DIY Mermaid Bra-Sexy Costume Piece!

in #creative7 years ago

With the coming season, I of course have been letting my crafty side run wild with gift ideas. One of my roommates LOVES mermaids (because she is one). I came up with this fun #mermaid #bra and I want to share a #DIY so you can make one too!

This sexy mermaid bra is perfect for #cosplay, #parties, #festivals and, of course, #burningman (what we will be wearing these for).

rsz_20171223_131642.jpg

Step 1-Gather Supplies:

  • Find a bra suitable for your mermaid needs. I got mine from Target.
  • Go to Micheal's (or your favorite craft store), and gather these things:
  1. nautical-style netting
  2. seashells
  3. hot glue and glue gun
  4. gems (if desired)
  5. pearl beads (or other embellishments that tickle your fancy)
  6. needle and thread
    If you go to Micheal's, don't forget to use their amazing coupons, found Here

rsz_20171214_223651.jpg

Step 2-Set up your work space:

  • Lay out some newspaper-hot glue can get messy.
  • If you have a mannequin like mine, awesome. If you don't that's okay, it is not a requirement. Just lay the bra flat.

rsz_20171214_232348.jpg

Step 3-Glue the Netting:

  • Use the hot glue to glue on the netting. I just layed the netting over the bra and glued to down using dots of glue wear the intersections of the netting crossed.
  • After the glue dries, cut excess netting along the top and sides of the bra.
  • Then cut the bottom into a shape you want your netting to sit like across your waist. I made mine into a side-triangle shape.

rsz_20171221_202817.jpg

Step 4-Glue the Seashells:

  • Use the hot glue to glue on the seashells.
  • Have a basic plan for the design in your mind as you are chosing wear to glue your shells.
  • Wipe away excess hot glue before it dries with a piece of cardboard or anything that you don't mind getting glue-y (just don't use your fingers-HOT!).

rsz_20171221_202824.jpg

At this point I also tied on a cute little charm I had laying around in my crafting supplies.

rsz_20171223_124202.jpg

Step 5-Sew on the Pearl Beads:

  • Use the needle and thread to sew on your pearl beads. Try and fill in the blank space between the shells on your bra.
  • Alternatively, you could glue these on, but the sewing will ensure they will not fall off while you are wearing your awesome mermaid bra.

rsz_20171223_131642.jpg

Step 6-Glue on Gems and Other Embellishments:

  • Use the hot glue to glue on gems if you'd like. I put mind over some of the intersections in the netting.
  • Add any other embellishments that tickle your fancy! I glued a string of pearls hanging down into the waistline.

rsz_20171214_223517.jpg

FINAL STEP:

  • Rock your new costume, you sexy mermaid!

Check Out Some of My Body Paintings:

Visit Me:

Follow Me:

Have Fun Crafting! =)

-Kacie Chromatic

Sort:  

That is really cool! I like that you don't have to do a lot of sewing (or any) and can still have something fabulous and fun to wear. :)

I ended up having so much success with this that I made 3 of them for myself and 2 roommates for Burning Man! This is a DIY you can actually accomplish! Lol.

Awesome!

I'll have to stock up on glue sticks now. And blingy things. :D

Joanne fabrics has deals on glue sticks and Micheal's has those 40% off a single item coupons you can find in a google search or through the link in my post above! Assuming you are in the US/have access to these stores. @ravenruis

I'm not, but we have stores that are probably similar. :)

Pretty :)
I like your posts so upvoted and following ;)
Happy holidays! :D

Thank you for the follow! More body paintings and acrylic paintings to come! I will do more DIY projects as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35