Cook With Us #13-- Vegan BBQ Veggie Bowl with Kohlrabi, Beet & Fennel Slaw

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Hey there folks!  I have been watching the @cookwithus weekly contest since it first started a few months back, but this will be my first time joining in!  This week's theme is vegan, so of course I had to jump in for week 13.  Thanks to the team--@chefsteve, @pandamama, & @offoodandart --for helping continue to grow the cooking community here on Steemit.  Check out the current week's post if you want to join this week, too: https://steemit.com/cookwithus/@cookwithus/cook-with-us-13-post-your-entry-here

My entry for the contest uses the strawberry BBQ sauce I made from our fresh-picked strawberries that I shared with you all a week or so ago.  It was delicious enough that I had to make it again while the season is still going here in Georgia!  I upped the ante by not only cooking some jackfruit and beans in the sauce, but made it a full-on packed bowl of BBQ veggies this time around.

Since I have gotten back into going to the farmers market on Saturday mornings, there are times where I buy a few items without a clue what dish I am going to make them into.  This past week I couldn't pass up the kohlrabi again (might be my new favorite vegetable), and the zucchini, bell peppers, and fennel were calling to me, too.

When you get a fresh bulb of fennel like this don't forget about using the fronds!  They look a little like dill, but add a nice bit of extra anise flavor to the dish you are preparing.  Plus, you paid for the whole thing, why waste any of it? ;)

Once I got everything home, I decided how I was going to put it all together for a nice bowl of goodness this week.  It may seem a bit complicated, but it's really quite simple in the actual process (no fancy chef moves here).  Especially if you already have the sauce ready like I did.  I made the slaw first to let all of the ingredients meld flavors, then while it was getting happy in the refrigerator I worked on the cooked components.

I love a good mix of cooked and raw foods.  The cooked veggies soaked up all of the slightly sweet and spicy BBQ sauce, then the slaw cools everything down and adds a light, fresh crunch to break up the softer texture.  The black rice grounds the meal and adds some extra fiber and complex carbohydrates to balance out the nutritional profile and make it hearty enough to keep this plant-based athlete happy.  Here's my proof photo with my bowl of leftovers for lunch today...

Kohlrabi, Beet & Fennel Slaw

  • 3 small beets, trimmed & cleaned (no need to peel if organic)
  • 2 small kohlrabi bulbs, trimmed & peeled
  • 1 head of fennel, trimmed--leafy fronds chopped & set aside
  • 1 small lime, juice & zest
  • 2 tablespoons raspberry white balsamic vinegar (can sub another light vinegar or use more lime juice)
  • fresh mint

Shred your beets, kohlrabi, and fennel using a box grater or make it a whole lot easier by using the shredding feature of a food processor.  Place in a large bowl and mix with your lime and vinegar.  Put in the refrigerator to let sit for a few hours to let the citrus and vinegar really soak into the veggies and impart their flavor to the whole bowl.  Mix in the fennel fronds and a handful of chopped fresh mint just before serving.


BBQ Veggie Bowl

  • 1 1/2 cups BBQ sauce (1 batch of my strawberry sauce recipe)
  • 1 small onion, peeled & chopped
  • 2 small green bell peppers, seeded & chopped
  • 2 medium zucchini squash, chopped
  • 1 (20-ounce) can young jackfruit, rinsed & chopped
  • 1 cup cooked beans like cannelini, chickpeas or black beans
  • 1 cup rice, quinoa, or other favorite grain (I used black rice this time around)
  • leafy greens to serve (yes, I know I put everything over greens, haha!)
  • slaw (from above)

Cook your grain of choice according to package directions.  Set aside once done.  While your grains are cooking, prepare your vegetables.

Warm up a large skillet on the stove top over medium heat.  Add in your chopped onion and peppers.  Cook for about 7-8 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the veggies start to soften.  Next mix in your zucchini and continue cooking for another 10 minutes.  Add a bit of water as needed to keep the vegetables from sticking.

Once the zucchini is almost cooked through, add your chopped jackfruit, beans and BBQ sauce.  Reduce heat to low and simmer for 10 minutes, or until all of the vegetables are done to your liking and the sauce has started to thicken.  Taste and adjust seasonings, adding a bit extra heat or a pinch of salt as needed.

Remove the vegetables from heat and assemble your bowls.  Place a handful of leafy greens first, then top with a scoop or two each of the rice, slaw, and veggies depending upon how big your appetite is!

The nice thing about having your components separate is that you can adjust the proportions of each depending upon your favorite or how hearty of a serving you want. ;)  The slaw would make a great dish to bring to a summer party, as a topper for your favorite veggie burger or in some tacos like @carolynstahl's yummy entry to this week's contest!  I definitely would not mind a piece of @birdsinparadise's cake to finish out my meal, either.

I think I covered all the bases of the contest, and made a few of you hungry in the process!  If you haven't checked out the awesome vegan foodies of Steemit before, now is a great chance to see all of the delicious plant-based dishes we whip up.  Even if you aren't vegan yourself, everyone can benefit from adding some extra green things to your plate. ;)


Sort:  

Is blackstrap molasses sold at most grocery stores? Just looking at your strawberry sauce.

I think it should be widely available, but you can sub regular molasses if you need to. It just has a higher iron content since it is boiled down for longer when being made--which may actually be a good thing to help us ladies boost our intake!

This is a great entry to the contest! Good luck!

Your bowl looks delicious. I love the colors and all the veggies that you used.

Yum!

Thanks so much! I think at least half of my farmers market haul went in to this one dish! 😋

Delicious! :)

Looks delicious !

Thanks for the tip on @cookwithus, I'm also following them now and might enter one of their challenges one day myself.

Thanks! You should definitely enter, too! I'm sure you would bring something delicious to the table. :)

The colour is amazing and strawberry bbq sauce sounds incredible!

Thank you so much! I was really happy how that sauce turned out, so I'm trying to find lots of ways to enjoy it. 😀

Hey! It was my first time to enter this contest as well! Your entry is great! I bet it was yummy as all the things you create. You are an amazing cook! Tip!

Always fun to see the vegans representing in all the cooking contests! Thank you for the wonderful compliment! 🤗

I am also happy that I found such a huge and still growing vegan community here!

I just brought some kohlrabi this week and its something I never used before can't wait to try it out

Ooh, definitely share what you make with it! I got some more this week and did a quick pickle of kohlrabi and radishes. :)

Thank you for joining our wonderful community @planstoplanks - your entry looks amazing and we are proud to have you on board

It is a wonderful community! I appreciate all the hard work you all put into running such a contest!

Welcome to Cook with Us @plantstoplanks, yay! Glad you are now part of the CwU fun. Lots of amazing people here.

That strawberry sauce ... wow! It packs some really good flavors! Thanks for sharing it. The whole bowl looks so delicious with all sorts of beautiful veggies plus grains. And there's a slaw that makes it refreshing!

Thanks for the tips you've shared. Hope you learn new tips from the community in the same way that we've learned from you.

Thank you so much for the great contest! I'm sure I will find many new wonderful culinary inspirations and foodie friends!

I'm sure you will. They (we) will also learn a lot from you so thank you!

Hi @plantstoplanks! Thank you for entering the contest this week! We are so happy to welcome you! We also appreciate that you have been watching since we began. Just so you know you can always enter a vegan dish every week if you are interested in joining. We have a few vegans who regularly enter and we love to read their content. We make the themes open to every kind of cooking and eating style!

Your dish is amazing and jammed packed full of flavor! I love your slaw with kohlrabi, beets and fennel. Three of my favorite veggies. Also like your tip to use the fronds. I just did that too for a fennel slaw recently. Jackfruit has such an amazing texture too. It is perfect with your veggies and bbq sauce. That strawberry bbq sauce sounds so good! What a satisfying meal with all these veggies and beans and the slaw and bbq sauce! So well done. Thank you for sharing your dish with us!

Thanks for your kind review! I will definitely be back to join again, and I really don't know why it took me so long to jump in on the fun! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99