My Daughter.... My Heart. My Soul. My savior.

in #creative-writing6 years ago (edited)

My life has been blessed with the fruit of loving union. Heart divided, entrusted in youthful adventure. where will it go today and who will make it beat? what sparks will ignite the eye's we share? I close mine because you never hide away. We smiled together and laughed like loons, buffoons, balloons, remember grannies afternoons?
It has all gone so fast and now your my height!. You've still got a lot to learn girl, but like me you fight. Stubborn as the trunk, seed not far away. Now it has thickened, young leaves fade away.

My shadow no more, the freckles are gone. "I'm in my room" enigma, anon. "Let's play teachers?", "Err... No Dad, lets not" "Well how about Jelly, you like that a lot?" Frowny face, frowny face, slam goes the door. Sweetheart, darling, let's cuddle once more?" OK take a breath this is all to be expected. Part of the deal, next challenge accepted...

So my princess has gone and now I'm un-cool. No more kisses at bedtime or walking her to school.
I echo the words of millions before me and that number is annoying,
WHY DIDN'T YOU WARN ME?!
It goes so fast and if only I'd known. A girl becomes a woman, my little minions, left home.

All part of the parcel, passed round the circle of life. Age tears away the layers with no sense of strife.
Unfolded again, another prize to reveal. Some show enthusiasm and others conceal.

Pride and fear are unfamiliar allies, but they are all who stand beside me as I watch my youth bloom again.
The teacher becomes a guide as young heart finds boundaries to cross,
always watching over her so she never gets lost.

From a baby to a princess and one who protested so young. You are always my sweatheart, no matter what you'd done. We treasured the moments spent as a whole and we both cried together when half was stole.
Your mum and I, were a kettle and a pot. Two lost souls, one old and one not. I've never recovered from the moment it all ended. Time forever still, since the Waltons were upended. But our loss was fated, always from the start. And now that's caused a valley, cutting straight through your heart.

One week at one side and one weak the other. Christmas is different there's no chance of a brother. Daddies tried to be there, to fill in the gaps. Acting like a hairy half-sister, perhaps? I know it's been a sub and an elephant in the room. And I know while your at your mum's, the feelings still consume.

I've been were you are and your mother the same. It seems an echo from history has no mercy or shame. Of all the experiences, to pass on from my being. This is the one I intended to stop you from seeing. Cut out of the loop, a tradition left dying. Never again to leave an innocent heart crying.

So I've taught you to walk, how to talk, and how to burn beans on toast.
We've had so many chats, that I know who you like the most(Don't worry, I won't tell anyone)
Now go into the world, the balls yours to spike. You'll do me proud, by doing what you like. But whatever you do on your great big adventure. Just try not to forget I used to be your mentor.

I've never tried to own you, or wrap you in wool and wherever you path leads, I hope your heart will be full.
I've given it my all and there is still some to go. We approach risky water, so steady and please take it slow.
You hold my heart in your chest and my soul in your eyes.
I thank you so much for being by my side.

Written by one proud Dad :)
bannerart.jpg

Sort:  

Let me first say that i enjoyed the read already for the writing style alone, very nice.

The reason i have to comment is that - snif snif - my daughter turned 15 and i know she is going to break my heart more and more, some signs of your post are clearly manifesting.
But then again. If she wouldn't be able to turn her back to us, how could she ever start falling in love with another man? Ok, bad joke, just trying to console myself with a bigger picture.
The bigger picture is probably just the base of evolution, walking different paths is part of it. Ok, i am consoling myself again.

It's hard man, truly hard, thanks for sharing this, preparation is everything, much love.

Thanks bro that was an awesome compliment to receive. I owe her everything and being a Dad is probably the only thing that comes naturally to me(other than dismantling things but I fix cars to cure that particular urge).
Hey man! You have a 15-year-old daughter anf you still have hair on your head! That is something I will envy you for, I know(bad genes. lol). It must be a tough time for you, as a dad. It sounds like we carry the parents fear together. Can't imagine how afraid I am going to feel when she is 15. Hard to Judge when I fucked up so much but I just try to go against every "status-quo" and hope that will see her right. No good teaching her how we were taught lol.
Up, dow, up, down. They don't half know how to set the tone. We were wrapped around their finger from day 1 buddy :)
Wouldn't swap it for the world.

Can't imagine how afraid I am going to feel when she is 15

Ha, i really thought you were ahead of me and your daughter was way older :-)

Small correction needed => We were wrapped from day 1 minus 9 months :-)

No buddy she has just gone through the young girl to young lady transition. I'm just glad I can enjoy it, for now... ;) Soon be boyfriends and drama. She thinks I am so un-cool but what kid doesn't. I know she listens to me and see the good in what I do. Those around me are very main-steam so I tend to stand out a little. She will understand in the end and I know she has a good heart. Can't wait to see how she will turn out and what adventures she takes. What are the 'teens' into were you live? For my girl it is all about instagram and chatting to her friends.
What do you think to all this tech around kids? I know it has it's bad points but it is also their way of communicating so we may just be being grumpy old grandads, what you think?

this is very beautiful @article61, your love for your daughter really shines through, as in lighthouse shining through! What a lucky girl she is, and a great dad you are xx resteemed x

Hi Aishlyn, I've been stupid-busy lately and very obsessed with the discord channel. Saw your mention in eco-train, very well deserved and about time you were given some recognition. Have you set off for Ireland yet?
P.S thanks for the re-steem, you star! x

Your words went deep into my heart! My daughter is 1.5 years old and sometimes I think how much time I spend on her. Any household Affairs together with it turn in quest. Sometimes I get angry at her, I get tired of her, but after your post, I went up to her and hugged her. For the time will come when she grows up...

Now that is a heart-warming response. I took a lot of time of while my daughter was very young. It was for many reasons but We needed time to repair and the bond we have is very special because of it. I cherish everyday, but don't be too hard on yourself. I have those same feelings but we have a responsibility when we become parents and because people have accepted the new norm of "the working family" the social structure is crumbling. I always refer to a case in Africa/India. It was a santuary for for Elephants and for some unknown reason, the young males were attacking the female at mating season and killing them. They though it was poachers of freak animal attack by another big species. What they discovered was that it was because they had removed al of the adult males from the group and the younger male elephants did not know what to do with the hormonal mating urges. Instead of creating, they destroyed and it was a direct result of 'adjusting' the family unit. Women rights were hijacked because big business saw that 50% of the population weren't creating tax revenue. Now everyone works and the hours keep increasing. At some points I used to leave the house at 6am and return at 8pm. That is not being a dad. It has caused me massive debt and we have had times when things have been too tight to mention. But I wouldn't change it for the world. I soaked up every moment and it has allowed me to accept my daughters sudden sense of maturity and independence. I miss the cuddle and kisses like mad but that time as gone and it is awesome watching her develop her own personality. Cherish what you have. But I don't need to tell you that as it sounds like you alredy do. X

So sweet to read how much you love your daughter. She must be a priceless jewel to you. Where is she now? Married?

No bud, she is stiil quite young but time is short and I know it won't last forever.

You are right on that

oh wow! what a beautiful story poem! That was unexpected but great! It definitely brought a tear to my eye! It made me think of my own dad - who was a single dad, helped raise his 3 girls with his mother and I can imagine how hard it was watching us grow up and leave !
Plus my oldest is 11 now so that sinking feeling is fast approaching, each time he wants nothing to do with me, doesn't want a kiss when I drop him at school, doesn't want to sit and chat with me, when I ask if he wants a snack he says "I can get it myself". It's tough to let go!
Thanks so much for adding this into my #minnowmondays challenge/prompt this week! I've added it to my list :-D

Oh wow you are definitely in the same boat as me. That is the exact description of how my girl act now and she too is 11. The change was almost instant and started after we returned from a trip to Australia. Such a change and hard to take at first. "It's tough to let go". Oh how right you are. They say that they are with you at first then they go into the world and eventually then come back to you after their adventure. Fingers crossed...
You're dad sounds like a great man and it seems you have enjoyed being a parent too. It really is the best job in the world. I really glad you like and thanks for adding it in to the #minnowmondays challenge! Speak soon and take care momma bear :)

You're very welcome - glad to have you as a part of the challenge! Being a parent is definitely the best job ;-) frustrating sometimes! lol but i'll take it over anything else though

really nice writing. l love this poem

thanks for the vote.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Rebel-Dan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

its a heart touching writing..
i like it...

This is a emorional story of your own life. Actually every daughter is soul of every father. The daughter is the princes near the father. And Father is the king to every daughter.

giphy.gif

hey there @article61 just stopping by to let you know you won my #minnowmondays friendship challenge! Where you're not a Newbie I'm assuming the 50SP delegation would be unnecessary but the lifetime membership to @steembasicincome is available for your taking! Just comment on the new #minnowmondays post I just put up and let me know - and I'll sponsor you :)

Ow Wow!! Yay!! That's fantastic news. Thank you. I had forgotten I had written this as it has been a busy week. You tell I was in an emotional mood when I wrote this, because of all the spelling errors(I honestly do know the difference between your and you're). I have to give it a quick polish now it's on show.lol. I'll check out @steembasicincome it sounds very interesting, thanks again for the offer.

you're very welcome! It's a well deserved winner! 👌✌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42