"Living in Bliss at Hendry's Beach" ~ Creative Commons Collaboration with @allyinspirit

in #creative-commons6 years ago

"Living in Bliss at Hendry's Beach"

(Collaboration with @allyinspirit's "Living in bliss in the Hinterland")

Living in bliss at Hendry's Beach

Silk painting & watercolor collaboration (with digital manipulation) by Alison Lee Cousland & Crystal R. Pyren


I've really been enjoying doing collaborations like these here on Steemit.  Sometimes when I'm cruisin' around Steemit, something catches my eye and I just HAVE to jump in.  This time, though, I actually went looking for a "Creative Commons" artsy image to play with, and found one that @allyinspirit recently put forth.  Here's her original post with invitation to collaborate. I was really happy to read what she had to say about using Creative Commons artwork, and that she explained what CC BY-SA, in particular because THAT is exactly the way in which I like to work with other Creative Commons artwork, and how I would like to see other people use MY CC artwork.  I put one of my paintings out on Steemit for CC use, but haven't seen anyone play with it yet.  So, I am really happy to see her explain this, and was wondering about some of these issues myself.  So, thank you, Ally - for explaining it!

My Collaboration:

I used @allyinspirit's original silk painting, "Living in bliss in the Hinterlands":

Living in bliss in the Hinterland.
Handpainted on Silk by Alison Lee Cousland.


Both artworks above are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.



I looked through my own artwork for something that might fit well with her painting...

I came across an old (from 2008!) painting of my favorite beach in Santa Barbara (where I grew up). The locals call it "Hendry's Beach", but technically it is call "Arroyo Burro Beach". I have been to this beach so many times!  I used to go there with my Mom.  We would hunt for shells there.  I went on a school field trip there - where we were split into groups.  Each group hid "artifacts" for another group to dig up, like we were archeologists.  I went there often when I attended nearby SBCC. I have taken my kids there whenever we visit Santa Barbara, and my husband & I got married on that beach! I painted this picture of "Hendry's Beach" to use it on our wedding invitations. Sadly - I no longer own the original, it was lost in storage. But, I still have digital copies of it!

The other artwork of mine that I incorporated into this collaboration is my Monarch Butterfly:

This butterfly can be seen in my post about it, here.

And, VOILA! They seem to fit together pretty well! The frog seems a little tiny bit out of place, since I don't believe that type of frog lives in Santa Barbara, but, since he was such an integral part of the artwork, he got to stay. I decided he's just another visitor, checkin' out "Hendry's Beach", like ALL visitors to Santa Barbara should do!

Thank you for offering your beautiful silk painting up for collaboration, @allyinspirit! I have always wanted to try silk painting!  Someday, hopefully I'll get to try it! It looks like a very fun medium to use!


Sort:  

Congratulations @pyrowngs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you for the new award, @steemitboard!

I was so delighted to see your version of Living in Bliss @pyrowngs. So pleased you allowed the frog to stay as a visitor to Hendry's Beach.

The silk foreground and watercolour background worked so well. And then the Monarchs over the top unified the whole image.

I spent quite a bit of time looking at the different forms of CC and where I'd like to be totally free about how an image is used once it's been offered, I like the idea of whoever passes an image on, as it is or with their own changes, also being bound to share it as CC ShareAlike.

Really pleased this image and information seemed to come at the right time for you. Isn't the Universe SO amazing. 🦋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87