All done!

Man.. what kind of post would that make? It sure would be an easy way out though. You are such a thinker @builderofcastles!

Got it! Thanks for the link! I'll have to get involved soon.

WOW amazing, would need a massive pot pourri pot for that one lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52