You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have Game Companies and Studios Today Lost Their Core Ethics?

in #corevalue6 years ago

While I think some of them did, I also think that some just put the micro-transactions out there because they don't have many options left. (If companies didn't try to maximize profit with their still popular games, they might get bankrupt after few failed games.)

But I think there could be other ways to make players pay more without having to make the whole experience worse... Sadly I they will probably get the same hate they get with day 1 DLCs.

As if the games are enjoyable or not? I think the more games you play in the past makes the games that come out now seem less enjoyable somehow to you... So maybe we just have played too much games?

I agree though, that companies now spend thousands of dollars on unnecessary content just to make the game longer & justify their game price tag. Ouch!!

I hope companies find more ethical ways to do so, because I think the future of gaming isn't that bright now~

Sort:  

I do agree with the fact that in order to keep a company going they should maximize profits in some fashion but it does get steep in the loot box and game development department because of certain steps taken that rub people the wrong way, especially for companies that aren't having any trouble, like Konami for instance who created Metal Gear Survive and locked most of the essential game convenience features such as game saves behind a paywall.

I will admit I have played a lot of games, and do mainly enjoy the old ones but there are still new games that catch my eye, but when I see certain turns made in the new games like locking dlc weapons in loot boxes when you should already have them for owning the dlc in the first place is a very redundant way to force players to pay for loot boxes just to get something they should already own.

And I must agree with the video you shared, but if better steps were taken with micro transactions like with Digital Extremes goes with it, people shouldn't have to pay so much for so little it's really there if we want to, but like I said before when they take steps to force you that's where the line is drawn.

Personally I along with a few others would be more than willing to pay around a hundred dollars for a good quality game like we have had in the past with the tech now even if it had micro transactions. And thank you by the way for the video you shared it was enlightening. I will say though it's hard to enjoy some these days especially coming from a family of gaming pioneers lol. And it's sad though they quit when this started happening, but they still play specific ones if they are in the mood, but they are mainly disappointed with how the games that come out don't live up to expectations at times. Again thank you for the feedback 😊.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72