Ich Bin Ein Hamburger (Den Haag, Netherlands): A Tasteem review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image

A Hamburger Joint that meets classy white napkin restaurant culture? Well, it is definitely intriguing to say the least... but it has had good recommendations, so perhaps it was worth a try!

"Ich Bin Ein Hamburger" is a strange name for a restaurant, but it is likely a play on the words "Ich Bin ein Berliner" by John F Kennedy when he visited West Berlin in 1963... well intended, but the meaning of which was slightly different to what was intended!

However, in this case... it is a sort of an appropriate name for this restaurant... it features Hamburgers! Surprise!

The Space

IMG_20190430_191024.jpg

From the outside, the restaurant is quite unassuming. In fact, the restaurants around it look more appealing than this one! However, if you just take a second glance, it is clear that there something possibly something quite special inside...

IMG_20190430_191218.jpg

White tablecloths... that is the stereotypical hallmark of a "fine" dining experience... and that is what you are going to get here! The cross between the fine dining and the stereotypical "fast" food staple is a little strange at first.... when you sit down, you aren't really sure what to expect!

There is good spacing between the tables... which is something that I really enjoy. I know restaurants have to make money... but cramming tables too close together makes for a bad experience.

IMG_20190430_191221.jpg

In the brighter months (we went in spring), the glass roof gives a great light and natural feeling to the space, I'm no interior designer... but the furnishings and the wall art were pretty tasteful... it would be the sort of thing that I would like in my own home! Lots of jazz and out movie posters as well!

IMG_20190430_212953.jpg

There are also "show" tables as well... I'm not sure if people eat at these ones (I guess they do... we went on one of the quiet nights...). Personally, it looks a touch cramped... and I'm not sure that I would like being on display for the foot traffic outside!

The Menu

IMG_20190430_191349.jpg

There is a nice little selection of appetisers (not too many, which is always a nice thing... ), however, we decided to save ourselves for the main event and dessert... I have a small stomach!

Also listed below the appetisers is a couple of plates for main meals... you came to a burger place... skip these!

IMG_20190430_191404.jpg

Alright! The main event, a selection of very gourmet sounding hamburgers with a variety of meats (and non-meats)... sersiously, everything here looks pretty damn good... but if you've been following my blog for any length of time... you already know which one I have my eye one!

IMG_20190430_191410.jpg

... and the desserts... already, I have made a choice... I hope I still have space for it!

IMG_20190430_191509.jpg

A great selection of wines, beers and drinks round out the menu. I really like that all the wines can be had per glass... my wife and I would struggle to finish a bottle together... and so that means that may wines are usually off the list of choices (as they normally would be sold by the bottle only).

IMG_20190430_191511.jpg

... okay, the joke is getting a little bit thin...

IMG_20190430_191520.jpg

IMG_20190430_191521.jpg

IMG_20190430_191538.jpg

IMG_20190430_191546.jpg

IMG_20190430_191547.jpg

The Food

IMG_20190430_191302.jpg

What I do like about the "fine" dining restaurants... is that they give you a little nibble whilst you are making your drink and meal selections. Sometimes these can be simple... in this case simple, but the sausages were really quite good! Gets the mouth juices flowing...

IMG_20190430_193633.jpg

Duck burger! Of course... if there is duck, I'm going to be leaning pretty heavily in that direction. Anyway, I was expecting duck pieces in the burger... but no, the duck was pulled and fashioned into a real burger... and the fig sauce... and... WOW, I want all my burgers to be like this!

IMG_20190430_193640.jpg

Interestingly enough, my wife is trying to cut back out meat consuption in our household... and she chose the burger with three different types of pork! A burger, with pulled pork and bacon! I was pretty awesome as well... but perhaps a touch heavier than the duck burger. Like... really heavy... but good... but heavy...

IMG_20190430_193636.jpg

Chips... the often neglected sidekick to the burger. If you ignore this part, then you aren't going to have a great burger experience... these chips were top!

... I think the other thing is a salad... actually, it was also pretty good! (and also a often neglected side dish...).

IMG_20190430_205840.jpg

A chocolate mudcake... this was my wife's choice. It was rich and oh so great.. but after a heavy meat packed burger, she was struggling to finish it. We did eventually manage between the two of us... very slowly!

IMG_20190430_205843.jpg

I opted instead for the citrus based creme brulee... I think in the end this was the better choice. After a meat heavy meal... you do want something a touch more refreshing than a solid block of chocolately goodness! This was an interesting take on a traditional dish... but it works!

The Experience

Hamburgers and White Tablecloths... does it work? Yes, yes it does... the staff here were incredibly nice... and the atmostphere of the place was great. We did go on a relatively quiet evening and so it was nice and quiet and there wasn't much of a wait time for the food.

The food... it was really quite good! You wouldn't expect burgers to really live up to high expectations... but when they do, well... no more MacDonalds!

We had a great evening here... we would definitely return on a different time or to show friends. Interestingly enough, they also do take away! I'm not sure about that... I could end up getting quite fat...

Opening Times

Monday Closed
Tuesday 5–10pm
Wednesday 5–10pm
Thursday 5–10pm
Friday 5–10pm
Saturday 5–10pm
Sunday 5–10pm

Contact Details

Address: Prins Hendrikstraat 53, 2518 HJ Den Haag, NETHERLANDS
Phone: +31 (0)70 392 7252
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://www.ichbineinhamburger.com/

Instagram

TripAdvisor
Thuisbezorgd
Eet.nu


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Restaurant Information


Ich Bin Ein Hamburger
score
Prins Hendrikstraat 53, 2518 HJ Den Haag, Netherlands


Ich Bin Ein Hamburger (Den Haag, Netherlands): A Tasteem review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation

Great review! I haven't had a duck burger before and I don't recall seeing many on the menus here in Sydney. Would be interested to try it myself :)

Thanks for the curation and support... no, duck burger is pretty uncommon... it's more a gourmet sort of thing, but if you see one, try it! It's definitely worthwhile!

What a dinner @bengy! So rich and creative! I knew you would choose the duck with amazing fig sauce! The pork sandwich your wife ordered sounds really interesting, but sounds like it was definitely filling, lol Of course you have to have fries, wouldn't be complete without those. I'm sure you took a long walk after that meal :)

Of course it would be duck! It was a slow slow walk afterwards... very full, but not too much... but very slow!

This was a fabulous review! I agree with you wholeheartedly about the upscale burger place! There is room in this world for several more!

If you are not vegan or vegetarian, who doesn't love a great burger? It was after going to a place like this that I decided that eating any kind of fast food was not for me. To be honest with you, if you put junk food and good food, side by side, there is no comparison, but, sometimes the difference in money isn't as much as you would expect.

I thought this place really hit all my buttons and the dessert was different looking, but, I would be willing to give it a whirl. ;)

Thank you for such a thorough and thoroughly enjoyable review of this place. I love the white napkin treatment!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Even if you are vegetarian! This place even serves vegetarian friendly burgers (felafal based)! However, if you are vegan that could be trickier...

YUM! Also, wow! I never thought of foie gras on a burger. I'll take the royale with chips and salad, and maybe cheesecake for dessert, please. ;)

It's all great stuff! Looks like you have a dinner that will take some digesting! Slow eating is the only way to conquer it!

I bet you got full.
Lots of food for you. :)

Very very very full...

Just focus on salad and ice cream. Looks pretty good and yummy.

Heh heh... all of it was great!

The moment I see the chips I know that this is going to be amazing...they look really great. The burger's bread too, it is really not hard to tell if something is high quality...

To be frank I rarely see burgers with salads here. Probably it's a culture difference? But I love salad...haha.

Chips... that's where you got to get things right! No point having a good burger, but with terrible sides!

Sounds wonderful @bengy. Not bad pricing considering they are a bit more high end. Definitely sounds like a place to go back to.

Yes, it is expensive for a budget... But for a high quality meal, not so bad! Definitely something to keep on the list when visitors come!

Incredible pos. I love the name of this restaurant, and the food looks remarkable. I'm sure I've never had a duck burger, but I'll have to try it. I've got to keep this one on my list for the next time I'm in Berlin.

Damn bro! The restaurant look so vintage and the food mesmerizing. I'm pretty sure you had a blast with your wife. Regards!

Yes, the food was amazingly good! The decor really is a great vintage feel, it was a great place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46