Cook With Us Week#13-Vegan Cracker Salad

in #cookwithus6 years ago

IMG_8375.jpg

I'm not vegan, but I do enjoy eating vegan food. I like to head to a farmer's market to see what produce is available and usually something will strike my interest and this time is no exception. I saw some incredible greens and I thought they would be perfect for this week's vegan challenge. I knew I wanted to make a salad, but I also wanted a twist, so I thought why not make a salad which you can eat like a pizza. The base would be a thin, crisp cracker and there would be mounds of vegan cheese, vegetables and salad greens that were mild, bitter and peppery. I chose to make a Sardinian cracker called carta di musica. I substituted half of the all purpose flour called for in the recipe with rye flour and buckwheat flour for a more flavorful cracker.

IMG_8379.jpg

You can easily mix the dough together by hand. You want to roll dough super thin. If the dough rips, you can pinch it together. I found it easier to roll and stretch the dough without flouring the surface.

IMG_8380 (1).jpg

These crackers bake up really fast and there will be some darker spots in areas where the dough was rolled thinner which is the beauty of these rustic crackers.

IMG_8381.jpg

For the toppings, I simply roasted a butternut squash with some olive oil, salt and pepper until the squash was tender. I also made a soft vegan cheese that was similar in texture to ricotta cheese.

IMG_8384 (1).jpg

Vegan Cheese

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews, soaked overnight
  • 1/2 cup raw slivered almonds, soaked overnight
  • 1/4 block of firm tofu, pat dry
  • 2 tsp nutritional yeast
  • truffle mushroom powder to taste (optional)
  • onion salt to taste
  • freshly ground pepper to taste
  • 2 tsp finely chopped fresh herbs

Drain the soaked nuts and place into a food processing bowl and process until a paste forms. Add in the tofu and blend until smooth. Add in the chopped herbs. I used a blend of oregano, thyme, and rosemary from my herb garden. Season with onion salt, pepper and truffle mushroom powder to taste. I found this mushroom powder at an Italian grocery store and when you sprinkle it into the cheese mixture, you can smell the woody scent of the truffles. The earthy flavors really come through and adds an extra depth to this vegan cheese. If you can't find the truffle powder you can omit it or add some truffle oil to taste.

IMG_8372.jpg

For the salad mix. I purchased some buckwheat greens, lamb quarters, radish sprouts, micro swiss chard, and some micro mescaline greens. To assemble the cracker. I scooped some butternut squash flesh and randomly placed them on the crackers with dollops of the vegan cheese. Then I topped the cracker with salad greens and added some pieces of avocado and teardrop peppers. The teardrop peppers have a sweet pickled taste with a touch of heat, similar to peppadews. I finished this dish with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar reduction, olive oil and a generous sprinkle of Maldon sea salt. To make balsamic reduction, I poured 1/3c of balsamic vinegar and over low heat reduced it to a syrup consistency.

IMG_8387 (1).jpg

There are so many different flavors and textures going on in this salad. It's creamy, earthy, sweet, sour, peppery and crunchy. Every bite is different and the best part, you don't have to eat this salad with a fork. Happy Eating!

Sort:  

This dish is really wonderful!
@loveself is a restaurant chef?

I'm not a restaurant chef but thank you for the compliment @ytrphoto.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-01T12:09:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 140.35/200.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

It looks delicious and beautiful as well!

Thank you @carolynstahl. Your food always looks super tasty.

This looks absolutely lovely! Tip!

Thank you so much for your support and comment @pusteblume.

You're welcome! ☺️

Hi @loveself! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @pusteblume!

@pusteblume wrote lately about: Cook With Us #13 ~ Eggplant Casserole With Cauliflower Rice 🍆🍚 Feel free to follow @pusteblume if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Even before I seen the final product, I have already fallen in love with the crispy cracker. How do I know it's good? Because of the air bubble in it, when dried it is sure to have that crispness that I enjoy very much !!

And that's not the end, i then saw one of my absolute flavour " roasted butternut squash "!!! I can already imagine the sweetness of that roasted butternut squash . And again another surprising ingredient "vegan cheese"! At this point I am already in loved with your creation and then you present the dish with much more vibrant colour!! Wow your dish makes me excited!!!( if you couldn't identify from the way I write :) ).

Really enjoyed this post!

HAHA, you always make me laugh with all of your great comments. If I have never seen any of your mind blowing dishes, just by reading your comments I can tell you are passionate about food. Thank you @alansthoughs.

Good food, quality post deserve such attention and I am happy to provide that :) but also I enjoy see all your crazy food combo!! Simply entertaining!

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

This is Gorgeous! Also love that it's a salad you can eat with your hands. Great way to convince boys to eat healthy!

Thank you for your support @whattheduck and I love your style of food. The flavors are complex and your cooking instructions make everything approachable to all levels of cooks.

Thanks for your support! Your entries are always beautiful and creative! I'm so inspired by everyone here. Amazing how food can bring people together, even if we only share it in a digital sense. I'd love to have a dinner with everyone around one big table!

That would be so much fun! I would definitely be in for that.

Right? Even if not in person. haha I could settle for a skype potluck just to see how everyone prepares their dinner, and what they're having!

Oh wow @loveself, this looks gorgeous & so different, can imagine the crackle in that crackers!

Thank you for your comment @lizelle and it's always a delight to see what you will be whipping up next.

Omg This is beautiful and I'm so hungry for it now, thank u for an inspiring vegan Post

Thank you @celestialcow and I can't wait to see more from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98