Cook with Us #3 - Durian Sticky Rice

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Whoohoo! Another entry for @cookwithus contest. Almost couldn't make it but Yay! just got home in Saraburi province this afternoon and look for what we have at home already. Bamm!! I've just made it in time. Last minute entry!

Durian is a FAMOUS ASIAN STINKY FRUIT that I would admit with you here, not everyone would like its taste and smell 😆😆 As mentioned, the smell of it is not the best one you could among all fruits. Though, my family including myself love this kind of fruit! Especially when it's not so ripe.

Besides eating durian by itself, Thai people usually make something out of it like, durian candy, durian chips, freeze dried durian, etc.

This DURIAN STICKY RICE is a Thai-Chinese (I suppose it's not exactly Thai) sweet dish that includes just a few ingredients and really easy to make.

Today we're preparing at my aunt's baking station 🤣🤣

Ingredients :

  • Durian
  • Coconutty sticky rice (in Thai called ' Khao Niao Moon', can be found at any local market in Thailand),
  • Palm sugar or coconut sugar
  • Coconut milk
  • Salt

To cook :

  • Put palm sugar and coconut milk into the pot and put a stove on medium heat.
  • Stir it around until the palm sugar melted all completely. - coconut milk will turn into brown-ish
  • Pour in durian (In this case, we use 1000 year durian that's been frozen in our house freezer for..ever LOLOL)
  • Cut durian into smaller pieces
  • Add a bit of salt
  • Served on coconutty sticky rice (Khao Niao Moon)

"Hmm.. Smell hella gooooood LOL"

Bammm!

  • Durian gives unique taste and smell. Soft and creamy texture.
  • Coconut milk is always good in dessert and who doesn't like coconut milk? 😁😁 I know, there're some out there LOL
  • Sweeten it with palm sugar to make it even sweeter. The palm sugar smells soooo good and its sweetness is soft and gentle in its own way. *I sometimes eat it by itself.
  • The sticky rice give another different texture to the dish

All these main ingredients together, if you don't mind eating durian, it's such a creamilicious Thai dessert I'd love you to try. Either make it easily yourself at home or I make one for you..

..
..
..

Psych!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Be warned, this is totally not the healthiest dish you would come across. So, if you find it yummy and delicious, eat reasonable amount of it, please ❤ ❤

Hope you like !

FOLLOW @WAYBEYONDPADTHAI
CHECK OUT MY DTUBE CHANNEL FOR MORE FUN VIDS. REALLY, CHECK IT OUT !!

Stay healthy. Eat good food. xoxo.

STEEMIT B.png

Sort:  

Although my upvote is small I am happy to share it with you.

Although my upvote is small I am happy to share it with you.

Although my upvote is small I am happy to share it with you.

Although my upvote is small I am happy to share it with you.

Although my upvote is small I am happy to share it with you.

I like durian in cakes, ice-cream but can you believe I have never had it with sticky rice? Next trip, hehe. Nice pictures!

I'm kinda not much into durian ice cream and cake haha. In Thailand, we're crazy about it but not as much as they are in Malaysia. I went to Penang last year, god damn they're durian monsterrrrr 55555

Looks great! I loved your entire post! Good luck in the contest this week!

Thank you so much! The same to you <3

Thanks for this exotic dessert entry! It is like you took mango sticky rice to a whole new level! Very nice. I can imagine that your kitchen was filled with the aroma of durian! I think the Cook with Us team will take you up on your offer, when you said "or I make one for you.."! We are going to Bangkok!

Then I put on... psych! hahaha. jk - YES! definitely, we could all cook and I could also cook this durian sticky rice, of course! Would be so fun cooking or even eating with the real chefs like 3 of you! <3

Very interesting dessert @waybeyondpadthai, you've prickled my curiosity with the Durian!

Yay yay! Glad you came across my post ;) I love your cooking. Just follow your post to the other cooking contest.. the sandwich one and I will also be doing that, I hope.

Durian is soft, smooth, creamy and some people ew it. Hahaa:D

You should really enter the sandwich contest, it's great fun!

Will do. Glad I found it. Thanks @lizelle

That last photo of you is priceless! People are either obsessed with or repulsed by durian. There is no middle ground when it comes to opinions about durian! Your photos show just how much you love this fruit. I prefer to eat it as an ice-cream flavor rather than the actual fruit. If I do eat the fruit I like it a bit unripe with the texture similar to an avocado. My wife got mad at me when I said that durian tastes like a really sweet onion! She says now that's all she tastes when eating durian! haha! sorry. It is such a great idea to serve durian this way with the sticky rice. I will try that way next time. Thanks for your entry! and good luck!

Hahaaa. I laughed while reading the comment🤣🤣 'Sweet onion' never heard of it that way but once you said it, it kinda makes sense hahaha. Tho, I love it a bit unripe too when eating as actual fruit. Yes, fingers crossed for the entry. Thanks for the comment!
Cheers <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68