Cook with Us Week #13 | Avocado Key Lime Pie with Sugared Lime Slices

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6353.JPG

Hello my friends! This is my first entry into the Cook With Us Contest!

I have been watching this great contest for a few weeks and finally decided I would jump in. I have seen such beautiful entries.

I first want to thank @offoodandart, @pandamama and @chefsteve for hosting this contest. Week #13 and already several great entries! Good luck to all!

This week I am sharing my Avocado Key Lime Pie with Sugared Lime Slices. I hope you’ll enjoy.

Since we live in a tropical area, fruit is everywhere and with weather being warm most of the year pies which are light on the palate and chilled are a godsend. Typical Key Lime Pies can be so yummy but often packed with processed sugars. This pie presents an alternative I think you will enjoy!

So come along, Let’s make a Pie!


An Avocado Key Lime Pie with Sugared Lime Slices!!

You will need
Crust

  • 1 ½ cup Almonds
  • 3/4 cup Medjool dates (pitted)
  • 3/4 cup organic unsweetened Coconut

Avocado Lime Filling

  • 4 Tablespoons fresh squeezed lime juice
  • 5 Avocados
  • 5 tablespoons Maple Syrup (to taste)
  • Pinch of Sea Salt
  • Zest of one lime
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Sugared Lemons

  • 1 cup Coconut Sugar
  • 1 ½ cup filtered water
  • 2 limes

Preparation

Crust

  • Place Almonds in food processor. Pulse until finely chopped.

    IMG_6192.JPG

  • Add remaining crust ingredients and continue to process until fully combined. Press firmly into Springform pan. Set Aside.

IMG_6194.JPG

  • Zest those limes! What a beautiful color, right?
    IMG_6211.JPG

Avocado Lime Filling

  • Place all ingredients for filling into blender. Process until very smooth. We want this to be light and fluffy!! Taste it if you want, may want to add more lime juice or maple syrup, its up to you! Pour over crust

IMG_6223.JPG

  • Place in freezer for 2 hours or overnight. If you want a frozen dessert, it is great!

Now for the sugared limes! This is great, they’re tart and sweet! You’ll love them!

  • Slice the limes 1/8” thick. Place the sugar and water on the stove. Stir over heat until sugar is dissolved. Add the limes and simmer for 15 minutes.

    IMG_6298.JPG

  • Remove lime slices and place on parchment paper. You can either let them dry (they will be sticky) or I like to place them on my dehydrator for 4 hours. This takes a bit of the moisture out, makes them a bit like dried fruits! Dip them in sugar if you wish…or not! They really don’t need it!

Let’s put this all together!

IMG_6373.JPG

Slice it up and enjoy!!

IMG_6386.JPG

I hope you will enjoy this recipe. We did!

It is so light and creamy AND good for you! Avocados are loaded with fiber, high in potassium and heart healthy fats! Please do try! It feels much better eating desserts when you know it’s a healthy dessert!

IMG_6381.JPG

And as always, blessings to you all!

IMG_0316.JPG

Sort:  

A-mazing! Wow! You are a wonder in the kitchen these days. This I cannot wait to try 😋💚💚💚

It will be there before you know it! :)ox

Welcome @birdsinparadise! We are so happy that you have joined us! What a great twist on a traditional key lime pie! I love the base with Almonds, dates and coconuts. And avocados are so mild in taste that they work perfectly here and the dish still reminds you of the original. Thank you so much for sharing this dish with us!

You are too kind! Thanks for the welcome and kind compliments. Yes, the lime was just enough and of course the avocado made everything so light and creamy! I appreciate the opportunity to learn and share with this talented community. Should be fun!

Key lime pie was one of my faves. This is such a good idea with the avocado and the color is just right. You are popping out wonderful deserts like crazy!
I need to try this someday. I could probably eat a whole pie haha.

Thank you! The lime was so nice and the pie so light and creamy! You'll have to try it. I know..I'm making far too many desserts but I am stocking up to take to my daughters. I'll put them in the freezer in my travel van and hit the road! They'll be thrilled! I love surprising them!

Never too many to keep stocked up. Have a good trip!

That colour is gorgeous! Genius using avocado to hold it all together. Great first entry! Best of luck!

Thank you so much, Green is good right? It was light and the texture was indeed creamy...love those avocados...they're so versitile...Best of luck to you as well!

My mouth is literally watering. Hmmm! I never do stuff like this because nobody would eat it with me ... ☹️ The part of my family living close is not so much into cake and stuff but this one looks sooo good! Would you please send me a piece? 😃

Oh that is so horrible...that is why I end up taking goodies to my neighbors....they love it and get to do what I like....make tasty creations! I wish the mail service was speedy enough, I would certainly share!

Aww! Thank you! That's so sweet of you to say! 😋

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

I'm going to incorporate some of these ingredients into my yogurt. Key Lime yorgurt.

That would be an amazing idea...perhaps with a little avocado as well!:)

Another delicious treat for Mr. Bird , lol..............great recipe and it looks amazing too 🌸💖🌸

lol of course, he loves it although I'm taking these goodies to my girls...hopefully we will have some by the time we arrive! Thank you for your sweet compliments, I do appreciate them!

Too Cool! I've never thought of making key lime anything with avocado but it makes perfect sense! I'm going to have to try this. Thank you!

Thanks so much! I appreciate your kind words.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62