~ Monarch ~ 8" X 8" Art Panel, Acrylic & Ink

in #art7 years ago

~ Monarch ~


OK - we are moving into the butterflies...

Of the 10 insect art panels I created for Burien's Vision 20/20 art event last year, 3 of them were butterflies.  All of the butterflies I chose are common, recognizable species.  The first one I started with is the Monarch.  Who doesn't love Monarch butterflies??  I used to have my art students draw butterflies - sometimes from photographs, sometimes using fake butterflies, made of feathers.  Monarchs are one of those butterflies that are incredibly complex and challenging, especially when you are just free-handing it - "winging it", if you will.  

All of these insect panels were drawn with a fine-tip sharpie first, free-handed.  So, some of them have imperfections.  After drawing them all with ink, I added acrylic paint and iridescent acrylic ink over the top.  They were sort of like coloring pages that I painted in.

In case you'd like to see my past recent posts of the other insect (and one spider!) panels, click on the links below:

      

   Honeybee                    Ladybug                Jumping Spider


    

     Ant                         Bumblebee

These insects are available on products like T-shirts, notebooks, & stickers through Redbubble.  Check it out!

Sort:  

so beautiful I love this type of butterflies

Thank you! Monarchs are truly special! They are awesome to see in-person!

Great job, the bee is beautiful

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63706.48
ETH 2637.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83