Cook With Us #14 ~ Anything wrapped ~ Sushi Burrito

in #cookwithus6 years ago

This week's theme of the cooking competition @cookwithus was perfectly on time. Finally I had a good reason to prepare a dish I planned to make weeks ago ... I had all the essentia ingrediants at home already. I just needed to complement with the fresh vegetables and was ready to start.

Thanks the Cook with Us team - @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart for the wonderful opportunity.

I really love sushi but since I am following a vegan diet there are not so many options in the most sushi restaurants around here. There is not much more available than the common radish, cucumber or pumpkin maki sushi and that's it. I have so many ideas for different vegan sushi but this time it had to be bigger. What am I saying - it had to be huge!

I wanted to make a sushi burrito.

Ingredients:

  • nori leaves 
  • sushi rice
  • rice vinegar
  • oyster or kings oyster mushrooms
  • different fresh vegetables, I used white asparagus (very small and thin that hasn't to get peeled), carrots, a beetroot, radishes, an avocado and a cucumber 
  • a papaya
  • vegan mayonnaise 
  • wasabi paste
  • matcha tea powder
  • soy sauce
  • salt and sugar

Preparation:

First I prepared the sushi rice. I cooked 250g of sushi rice (well rinsed) in 500ml water. Start with cold water, bring to boil and let it simmer on low heat until all the water has been absorbed. I let it rest for 10 Minutes. Inbetween I mixed 4 tbsp of rice vinegar, 2 tsp. sugar and 1tsp salt. I filled the rice in a bowl and carefully fold in the rice vinegar mixture and let the rice cool down completely. Make sure not to mash the rice grains.

Instead of the fish I decided to fill the burrito with oyster mushrooms. I frued them in a pan and seasoned with sea salt and powdered wakame seaweed (I pulverized two hand full of it in my blender and use it everytime I want to add a fishy or seawater taste to any dish).

I prepared all the vegetables and the papaya I planned to fill into my sushi burrito. 

For a wasabi mayonnaise I mixed three tablespoons of vegan mayonnaise, some wasabi paste and some matcha tea powder.

Now everything was ready for the rolling ... have a small bowl of cold water at hand.

I placed one nori leave on a the bamboo mat and spread some rice on ot. Make sure to moisturize your hands so they won't stick. I placed another nori leave  next to the first and "glued" it with water on the first one.

I spread some wasabi mayonnaise on the rice and springled some soy sauce on it.

Then I placed the vegetables, the mushrooms and the papaya on the rice and rolled it up.

It is important to roll slowly, pressing gently along the whole roll as you go.

I moistured the empty nori leave end to seal it closed.

I wrapped the ready sushi burrito in a sandwich paper and closed it with washi tape. And I was done.

For the low carb hubby I replaced the sushi rice with the cauliflower rice. To make it sticky I added some chia seeds additional to the rice vinegar mixture.

 And because he avoids oil to I fried some tofu (instead of the fried mushrooms) in a non stick pan and seasoned it with no-fish-sauce for some taste.

The low carb, cauliflower rice version for the hubby:

One bite deliciousness ...

Sort:  

Send me some of these bad boys @pusteblume

Sure! Check your mailbox later today ... 😜

Love this sushi burrito! So many great flavors and textures inside to keep it tasty and interesting. Very nice plating too! I was trying to figure out how much larger it is than a maki roll? Thanks for your entry!

And I thank you for this opportunity! One nori sheet had the length of around 19cm (7.5inches) and that was the length of the burrito roll before I cut it into halves. And they were around 5cm (2inches) in diameter.

Great tutorial, I love making sushi rolls and will incorporate some of your style next time. Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome! Thank you for your compliment and your support! 😊

This looks so amazing. You are so wonderful making food

Thank you! I am so happy that you seem to like it! 😊

Wow! These are packed with delicious stuffing! I've never been much on sushi (never liked fish even when I ate animal products), but I would love to try your version. I bet those mushrooms taste great in it!

Yes, I like the texture of the oyster or kings oyster mushrooms a lot and we often use them in several dishes or as a topping on salads. They worked very well in this dish too. Thank you for your support my friend! 😘

Das sieht verdammt lecker aus, ich habe schon lange Nori Blätter zuhause, muss ich unbedingt probieren, danke!

Ja! Mach das! Bei mir war es das Gleiche! Der contest war jetzt die passende Gelegenheit, das endlich mal zu probieren. Ich denke, ich mach jetzt auch mal "richtige" Sushi - also so kleine, normale Größen ... Da immer so Sushi Kochkurse angeboten werden, nahm ich an, dass wäre so furchtbar kompliziert. Geht aber! Nur Mut! ✊🏻

Delicious sushi! No, I mean burrito :)! The photo alone looks appetizing but reading the rest of your post made it even more delicious and interesting. I like the flavors and I truly enjoyed the ingredients you used! Love wakame, nori, oyster mushrooms, wasabi, matcha ...

Yummy wrapped entry @pusteblume! Thanks so much for your entry! Looking forward to more of your wonderful creations!

😊 This is so nice of you to say! I am happy that you like it. It was a lot of fun rolling 😉 it! I am already curious what the new theme would be ... or is it out yet??! 😃

It's not out yet. We're kinda running late on that but will have it out soon. Watch for it!

Waiting patiently ... 🙃

What a great idea. I love all the ingredients you added and the presentation is lovely!

Thank you so much! 😘

These look awesome! 😋

☺️ thank you!

Really nice post. I really like the idea of adding some matcha to the wasabi. Now, if I could sink my teeth into one of these sushi burritos!

Hehe! I bet ... 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39