Realigning the global economy away from China as the manufacturing hub of the world.

in #covid4 years ago

image.png

Global manufacturing hub no more?

It's taken a global catastrophe but I think it is probably the beginning of the inevitable downfall of something that I thought I'd never see; the rapid expansion of a Communist party controlled China.

I watched in sheer disbelief, the rise of communist leaders embracing free-market capitalism (as well as supporting their own industries, the opposite of today's Democrat presidential candidates) and the success that China has had in carving a giant global economy second only to the US. I was surprised as much as anyone else, the relative success this regime had.

However, I also saw what would be an eventual unwinding, most often coupled with powerful top down un-elected central control bureaucracies. And irony of it all? Our own president Trump has been fighting a very similarly entrenched un-elected US State department and it's grip on power. This power has been used and abused to spy on the Republican president candidates, even a sitting elected president.

image.png

A stroke of genius, or dumb luck?

To me, I always thought Trump's tariffs were used as a bargaining chip for negotiating better deals for the US. But the side effect of this, was that the world wide industries responded in kind by moving to alternate sources outside of China. The effect of which, will be the economic damage to the world as a whole will be softened by easing the shortages.

Trump may not have intended this to be the case, call it a stroke of luck. Or is he a lot smarter than people give credit?

In any case, I think the gradual downfall of China will be catalysed by the global pandemic, and it will eventually go down in history as the second greatest worldwide event, second only to the fall of the Berlin Wall.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 67 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37