The Set Of People Who Are Supposed To Protect Us Are Extorting Us

in #corruption7 years ago (edited)

After my Journey from Ghana, I decided to lodge in an hotel because we got to Lagos in the middle of the night and there was no way I could go home. I, tojukaka, @fisteganos, adejoke16, @gee1 and @ibukun.

images (5).jpeg
Source

The next morning which was 10th of January 2018 was supposed to be a day that I was to meet a fellow Steemian of the name @onos. We were supposed to go to the airport to book a ticket to Akwa Ibon which is another state in Nigeria.

We were supposed to further our Steemit gospel mission. We finally met that day and exchanged pleasantries. We stood by the road side to get a vehicle going to the airport but instead of getting a vehicle going to the airport, we got a vehicle going to the police station. Funny

A small yellow bus packed in front of us and some rugged looking guys came out of the vehicle. Wow it was the police . They got down with guns in their hands. There were like 5 of them plus the driver who is not looking like a police officer.

They came down and asked us where we were going g and we told them airport. All of a sudden they asked us to enter the vehicle. I was about to start explaining myself when the one that looks like their leader shouted at us.

We had no choice and we entered. In the vehicle hey started asking us all sort of questions. Like where we were coming from and where we were going . Though I have not been stopped by a police in that manner before but for the fact that I have a knowledge about Nigerian police, I knew it was one of their raids to exploit innocent citizens.

We provided them with all the information they wanted and they were not still satisfied. I had my bag with me with contained my clothes and my laptop which I took with me to Ghana. They collected our phones and my laptop. They searched it in and out. I know Nigerian police, they want to collect money from us.

They claimed they were looking for fraudulent activities but they got none. They were not satisfied. They already know we were nervous and we wanted to go to the airport. For that reason they took us to their police station becasue they felt they would get money from us.

We got to the police station and asked us to sit down. They won't go straight to the point and were just busy looking for what was not lost on my laptop.

Some of the other police officers left in search off other innocent citizens while they left us with one of them. He later opened up and said we should tip him. I asked for his amount and he said #100,000. I told him I could not pay that all j had was #5,000.

Not that I don't know my rights as a citizen but then I remembered I was in Nigeria and if I tried to claim rights, he might just lock us up and replace us with criminals. We had to beg him.

After a whole lot of begging, he released us but he collected #11,000. So we went to the airport to book the flight.

Since then I have just been thinking about what could be done and how I wanted him to suffer for what he did to us but then I am just an average citizen and my sudden death might not even raise any suspicions. Ill rather let it go and have my precious life to myself

Welcome To Nigeria

Sort:  

@ewuoso Police in Nigeria are so desperate. They can even kill innocent man because of money if you refuse. Thanks for sharing the truth. Human right is on fire in Nigeria

For me, i think we don't know our rights and that why a "military group" could still extort from us.

I and my younger brother were in almost same situation but since dad is a lawyer and has given us some lecture on what is right and wrong as to the constitution, we stood our grounds and at the end of the day, we were freed without being harrased.

So my take on this is "next time, call on me if you need somebody" winks. Sorry you and your friend @onos were victims.

i will surely call on yhu

Organizing with others in your area who feel the same is a god start. next is to convince friends to join the police so you man infiltrate their ranks (inside man). Next you should in secret begin building up funds and economic influence for a legal battle( and to pay informants who expose corruption) after the money is in place your group should seek to educate the people and hold the police accountable for their abuses. the easiest way to get cops to fall in line is to control the local politicians and get some corruption arrests made. The only way it will truly change is if the people stand up to the Police thugs in large numbers. Continually exposing their activities to the public will have an effect but infiltrating their ranks (politically and Economically) and changing them from within is the most effective method of enacting change. you may be insignificant now but if you wish to help others your value to Nigeria and its people will grow. just tread carefully and remember Infiltrate the system.

If you are a Nigerian Ghent I guess you should know that the person is playing with death. Life does not matter to this people. Lol

part of revoloution is to know that your adversary is dangerous. things will only change when the people show they do not fear the police or set up their own cities like what @bania and myself are working on in @d-city are working on. it make take years but the change will happen. Im willing to leave my homeland and come help which is what i am doing starting in Ghana then Nigeria. It takes ambition courage and teamwork to change a world controlled by wolves and vultures. We will meet soon you and your comrades have powerful minds that can help.

I will be glad to meet you

Gee! I am willing to work with you. These people have taken me up wrongly twice now. both times though, I have refused to pay them...

join us on our new discord channel https://discord.gg/CxNPsUA

Trust me. if you were a guy... You'd have been beaten while claiming your right... these filthy things dont even know anything about the law that they're meant to enforce

They don't at all

You don't drag with them next time so it doesn't feel like you are resisting the arrest... Let them take you in and you settle from there... In my own case, I knew a lawyer friend I could call when things get wrong but the way I related with them, they were scared of touching me... I wasn't begging and I wasn't bragging...

Please I need someone to call too o...

Sickening. Governments around the world are just monopolies on the initiation of violent force in a geographic region. Their state enforcers are mafia muscle in costumes.

Hopefully cryptocurrency will create a new approach. Money outside their control which will evertually no longer fund their system.

I totally agree with you .They (Governments)have the power because, their system is funded by taxes, what if cryptocurrencies step in to give power back to the people as it is being done gradually. Let us give ourselves some few years and things will start to change.

I pray cryptocurrency does not go under as several governments are beginning to kick against its acceptance in their countries.

It will surely take over. Just a matter of time

You are right

They feel they can control everything and nothing will happen to them.

It was in the afternoon that it happened. Broad day light.

They carry laws into their hands and hide under the umbrella of the so called Government.

Its just a matter of time i believe.
Thanks for stopping by, it means a lot to me

hope you get a chance to check out @d-city it's a plan to build a decentralized crypto based city. we are looking for bright minds to turn hope into reality. Its the brainchild of @bania a Nigerian who seeks to lift up the lives of his fellows with a project that would change the dynamics of the nation!

Would surely love to check this out...

Oh so sorry to hear that after a successful encounter with you guys here in Ghana this is what you went through when you got back to your country. It's just a shame for them to do such a thing to innocent citizens whom they are there to protect as their job demands.

welcome to Nigeria bro

As a Nigerian, I can relate very well with your post. From my teenage days i have always wondered what could possibly be the panacea to the monstrous corruption bedevilling the Nigerian Police force but as i grow older i have come to realize the fact that it isnt just the Police force but it is a scourge that has eating deep into the fabrics of most agencies in the country and it will take some radical revolution or divine power to bring down the towering height of corruption. The best thing like you have done is to avoid them like a plague. Great post..

Welcome to Lagos, this happens on a regular basis here... Like any young guy looking good and well dressed is automatically a fraudster in the eyes of these thirsty police officers ... Especially if you have a good phone or laptop on you..
I've had countless encounter with them and it has never went down well

Well The Nigerian Police is just yet another scam.

When they are hungry they look for whom they will steal from.
Collecting 11,000 naira from an innocent person is stealing. The best course of action is just to avoid them and their problems.
Thank God you are safe @ewuoso.

My own case was the worst, they took me to the station and told me to write a statement saying that I am a criminal.
Who does that?

Well sha, we are in God's hands🙌

Did you now write that you were a criminal?

Good to hear that you were not detained and mostly you and your companion/s are OK. Take care always and stay safe. Good luck.

We are OK but we were delayed and we had to pay through our noses

Yes it hurts but let's be thankful that you are OK. Charge this one to experience.

thanks bro

Man this pisses me off! Corruption is everywhere.

@ewuoso, smile welcome to Nigeria. so sorry about what really happened....say no to corruption...

thank you bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62135.43
ETH 2418.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58