My Sandwich MemoirssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cookwithus5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181001_085627.jpg

With cryptos seesawing of late, what do we do when the going gets really tough? Certainly not keep all our eggs in one basket not so, but diversifying our investments would be my humble opinion.

Something that has never let us down from way back in the late 1700's when the Earl of Sandwich first invented it, is the old faithful standby, the humble Sandwich!

As my contribution to this week's Cook With Us Contest, now on Whaleshares but still run by the amazing team of @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart, generously sponsored by @unity, I shared a little of my blockchain Sandwich journey.


I have to warn you though that I don't like making boring ham & cheese sandwiches, so always strive to make something different.
My thanks for all the Sandwich inspiration goes to the wonderfully talented musician, songwriter and manwich maker @jaybird who runs the Steemit Sandwich Contest for which I've made 74 sandwiches in total to date.
I will share a couple of my favourites with you.

I started back in December 2017 with a Christmas Tree Stack which was Crumpets layered with a filling of Grated cheese, Spring Onions, Mushrooms, Red & Yellow Pepper, Cucumber, Tuna & Salad Dressing, Lettuce.

IMG-20171217-WA0022.jpg

Then came a themed challenge - Vegan and it had to be colourful, so I made a Vegan Party Platter, using Rye & Rooibos Bread topped with various fillings. Sauteed chopped Spring Onions, chopped Mushrooms, chopped Spinach were added to a thick white sauce made with soy milk; and garnished with Cherry Tomatoes, Roasted Garlic & Onion Marmalade.

IMG_20180108_090050.jpg

Another favourite was a Royal Rumble High Tea where I used Bread, Yummy Roasted Onion Cream Cheese, Creme Fraiche, Roasted Garlic & Onion Marmalade, Viennas, Salami, crushed Cornflakes, Coconut, Cucumber, Parsley & some pretty yellow & red cherry Tomatoes.

IMG_20180113_145711_1.jpg

When we were given a difficult theme - Terrible, horrible, no good, very bad, ugly Sandwich, I was stumped; but ended up having a whole load of fun making three entries, here is the Gory Grisly Hot Dog which my hubby ate with eyes closed :)
Ingredients used were: Hot Dog Roll, Vienna Sausages, Small Yellow Italian Tomatoes, Tomato Ketchup, Peanut Butter.
Garnished with Red Apple, Small White Marshmallows, Dried Fruit Lollipops, Almonds

IMG_20180209_194713-2080x1560.jpg

Another one I had loads of fun with was the Avocado & Smoked Beef Stack which a Swedish follower said reminded him of the Swedish Smorgastarta Sandwich Cake.
Ingredients used was: Spongy tasty bread squares, Avocado, Thinly sliced Smoked Beef, Red & Yellow Bell Peppers, Thinly sliced Cucumber, Mayonnaise and Smoked Salmon Cream Cheese.

IMG_20180228_111559.jpg

Another personal favourite was a Baked Chicken Mayo Plaited Sandwich for which I used a wholemeal bread dough, grated Cheese, leftover flaked Roast Lemon Chicken, chopped Spring Onions from my garden, a dollop of good mayonnaise, plaited up and baked.

IMG_20180425_122745.jpg

IMG_20180425_121939.jpg

IMG_20180425_121851.jpg

After seeing some beautiful quiltwork by @apanamamama, I was inspired to make a Herring & Sprouts Patchwork Quilt Sandwich using White & Rooibos Rye Bread, Salted Herring, Hard Boiled Egg, Chunky Full Cream Cottage Cheese, Cucumber, Mung Bean & Lentil Sprouts, Spring Onions, Lettuce, Tartar Sauce & Cherry Tomatoes for garnishing.

IMG_20180525_182447.jpg

I really could go on and on as I have many favourites, but will end with my Spring Garden - Arum Lilies, Roses, a Daisy, Cucumber flowers & a Butterfly.
Ingredients used were: Bread, Cheddar Cheese, Smoked Salmon Cream Cheese, Smoked Ham, Carrot, Tomatoes, Spring Onions, Lettuce & Mint.

IMG_20180507_163129.jpg

I hope to share more sandwich memoirs with you some time, hope you enjoyed it!

Qurator lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

OMG! These surely took my breath away!!!! Those aren't sandwiches!!! Those are amazing!!

Thank you for showing off this kind of creativity that I could only dream about!

I'm sure you could come up with some amazing sandwiches @dswigle, thank you for your kind comments :)

OMG! Nothing like this!!!! :)

What a beautiful spring garden of sandwiches! Again I say you are a kitchen genius! So darling! Good luck in Cook With Us, You'll do awesome as always! You certainly have made beautiful sandwiches my friend, your family loves you for it I am sure :)

Thank you so much for your lovely comments my friend! I think I overfed hubby so now he's on Keto and can't eat any carbs, a whole new chapter as far as sandwiches are concerned, although I do use the guests as test tasters at times :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Those are not sandwiches – they are gastronomic works of art! (And they are making me hungry.)

Ah thank you @natubat, it was a whole load of fun making these, I hate making boring sandwiches ;)

I don't think you could make a boring sandwich!

Wow... (walking off speechless trying to find the courage to make some beautiful sandwiches from now on...) :smirkysmile:

Yours have their own kind of raw beauty @mondoshawan, thank you for the compliment :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Raw is the key word... It's like myself, I'm not born to be polite! hahaha ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

With great power, comes great responsibility.

Thank you so very much for this!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 433 (03/19/19)

Howdy tonight lizelle! I agree with natubat, lol. Those all looks amazing!

Hey @janton, so glad you popped in for a sandwich or two, thank you for your lovely comments!

howdy again lizelle! you are very welcome, I'm trying to come by more often because you do a great job!

Thank you again @janton :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Really cool to see these all in one place - such a sandwich artiste :)

Thank you so much @carlgnash, my least favourite food to prepare turned into a weekly compulsion and loads of fun thanks to @jaybird & Steemit ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

You incorporated food in writing- Sandwich Memoir!!!! That is so artistic of you! Your sandwiches are mouth watering by the way.

Looks so delicious, Im on a diet. So no fun for me :(

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah sorry @aliciasteyn, I can always offer you a lettuce wrap, those are great too ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95