No, Thank You - A Creative Writing Exercise

in #creative6 years ago

The following is a creative writing exercise that I particularly enjoy because, as someone who constantly feels obliged to agree and say yes, it provides the opportunity to say no and express how you really feel about certain situations. The format is pretty simple, write as much as you want about whatever you want, but each new line/idea has to start with, "No, thank you". I hope you enjoy the exercise and I'd love to read what you all create! Feel free to link your work in the comments!no-thank-you-jpg.jpg

No, thank you. I understand your position and the perception that you are indeed helping others, but you cannot truly be helpful if you impose these ideas instead of letting people voluntarily accept them.

No, thank you. Despite my cultural background, I do not like spicy foods.

No, thank you. I refuse to believe violence is a solution in situations that are already non-violent.

No, thank you. I appreciate your concern, I don’t care much for it.

No, thank you. I’ve devoted considerable time and energy into developing my skills and will use them in a way that benefits myself, and others.

No, thank you. I don’t want to make a donation today because I’m skeptical of where my dollar actually goes.

No, thank you. I would not like to add a soda.

No, thank you. I don’t wish for life to be easy and comfortable, that’s no adventure.

No, thank you. I’m content with my faith and have heard the good word, now, I’m working on writing my own good words.

-- @imerick

Sort:  

Congratulations @imerick! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

When writing essays about books , you can incorporate personal thoughts and feelings about the book. However, you should be careful not to give away any plot details or essence of the book. Using quotes is also acceptable, but you must make sure to justify them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34