Sort:  

Thanks, sandcastings doesnt shrink noticeably. At least it isnt noticeable for the tolerances I use here. In my experience most of the shrinking in castings happen in the rubber-molds. On the other hand there other issues with precision, such as the sand sliding or crumpling. If you are careful though, you can get a very precise casting

May be a lost PLA with a refractory with plaster can be a good fit for higher precision. It seems to be worth the effort, if the model is not too long to print and you do not mind to destroy it.

lost pla is definitely a possibility but for the fairly simple stuff I do, a multipart mold is fine. I do have the possibility to make investment casting with lost wax etc and also have the possibility to go from print to rubber mold, but then we are back to the problem with shrinking. I do have some castable filament and i also have a resin printer so I can get castable resin, so i am pretty stocked up , as you can see :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62