Cook With Us #34: Secret Santa {Mushroom & Arugula Lasagna w/ White Bean Sauce for @delishtreats}

in #cookwithus6 years ago

IMG_20181209_122146706_HDR.jpg

Hey everyone! I hope you all have enjoyed the weekend. I am up to my elbows in meal prep for the week, but I wouldn't have it any other way. It has been a cold and dreary weekend here in Atlanta, so might as well hang out inside and cook up some yummy food for the latest round of the @cookwithus contest hosted by the awesome crew of @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart. This week they decided to use my idea of a version of a Secret Santa for the theme! The hardest part was narrowing down which awesome Steemian to dedicate my dish to.

Though I wish I could cook for each and every one of my pals on here, this yummy plate of vegan lasagna is going to my girl @delishtreats! Besides just inspiring me every week with her top notch posts full of stunning photography, this gal knows how to spread some love with heartfelt thoughtful comments all around the blockchain. To top it all off, she is working on a huge donation to honor the spirit of giving this season. She might have also mentioned to me recently that the vegan scene is still quite small in her neck of the woods, so I wish I could give this to her in person!

IMG_20181209_082018945.jpg

I have had a box of lentil-based lasagna noodles in the pantry just waiting to be used for quite a while now. For whatever reason I don't often make lasagna, though it is a fantastic holiday meal to share with family or friends! It can take a little bit to put together on the front end, but it makes for some banging leftovers and can feed a crowd.

IMG_20181209_101714064.jpg

Of course most people equate lasagna with lots of cheese and maybe even a meat sauce, but there are tons of ways to omit the animal products for a vegan version. I opted for a "white sauce" instead of the traditional red sauce as it lends itself to being cheesy without having to use actual cheese. Nutritional yeast once again makes a solid appearance in the sauce, but some white beans, cashews and sun-dried tomatoes made up the bulk of it to give the texture I was looking for. I haven't used rosemary in quite a while, so I thought it would be a fantastic earthy herb to add some great flavor with all of the other ingredients.

I probably could have used even more mushrooms in the filling, but luckily I had enough to make a solid showing in the veggie layers. My local farmers market was closed yesterday due to the nasty weather, so I had to forage at the grocery store this time around. The arugula from the store is nowhere near as good as the fresh bunches from the hydroponic stand, but for a filling in a baked lasagna it still did the trick. The tofu ricotta I used in a previous entry made another appearance to round out my lasagna stuffing!

IMG_20181209_121953975_HDR.jpg

For never having made this version before I was exceptionally happy with how it came out! I would serve this to any of my pals, virtual or in person. I was a little worried that the noodles wouldn't cook up well even though the box said there was no need to boil ahead of time. I could have perhaps used just a little more liquid in my sauce to keep the top layer a bit more moist, but my taste-tester @dksart wasn't complaining one bit. A little bit of fresh parsley from the garden topped it off for a delicious cozy bite on a cold winter day!

Mushroom & Arugula Lasagna w/ White Bean Sauce

Serves 8

For the sauce:

  • 2 cups cooked white beans
  • 1/2 cup soaked raw cashews
  • 1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes (soak those if needed, as well)
  • 2 cups filtered water
  • 2 tablespoons mild white miso
  • 1/2 lemon, juice
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 2 heaping tablespoons fresh rosemary
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

For the Lasagna:

  • 1 (8-ounce) box green lentil lasagne noodles
  • 1 (14-ounce) package firm organic tofu, drained
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning blend
  • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 4 large shallots, peeled & sliced
  • 5 gloves minced fresh garlic
  • 1 (8-ounce) package sliced mushrooms
  • 5 ounces fresh arugula, roughly chopped
  • chopped fresh herbs like parsley for serving

Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Place all of your sauce ingredients into a high speed blender. Blend on high until creamy. Taste and adjust to your liking. Set aside while you prepare the rest of your ingredients.

Mash the tofu in a large bowl with the seasoning, nutritional yeast, apple cider vinegar and sea salt to make the "ricotta". Set aside.

Heat a skillet over medium heat and add your shallots. Cook for about 7 minutes, or until the shallots have started so soften. Add the garlic and the mushrooms. Pour in a tablespoon or two of water as needed to prevent sticking. Cook for an additional 5 minutes, or until the mushrooms have just started to soften but haven't cooked all the way through. Remove from heat and stir in the arugula.

To assemble the lasagna spread a layer of the bean sauce into the bottom of a 9" x 12" casserole dish. Next place your first layer of the noodles. Top with half of the veggie mixture from the skillet and half of the tofu ricotta. Spread another layer of the sauce, then repeat with another layer of noodles, the remaining veggies and tofu, and another bit of sauce. Finish it off with the last of the noodles and spread the remaining sauce on top.

GifForKatie.gif

Cover the dish then place in the oven and cook for 45-50 minutes. The noodles should be cooked all the way through and your house should smell like heaven!

Scoop out a portion and serve with some fresh chopped herbs on top!

IMG_20181209_122211249_HDR.jpg

Thanks to @dksart for helping me with the gif of the lasagna layers! I suppose it's a fair trade for a plate of this for lunch. 😉

I hope you all spread lots of love and cheer this holiday season--through cooking or in any other way you find joy!

SB_new.png



Banners by @jaynie, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

This looks so tasty @plantstoplanks. As a bit of a cheese nut, I've always wondered how to recreate that ingredient in vegan recipes. I might well give this a try and see how it measures up to my usual cheese laden fat fest of a lasagna 😂

Thanks for sharing

It can definitely be challenging to get the full cheesy feel, but I was pretty darn happy how this came out. No melty cheese texture in this one, but definitely covered the creamy saucy end of the spectrum. My sister once made a 14-pound lasagna using about 5 or 6 different types of cheeses. 😳

YUM!!! Who wants meat when you have such an exquisite plate of flavour on the menu? Beautiful presentation and ingredients @plantstoplanks!

Thanks @buckaroo! This definitely wasn't missing anything! I'm going to have to make lasagna more regularly because I forgot how delicious it can be. :)

I just made some vegan lasagna myself with that green lentil pasta. I think it is an incredible product. You always have such wonderful ideas for sauces. Next time I will mix some white beans into my sauce. Thanks for sharing.

Great minds think alike! I don't know what took me so long to use the noodles. It really was not that difficult to put it all together. What did you end up putting in your version? I'm sure it was amazing, too!

I made a tomato based sauce and I added some eggplant and asparagus. Then I made a ricotta cheese layer blending cashews with tofu and nutritional yeast. I really like your white bean idea. I will have to borrow that one.

That sounds great, too!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks so much for that! I very much appreciate the share!

Yay!! Lasagna for me!! Just for me and I'm not sharing this time, lol! :D

Thank you Katie for such nice words about me. I am so glad to have met you here. You are one of the most inspiring vegans on the platform.

This lasagna looks scrumptious. I hope that the DHL guy will be knocking on my door soon as I'm getting hungry :D

Happy holidays my friend!! I would gladly ship the whole thing to you if I thought it would last the journey. If only we didn't live on different continents...😉

So glad you like my virtual gift. You inspire me, as well, so I'm thankful for someone like you to continue to learn from and take lots of positive energy from our friendship! One of these days I will cook for you in person. Just gotta work on that travel fund! 😊

Here I am, staking you from Instagram, lol. Because this lasagna looks sooooooooo good!!! It's been awhile since I made one and the photos did not turned out the best. Your photos looks great Katie. Well done!

Haha, stalk away! You know I do the same to you!

I held my breath while scooping out that slice hoping it would hold together well enough for a good shot! Whew, it was stressful. I was just happy to get enough natural light, too, since it was raining on and off all day. Glad it all came together! My Monday entry is simmering away on the stove top right now, so plenty more veggie goodness ahead...😉

I know you don't mind and I know how hard is to scoop slice of lasagna, lol. I have to try again doomsday. I can't wait to see your Monday goodies 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

It looks delicious, thanks for the step-by -step recipe, I have to try this :)

It really turned out well, so I hope you give it a try some time! Thanks for the comment! :)

👏👏👏 Awesome! You made a gif and it turned out so goooood. That lasagna looks amazing too. I love how the top layer almost looks like a flakey pie crust 😋. You can never go wrong with Italian night no matter what sauce you choose. Great entry Winner 😉

Gotta hand it to my other half for the gif help! I had seen @lizelle and a few other people use them, and it really does make sense for showing layers like this. I'm not very savvy when it comes to those things, but luckily it took him like 5 minutes to put it together for me. This one is definitely a keeper, but I will also be keeping that manicotti of yours in mind, too...

I absolutely love lasagna, I am sure Martina would be very happy to eat that slice of goodness! Great work @plantstoplanks :)

I'm pretty much happy with any kind of pasta on my plate. ;) Glad so many other people enjoy it, as well. Especially since now there are so many awesome varieties to keep it healthy and so much inspiration for different ways to put it together! I'm sure you can whip up a mean version from all your garden goodies!

Just a slice? No, no, I would eat it all :)

I love it and will for sure try out that white bean sauce one of these weeks. I also have been using lentil lasagna for a while and it's so convenient that it has been on my menu weekly. Great food photography also !

I seem to recall your lasagna looking mighty delicious, too. :) Perhaps it has been in the back of my mind this whole time urging me to finally make some of my own. I always think it's going to take so long and be a pain in the neck, but it really wasn't that difficult to put together. Especially with those awesome noodles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59319.27
ETH 2469.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45