Felt magnets - DIY craft for everyone

in #craft6 years ago
When I first started working with felt, magnets were my favorites and they probably still are. There is something special about that material that makes it easy to handle and since it comes in many colors and is easy to cut and sew, there is almost nothing you can not make out of it.

Felt that I am using is eco and vegan friendly. It is made out of recycled plastic bottles so by using it, I am promoting REUSE, REDUCE & RECYCLE moto that I am very fond of. It is very soft and antiallergenic so it is safe for babies too. On touch, it resembles cotton and it does not ich if you wear it on your skin so I make a lot of jewelry from it too.

Felt comes in various colors and is safe to wash without losing them in the process. It is very easy to cut, a pair of good scissors is all you need and probably the best thing about it is that it can not be broken if it falls to the floor. Some of us are clumsy and break stuff pretty often. If it is fragile, I will probably break it sooner or later but not felt. That is one of the reasons why felt is ideal for Christmas decorations and baby toys. It is easy to come by too. You can order it online or buy it in any hobby art store.

With magnets, like with everything else, I first start by choosing what to do. Pinterest is a great source of ideas but sometimes I draw stuff out of my head or get an order from a client that is just a picture that needs to become a magnet. That design needs to be drawn on paper and that is when the real work starts.

Once I have a drawing, I move on to breaking that drawing down into individual pieces. If something is an animal with head, body, and arms, I will draw an individual shape for the head, eyes, arms, and body. All of those pieces need to be cut out because they will be used as molds for cutting felt. I use them to draw the same pieces on felt before cutting the felt. This way, I always get what I want and every piece is exactly the size that it needs to be.

When I have all the felt cut into shapes I need, it is time to glue the magnet. I use small round neodymium magnets that are not that expensive. Since there are always two pieces of the largest shape, I use my glue gun and glue the magnet in the middle of one of those large shapes. This way, when I sew those pieces together, the magnet will be hidden inside and not visible but it will still serve its purpose.

After the magnet, comes the sewing part. I always start from the middle outwards and from the smaller pieces to big ones. If a design has eyes, those are first and if it has multiple layers the middle ones will be sewed before the rest. The last thing that has to be done is sewing of two largest shapes, the main shapes so to say. One of those shapes has everything on it and it looks like the product is finished and the other one is the back that is usually blank, it only has the magnet glued to it. When those two pieces are sewed together then the product is finished.

I always sew by hand and never use a sewing machine. I did try but it takes me longer to set the machine up and battle with it than it does to just do it by hand. Depending on the size and the complexity of the design, it takes me from 2 to 5 hours to finish one magnet and here are some that have already been sold.

Have you already found your favorite one?
Maybe it is one of these:

I do have some that are "for boys"

And I have those that are adorable

For a couple of months now, I have been selling my products on steemit and accepting SBD as payment. I ship all over the world and those shipping costs are split 50-50 between and the buyer. They are not that high and, of course, depend on the amount (weight) of the shipment. They are usually around 3 euros per package. I am selling sleeping masks, jewelry, toys and now MAGNETS! Each magnet has a price of 7 euros (8.2something dollars) that you need to convert to SBD before paying, of course.

If you are interested in buying something from me, please check out the post FELT KITTY CRAFT. All the information you need is there just as are the links to my previous posts with my products.

I WILL MAKE YOUR WISH
COME TRUE!

If you want your name or a letter as a magnet or have a cute drawing you would like to have as a magnet, just send me the photo and I will make it for you. If you do not know what to give someone as a gift, personalized magnets are always a good idea. After I receive the payment, it takes me one day to buy the material needed and one day to make your product so, from the day you pay, it takes me 3 days to finish your product and to ship it to you. Shipment duration is out of my control and it takes the products from 1 week to 3 weeks to get to you, depending on where you live and how far that is from my place (Croatia, Europe).

Until next time,
KEEP YOUR SMILE ON!


Image sources:
All images used in this post are mine and made by me, be sure to ask me if you want to use them somewhere.
- the bitmoji is well... my bitmoji. Get yours at https://www.bitmoji.com/

PROUD MEMBER OF:


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

Cute! I love all kinds of crafting. Thanks for sharing your passion @zen-art.

You are welcome, I really enjoy doing these 💚

What a fabulous idea you have here! Your creations are so adorable and FUN! I love it!

Thanks, I always try to make them as cute as possible 💚

I just love the two little cars, so cute! Amazing that this is made from recycled plastic!

Recycling really is amazing, right? I am glad you like them 💚

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zen-art 💚 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

They are beautiful, they make me happy

I am glad to hear that 💚

Wow! You are an amazing artist! Your felt babies are so cuuuuuuteee!!!!!

Thank you for your kind words 💚


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

GREAT craft idea for kids (or adults)- lol
I can remember when my kids were little and I'd always try and come up with new ideas- this would have been perfect my my daughters.

Yes, the best thing about this is that it is great fun no matter your age 💚

So awesome! I want to get some work done from you soon, I've just literally been so overwhelmed I don't know what to do with myself. BUT.. I do plan on ordering from you before too much longer! Love your work!

I am glad you like my work. Take your time, I am not going anywhere and will be happy when I get your order 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18