Monochrome Monday

in #photography5 years ago

Today is @old-guy-photo's #monochromemonday goodness. I do love me a good black and white photo. Today's photos are courtesy of Nature, and consist of Butterflies.

20190803_172041.jpg

The thing about butterflies, to me, is that I don't know the first thing about them other than that they are very pretty and very majestic creatures. The emerge from a chrysalis. And .. well.. my knowledge ends there. I'm sure there are various categories of butterflies, and I'm sure they have a very complex taxonomy. To me they're all just pretty.

20190803_172109.jpg

This one butterfly posed for me for awhile. I say "posed" when really I mean he stayed in the general vicinity for awhile. Butterflies rarely hold still. It required some patience to get these photos.

20190803_172127.jpg

Ultimately the butterfly flew off and I sat my butt down on this bench to leaf through the pictures I just took. Yes, I took a picture of the bench, too.

20190803_172146.jpg

(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

thanks for showing me good photo

You're welcome! I'm glad you like them.

Great shots! Who would have thought butterflies could be so great in black and white?

We just hatched our last monarch this weekend and the kids love freeing them so much.

Awesome subject.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Gorgeous photos, really gorgeous. So many of us take pix of butterflies for the colors, but the monochrome works really well. I love all of these. That first one is major eye candy.

Thank you very much! The butterfly's markings really lend itself well to black and white.

I think those turned out well...especially the bench! :)

Benches are always a good subject! For such a simple construction they're usually quite full of character.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @solominer.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you very much!

I was gonna miss the butterfly! In mono mode, it looks like camouflage. Love the bench at the end.

Thank you! The butterfly looks neat in colour, but the leaves are all boring and drab, so I felt that black and white was the right choice.

Lovely black and whites of the Papillon's my friend.
Blessings!

Howdy sir wwwiebe! Outstanding photos! Those must have been taken with the good camera.

LOL! Yes, yes, they were. :) A Sony Alpha a58.

But pretty soon we won't be able to tell because you'll get so good with the crappy cameras!

Beautiful, the butterfly still looks so striking even in Balck and White.

Thank you! Strong patterns and contrast make good black and white

That's very true.

Great images, especially the granularity of the textures.

The butterfly's wings almost look like they're made of short-haired fur.

Looking forward to enjoying your work/art in future posts.

Following now.

Namaste, Jaichai

Hi @jaichai! Photography is definitely an enjoyable hobby. Thank you for the kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84