Cook With Us Week #16- Chicago Style Chicken Basil Pizza

in #cookwithus6 years ago

When I saw this week's theme for pizza @cookwithus, I was super excited because who does not like pizza? I'm a fan of all types of pizza and I've had my fair share of eating good and bad pizzas. If I had to pick one pizza that was on the top of my best pie list, I would have to say Zachary's Pizza in Berkeley. Zachary's is known for Chicago style pizza with a California twist. It's a double crusted pizza stuffed with your favorite toppings. When I lived in the Bay area, my friend and I would frequently make a stop there to share their chicken pie. It's two thin pizza crusts sandwiching chunks of chicken and topped with a chunky tomato sauce. It is still one of my favorite so for the pizza challenge I thought I would try to recreate Zachary's master piece.

IMG_9273 (1).jpg

I've never made a Chicago style pizza so I had to look on the internet. After some research I decided to make this crust. While the dough was rising I made a simple tomato sauce and grilled some chicken breast. If you have leftover roast chicken, here would be a great place to use it.

IMG_9272.jpg

Ingredients

for 9" pie

  • Your favorite tomato sauce
  • 2 chicken breast, grilled
  • 8 oz Mozzarella cheese or more to taste
  • handful of basil

I did not have a deep dish pan so I used a cast iron pan. I greased the pan with some olive oil and sprinkled some semolina flour on the bottom of the pan so the dough would not stick and this adds a bit of crunch. Divide the dough in half and roll it out to 1/8" thickness. Line the bottom and sides of the cast iron pan with the dough. I tossed in the chicken, torn basil leaves and shredded cheese.

IMG_9269.jpg

Roll out the second piece of dough and place over the top of the filling. Egg wash the sides of the pizza dough and firmly press the top dough with the bottom to seal the edges. Trim away the excess dough.

IMG_9270.jpg

Make sure you cut a few slits into the top dough so the air can escape. Bake the pie in a 400 degree F oven for about 45-55 minutes or until the crust is golden brown. Once the pizza is done, remove from the oven and cover the top crust with the warm tomato sauce. I like to put the tomato sauce on after the pie is baked to prevent the top crust from being soggy and tasting raw.

IMG_9271.jpg

I had some leftover pesto sauce in the fridge so I drizzled some over the tomato sauce. Thank you @cookwithus for another fun theme and Mangiamo!

IMG_9267.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-13T19:57:00
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 250.85/200.00
Total Photos: 40
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.84 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Damn, looks really good. Great and nicely done

Thanks so much! Did you enjoy watching the final World Cup match? Were you rooting for France or Croatia?

You are welcome. Yeah it was a great match from a neutrals perspective. I was rooting for the underdog-Croatia, and we all know how that ended, unfortunately. I hope you enjoyed it too :)

Oh my, this looks amazing! You have really hit a home run with this one @loveself...definitely a mouthwatering beauty!

It's been so long since I've had a double crust pizza, but one sure hit the spot! Thank you @birdsinparadise.

@loveself - once again an amazing recipe from you. Wow, I wish I was there to get a real taste of this double-crusted pizza

Thank you @pandamama. I'm happy to share!

This pizza looks absolutely amazing with the crispy double crust and the chicken and cheese filling. I love how the tomatoes are spread on top after it is baked to make sure the crust doesn't get soggy.

Nothing worst than eating a soggy pie that tastes doughy and raw. Thank you @chefsteve.

I'm now hungry after reading your post and viewing the photos. That's a nice thick pie loaded with delicious ingredients ... inside and on top.

I keep going back to photo #3 and the last one. Yes, back and forth between the two. But now I've come to accept that looking at those photos will not assuage my hunger and craving. I will need to make my own ...

Thanks for another delicious entry @loveself!

You are too funny. If you ever get a chance to go to Berkeley, you have to stop in for a Zachary's pie. Thank you @offoodandart.

Looks delicious! When are you going to open up a restaurant?? ;)

Thank you for the compliment @manup. How is your work? I hope you have more free time to do what you enjoy most.

All is well. I'm definitely taking advantage of my spare time. Thanks for asking!

Great pizza, @loveself! I love the addition of pesto, it's a great pizza topping. One of my favorite pizza's is much of the same ingredients but not stuffed. I bet it really works this way, your crust looks wonderfully crispy.

I just love the combination of pesto and tomato sauce. It was my first time making that style of crust and it came out quite good. I don't really have anything to compare it to, haha. Thanks so much @slowcookingchef.

Your pizza pie looks delicious @loveself!

Thank you @lizelle. I'm sure my pie will definitely cause bloating unlike your healthy but super delicious looking cauliflower pizza. I love cauliflower pizza but unfortunately I have not mastered the technique in making them and they always come out super soggy for me.

Chicago style pizza is my thing! I simply love it!
At the same time I never made it at home. I make regular thin crust and recently pesto has been my substitute for tomato sauce. Simply amazing!
I love your recipe @loveself!

Are you making pesto from the basil grown in your garden? It must be so fragrant. It was also my first time and the recipe came out great. Thank you for your kind words @sweetsandbeyond.

Yes. I have planted a few different kinds of basil and I have been using them all. My neighbor has the mammoth basil and I have tried hers as well. All of the basil bushes I have are amazingly aromatic. I enjoy them every day!

I think basil is one of my favorite herbs. It's so versatile and adds a pop of freshness to any dish. Enjoy your basil plant!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75