Dragonfly Fishing... A Short Story

in #creative6 years ago (edited)

When my age was 9 years, there was one scariest day of my life. It was the day that I caught dragonflies by myself. No one taught me how to do it, I just figured it out by myself. During that time, we lived a very poor family. There were no games for me to play, also no television to watch. Our house did not have many things, but that did not stop me from finding interesting things to do.

So one fine day after the school finishes, I was just sitting around beside a drain not very far from my house. I was looking at the drain water flowing very fast after the rain. Then I saw colorful flying things that made me excited. "Oh Oh cute tiny dragonflies!". I waited till one of them flew near me and then I tried to catch it with my hands but failed.

"I need a glue and a fishing rod", I thought to myself and suddenly I remembered jackfruit. There was a jackfruit tree in front of our house. We always enjoyed eating jackfruit from that tree. But I hated every moment cutting it and every time my mother would ask me to help her cut the fruit. Jackfruit has a sticky latex and it was super difficult to clean. I have to put oil and soap for so long to clean the latex from my hands and worst if I got it on my shirt, I just need to throw my clothes, it can never be removed from my shirt which made me hate the work too much.

So, this triggered me an idea for my dragonfly hunting. I quickly ran to my house. I took 1 piece of the broom made from the coconut leaf, took a knife and poke the jackfruit. Its latex came flowing out so I took that one piece of the broom piece and covered the end tip with that latex. "Okay my fishing rod is ready", I thought to myself while running happily to the drain. Before that, I took a covered jar from the kitchen. "Must keep them somewhere after I catch them". I was confident I can catch it.

When I reached the drain, I saw many dragonflies on the bushes beside the drain. So colorful and so I began my dragonfly fishing. My theory worked, it was so easy to fish those dragonflies when I touched any one of them, it would immediately stick to the latex. So I then carefully placed them inside the jar. I managed to catch at least 20 of them. There were many colors of them. I practically caught almost all colors that I can get. There were the red, blue, green, yellow, and orange dragonflies. I felt so happy and proud of myself, "I must show Mama my catch", I ran happily towards my house.

"Mama Mama Mama look at my catch today!" I showed my mother who was cooking in the kitchen, my covered jar full of the dragonfly. To my surprise... my mother scolded me "What have you done?!! Fast release them! You are torturing those animals! If not they will come at night and haunt you!"

I looked at my mother with wide eyes and with utter shock. And then I ran outside quickly opened the jar and tried to release them. To my horror, some of them already died. I started crying... I felt so guilty of torturing and murdering them and for few nights after that, I had difficulties to sleep due to my guilty conscience.

That was the end of my one day story of dragonfly fishing. I hope you enjoyed my short story of 'Dragonfly and Me'. I have promised myself to never do such things again.


IMG_20180405_005021.png

This morning, I received such a pleasant surprise from my colleague Sharon. As I opened my office room door and about to settle down in my office, she came and gave me colorful plastic dragonflies. She said, "Here you are, this is for you". I was jumping with joy. I fixed them on my bamboo tree.. walaaa so nice right! It just brings me back that memory of my dragonfly fishing day.

20180404_191107.png

Take Care Everyone and Stay Blessed. Don't Be Naughty Okay :)


Yours truly,
signature_3 (1).gif
signature_4.gif-

Sort:  

@ainie.kashif - What a lovely story! There are so many aspects to it, besides being the talented story teller :)

Oh yes @rlt47, I am good right at story-telling.... hahaha, glad you like it. Stay blessed and Steem On!

Oh my. I had a very very similar experience involving frogs that I brought into my house and my father scolded my sister and I. I understand your guilt but we were just kids and trying to have fun. We learned and that is the best we can do.
ps.copying to HHG6

Hahahha... that's very similar experience to mine. Yeah I was just bored that time, and have learned the lesson well. Take care @teggit and Happy Sunday!

Love the plastic dragonflies on your bamboo tree sis :D

Yes... I'm loving it too... Sharon is the best hahaha.

Hello ainie.kashif!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Hi @resteemsupport, thanks so much for the resteem, I have joined the Steem Engine Team.

What a sweet story! You were just a kid, you didn't know you were hurt them, but that experience made you learn a lesson. Your friend's gift could have been anything, but they were dragonflies, it's like they are meant to be for you.

P.S.: Here is one of my little plants from the office with a few friends too.

Butterflies.jpg

Hi @mbell, yes those dragonflies are sentimental to me. I did learn my lesson well.
Loving those cute butterflies.. so creative.
Always love the artistic you. Take care and Stay Blessed!
PS: will copy this comment to HHG6

The secret of getting ahead is getting started.

Yes, agree and thanks @dailyxkcd for dropping by.

Great post. It doesn't seem like you are getting the likes it deserves though. Have you checked out the upvote communities? You should check out steemengine. or steemfollower.com.

Hi @jehovawitness, thanks for the kind compliment. And thanks for the suggestion. I have joined steem engine. Stay Blessed and Steem On!

Im glad they are not haunting you but bringing you joy lol

Hi @jtoda0, lol... yes I am glad for that. Stay blessed and Steem On!

Well @ainie.kashif, brought me to the memory a character from a comic called elvira, who chased the animals.
I'll post it on HH6

Hahahah... that sounds cute. Thanks @rvag5 and Stay Blessed!
PS: will copy this comment to HHG6

I was all deep into your story. Thanks for this cute and beautiful story @ainie.kashif. Take care and be happy always.
PS: will copy this comment to HHG6

Hi Shanu, glad you enjoyed it. Take care too and Happy Sunday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48