A Strawberry-Blackberry Dessert Evening

in #cookwithus6 years ago

strawberry and blackberry-4.jpg

The gourmet club just had a fun progressive dinner last night. Three houses within 5 miles of each other served as the venues for the evening. We started with a beautiful spread of appetizers at house #1, then headed to house #2 for the main dish and sides. So delicious! For dessert, everyone went to my place, house #3.

I'm sharing with you now the dessert spread. I decided to focus on strawberries and blackberries. First is a pavlova with freshly-whipped cream, topped with sweet strawberries and blackberries.

strawberry and blackberry-2.jpg

This was light and delicious.

I also served strawberry panna cotta in small verrines. A layer of blackberry gelée topped the panna cotta and for crunch, I added some rice crispies cracker crumbs. It gave the panna cotta the slightest hint of salt that contrasted nicely with the sweet and tart strawberry-blackberry dessert combination.

strawberry and blackberry-5.jpg

strawberry and blackberry-6.jpg

The pavlova and the panna cotta

strawberry and blackberry-3.jpg

Then I had a thought! I had made a very nice sweet-tart and flavorful balsamic syrup last week and wanted to use it. Also, I still had a lot of blackberries left. So I decided to add ice cream to the spread.

strawberry and blackberry-7.jpg

I made small quenelles of blackberry ice cream filled with a bit of the balsamic syrup.

strawberry and blackberry-8.jpg

Here's a cross-section of the ice cream showing the balsamic syrup filling

strawberry and blackberry-11.jpg

And here they are altogether

strawberry and blackberry-9.jpg

But wait, there's more. I had an extra pavlova so I dressed it up with lemon curd and almond slivers.

strawberry and blackberry-10.jpg

Bon appetit!

Sort:  

oh my, my....I wish I could have been a part of this evening :) Fabulous desserts. I bet your friends were so pleased. Exquisite presentation @offoodandart!

Thank you so much! We all had a fun time and ate more than we should have =D!

This dessert look so delicious. Panna cotta is so tasty

Thank you! Love them too @denissemata! Also love that they're easy to make.

Oh my dear god @offoodandart, I'm here sitting on the sofa thinking that maybe I should go eat something. But then I decide to open the feed just to take a look - this was the first post.

And now I just have the biggest desire ever.

Thanks for the nice words! Hope you found something nice to satisfy your hunger @mrprofessor!

yuuummm! looking good and professional as always <3

btw i lost my invitation, sorry i couldnt make it ;-) haha

hope you have been well <3 <3

We owe you some view tokens @thekitchenfairy - Please can you open a view.ly wallet and let me know so that I can transfer the tokens to you. I could also use an ethereum wallet

Next time you lose your invitation, tell them you always have a VIP pass from me!

Yes, doing well but super busy. Haven't posted in a long time. Glad I finally did.

Hope you're doing well too.

I love pavlova @offoodandart and yours looks quite unbelievable - would love to have a taste of one of your delectable desserts. Your photographs - as usual - are magnificent

I'm sure we'll meet sometime. We can have a fun time over food and drinks! Yeah!

Just like @edenmichelle I can truly say that Pavlova is my favourite dessert - I think of all time. The entire post is so "mouth-watering" and like @mrprofessor - I too, have such a desire - and need to eat some Pavlova. You are a true professional and all your recipes belong in a recipe book to be cherished as classics

Pavlova over cheesecake? Both good! =D

Thanks for the nice words! With all the great contestants we have at Cook with Us, it's so easy to be inspired.

I guess I look at cheesecake as something to enjoy at any time not necessarily for dessert - with tea or coffee whereas Pavlova is the best dessert on the universe

MMMMMM... MMMMMMM.... MMMMMM!!!

It's so gorgeous to look at, I would think thrice to taste it! Looks so yummy, tita! The technology that would allow us to taste photos couldn't get here quicker!

Thank you @jedau! Now wouldn't it be great to have that kind of technology?!?

Hope things are going well on your end. Leaving for our trip in about a month. Woohoo!

Things have bee quite busy her, tita. That's why I haven't been on Steemit that much. Hopefully the stars align and we could at least get a bit to eat while you're here!

Same here. It's been busy so haven't really posted in a while until now.

Did you see that we now have @curie support? That's a big relief and a great treat for the Cook with Us community. It enables us to continue with this contest. Whew!

See you around @jedau!

That's awesome to hear, tita! I've lost that privilege more than a year ago, but I'm glad CwU has it. That's huge! Apart from voting for you qurator entry, I haven't really been able to keep tabs. Has the result for that come out yet?

Yeah, excited about @curie’s sponsorship.

Thanks for your support! I think the results for the qurator contest will go out tomorrow.

How talented you are @offoodandart, it looks absolutely delicious x

Thanks so much @lesbento! Got lucky the pavlova turned out. =D

Hope all's well with the new job and the new life!

Oh wow, had I been invited, I would have headed straight for the house with the dessert table and polished it all off, looks absolutely delicious!

You didn't get your invitation? Hmmmm ... I need to check on that.

Thanks so much @lizelle!

Congratulations @offoodandart!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Like what we do? Consider voting for us as a steemit witness.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45