Cookwithus Week #8-Hostess Chocolate Cupcakes

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

When I was a child I would occasionally read Archie comics and there would be advertisements for Hostess chocolate cupcakes. When I saw a picture of them I was intrigued and I had to taste one. One bite of of the cupcake and I was hooked. The soft, fluffy cake with the artificial creme filling and the slightly firm chocolate icing on top with the white swirls was a winner. I don't eat them as much anymore because I know they are not healthy and anything with a "cream" filling that is shelf stable for over a year cannot be made with fresh ingredients. For this week's @cookwithus challenge for Guilty Pleasures, I had to replicate the chocolate cupcakes, but one that is better for me, yet will still satisfy me as my guilty pleasure. I decided to make a vegan version of this treat. The only step that has to be done in advance is to place the coconut milk in the refrigerator the night before you plan on making this recipe. Let's get started!

IMG_7539.jpg

This chocolate cake mix is very simple to make and you can substitute the water and non diary milk with coffee, orange juice or flavored tea.

IMG_7525.jpg

Chocolate Cupcake

yields 12

  • 192g All purpose flour
  • 195g light brown Sugar
  • 25g cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 82g canola oil or any neutral oil
  • 100g water
  • 136g Non dairy milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla Extract
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, dark brown sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt. In a small bowl, combine the water, non dairy milk, oil, vanilla extract and apple cider vinegar. Pour the wet ingredients into the flour mixture and whisk to combine. Line a cupcake pan with cupcake liners. Using a 2oz scooper, place one level scoop of batter into each cavity. I like to use an ice cream scooper to help me portion the batter because you will get the same size cupcakes. Bake the cupcakes in a preheated 350 degree F oven for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cupcakes come out dry. Let the cupcakes cool completely.

IMG_7529 (1).jpg

Take a sharp knife and carefully cut a circle in center of the cupcakes. Using the back of a wooden stirring spoon, gently press down the sides and center of the cake to make more room for the filling. Trim the cake from the cutouts, saving the tops of the cake.

Coconut Cream Filling

  • 114g coconut cream, refrigerated overnight.
  • 1 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract.

Place all of the ingredients into a medium sized bowl and whip until firm. I like the coconut cream lightly sweetened since the cake, glaze and icing are all sweet components. If you want the cream to be sweeter, you can add another tablespoon of sugar before whipping it. Using a small spoon, fill each cupcake with the coconut cream and cover with the reserved tops. Place in the refrigerator while you make the glaze.

IMG_7530.jpg

Chocolate Ganache

  • 100g 70% dark chocolate, chopped small
  • 100g coconut milk, heated

Place the chopped chocolate into a small bowl and pour the hot coconut milk over the chopped chocolate and let it sit for 1-2 minutes to soften the chocolate. Gently stir the chocolate and coconut milk until the mixture is smooth and homogenized.

IMG_7532.jpg

Take each cupcake and invert the top into the ganache, coating the entire surface. Set aside for the ganache to firm up. It's easier to coat the tops of the cupcakes when the cupcakes are cold and the ganache is warm. If the ganache starts to set before you finish coating all of the cupcakes, you can rewarm the ganache over low heat.

IMG_7536 (1).jpg

White Swirl

  • 30g confectioner's sugar
  • 6g coconut milk
  • generous pinch of salt

Whisk all the ingredients together in a small bowl. I like to make the icing slightly salty to help balance the overall sweetness of the cupcakes. Place the ingredients into a icing bag and pipe swirls across the center of the cupcakes. Instead of piping swirls, you can also drizzle the icing over the tops or skip this step. The cupcakes will still taste incredibly decadent without the swirls.

IMG_7541.jpg

Thank you @offoodandart, @pandamama, and @chefsteve for inspiring to make this incredible version of my guilty pleasure.

Sort:  

When I saw your Hostess link to the CwU #8 post, it felt comforting. Something familiar makes one feel at home and comfortable.

You definitely have the ability to re-create anything you set your mind on and it seems like you do it with ease. Lovely and tasty, so simple and yet so guilt-laden. I can tell it's delicious, moist and soft as well. Thanks for another beautiful entry!

Thank you for the compliment @offoodandart. I still enjoy the occasional original Hostess cupcake...hidden!

yummy, yummy anything chocolate is good. you must have put so much in to making this. DO you know that chocolate contains small amounts of essential nutrients such as protein, vitamin E, calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, iron, copper and antioxidants. While chocolate may include some healthy things, it is high in fat and added sugar, and because of this it is a 'discretionary' food. Great work!!!

No, I certainly did not know all the information you gave me about chocolate. Fascinating! Thanks so much @funsowilliams.

Will make chocolate so much easier to eat @loveself - I am a self-confessed chocoholic but now sadly limiting myself to chocolate one day a week. Thanks @funsowilliams for the information

I'm such a chocoholic and I love everything with coconut. These cupcakes are perfect for me. <3

I also think chocolate and coconut are a perfect pairing. Thanks @westendgirl2000.

This is definitely one guilty pleasure to try @loveself - thanks so much for sharing this great recipe

Thank you for creating this competition!

Ahh these look so moist and indulgent! I'm amazed at how fluffy and stable the coconut cream filling looks! Look forward to trying this out on my vegan friends.

The first time I ever made coconut cream, I was surprised that it was so stable. Now, it's my favorite. Thank you @whattheduck.

I imagine the applications are endless, vegan twinkies are on the horizon with that filling! Congrats again on your win, they look amazing!

Beautiful! I love to look at your creations! I am sure they are also quite delicious:)

You are too kind! Your posts are always an inspiration and I can't wait to find out more about your garden!

Thank you so much!

Congratulations on your win in @stremitsandwichcontest! Your sandwich was wonderful!

As to my garden - I am waiting for May 15th to plant tomatoes, beans, peppers, cucumbers and some more.

As of now radishes are out of the ground. The same applies to spinach, some onions, turnip and herbs. It looks like I will have interesting combination of herbs! I am excited for that:)

Sounds like your garden is coming along! Have you always been into gardening?

It is! Good energy is in the air. Today I am going to plant more flowers.

My family, from generations, had fields, gardens and orchards. We have been close to nature and producing food for many years. As for me personally I have not had a chance to garden for about 17 years. Now I am rediscovering the beauty of it. Playing with soil, sowing, watching my offsprings grow brings me joy. Additionally I have organic produce at the reach of my hand - literally:)

Thank you for your comment @loveself!

That is incredible that you can grow your own produce. It will always be fresh and I can't wait to see what you will be creating with all of your gorgeous bounty.

Ooh! Now this is my kinda thing! Great job girl!

Thank you @alovelymess. Your pictures of Northern Idaho remind me of Vancouver. Lovely photos!

Definitely a recipe I HAVE to bake!

I hope you get a chance to whip up a batch. Thanks @amandagomez.

Looks so sooo good, moist and chocolaty! A dream of every chocolate lover! Love the swirl you did on top :)

It sure did hit the spot for a guilty pleasure. Thank you @nina.ser!

Love your cupcakes @loveself - wish I could be with you to enjoy these

You are most welcome to stop by anytime. I'll make sure I have saved for you. Thank you @pandamama.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48