Cook with us week #13 - Vegan - Fragrant Vegetable Curry with Pea Flour Roti Pancakes

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Cook With Us Week #13
The theme for this week is: Vegan
Plus mystery ingredient: Onion
Herewith my entry for the fabulous contest arranged by The Cook with Us team - @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart.

Nothing fancy, nothing grand, just a fragrant spicy Vegetable Curry served with fluffy long grain Basmati Rice, Pea Flour Roti Pancakes & a refreshing Cucumber Salad with a minty Balsamic dressing.
IMG_20180602_175930.jpg

I am a carnivore who knows nothing about vegan cooking, but I love vegetables, pulses, fruit, nuts & grains, so really enjoyed googling all the amazing vegan dishes one can make. I could quite easily be persuaded to convert!

However, I chose to go with something I make occasionally, and that is a pucker Durban Vegetable Curry (Vegan) that also contains one onion (Mystery ingredient).
I will be attempting to make a Pea Flour Roti Pancake for the first time, so hope that works!

Walking through the garden looking for curry leaves, I was surprised to discover my curry leaf tree had berries, apparently edible, but the pips are toxic so leave those alone!
When googling facts about the berries I learnt to my surprise that this tree belongs to the citrus family; it's botanical name is Murraya koenigii.
IMG_20180602_111822_1.jpg
See the black & reddish green berries at the top. A flowering shrub and others happily grow alongside the Murraya koenigii.

Ingredients for this fragrant Vegetable Curry:
IMG_20180602_121109_1.jpg
Quantities can be altered to suit.

  • Spices: 5ml Jeera (Cumin) seeds, 5ml Mustard Seeds, Cinnamon sticks, Star Anise, 3 whole Cloves, 10 - 25ml Masala, 5ml Coriander (Dhania) Powder, 2ml Roasted Coriander Powder, 10ml Turmeric, 2ml Asafoetida Yellow Powder
  • Curry Leaves & fresh Dhania
  • 1-2 whole Chillies, deseeded
  • 1 Onion
  • Garlic
  • Ginger
  • 3 Potatoes
  • 2-3 medium Brinjals (Eggplant/ Aubergine)
  • 2 Carrots
  • Small bunch Green Beans
  • 3 Tomatoes
  • 3/4 cup Peas
  • 3/4 cup Whole Kernel Corn

Firstly to tell you a secret my Gujerati friend Jashiela told me; cook the diced potatoes separately or else it takes forever to soften once it touches the curry spices.

Another secret guys and dolls; if in a hurry, this curry can be made by using frozen mixed veg & canned tomatoes, cuts down on prep time quite a bit & tastes almost as good!

Firstly, dice all vegetables.
IMG_20180602_125417.jpg

Heat a nice big glug of Coconut Oil in large saucepan & add spices & garlic.
IMG_20180602_125509.jpg

Add onions & sautee.
IMG_20180602_125701.jpg

Add diced Brinjals & stir fry.
IMG_20180602_130107.jpg

Add carrots, beans, tomatoes & curry leaves, salt to taste, stir & cover.
Cook till vegetables are soft.
IMG_20180602_130147.jpg

Add corn & peas (I had to use frozen), cook a little longer with lid on.
IMG_20180602_131019.jpg

Add pre-cooked potatoes, stir and cook over a very low heat.
IMG_20180602_132726.jpg

Add extra curry leaves & fresh Dhania into the fragrant Vegetable Curry, cover with lid and let it stand so flavours can mingle.
IMG_20180602_133608.jpg

Vegetable Curry looking nice & spicy after stirring.
IMG_20180602_135228.jpg

I was tempted to make pucker Rotis, but even Jashiela tells me that she still battles to make them, she rather buys them. As it was late in the day and hubby was getting ravenous; plus he's a diabetic so I cannot let him wait too long; I decided to make roti pancakes with pea flour.

Ingredients for Pea Flour Roti Pancakes:
IMG_20180602_171913.jpg

  • 1/2 cup Chilli Bites mix - a spicy Pea Flour mixture with the addition of baking powder
  • 1/4 cup Cake Wheat Flour
  • Approx 3/4 cup Water
  • Chopped Dhania leaves

A pancake like batter was obtained by whisking all ingredients together.
IMG_20180602_172103_1.jpg

I'm not afraid of making pancakes and was fairly confident this could work, but still a tad uncertain.
IMG_20180602_172720.jpg

I used a heavy cast iron pan, placed a little coconut oil in base, heated the pan and poured a thin layer of batter in.
Pancake cooking nicely with tiny bubbles forming, everything looking good so far :)
IMG_20180602_174116.jpg

Now for the tricky part, to turn the pancake without breaking...and it worked!
IMG_20180602_173134.jpg

Fragrant Vegetable Curry served with fluffy Basmati Rice, Pea Flour Roti Pancakes & a simple refreshing Cucumber Salad - grated cucumber with mint & white Balsamic dressing.
IMG_20180602_175852.jpg

That is the end of my vegan story, hope you enjoyed my vegetable curry!
IMG_20180602_135332.jpg

Hope to see you cooking along with us at #cookwithus this week or the next.
You not only stand to win sbd and learn new cooking tricks, but also meet awesome people!

A quick recap of the whole process:
IMG_20180602_121115_1-ANIMATION.gif


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by; comments, upvotes and resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

awesome , I love veggies. thats my favourite curry. I never new rotties are so easy yo make. lovely @lizelle

Hi @artywink, these are 'cheat' rotis, the real ones are a lot of work☺

This dishes are look very colorful and healthy. I love vegetables.I will try to make this recipe.Because vegetables are nutritious for our health.

Thanks for your kind comments @jassicax, it's a very tasty curry.

Droooollll. This looks so nice. I am going to bookmark this and make it. I always struggle with curries with inspiration.

I dont think i'll be picking curry leaves in the garden in the UK though 😂

Thanks for the great comments @pumpkinsandcats, hope you try this recipe, sorry I can't send curry leaves your way ;)

Ha ha! I might try one day in a greenhouse

I bet that would be just as tasty as any meat dish. I'm also a true carnivore, but don't mind eating some delicious vegan or vegetarian food like once a week or so. Definitely going to try out this dish, bookmarked!

Thank you @daan, appreciate your comments! If you get to make this, why not write a post & try using @offoodandart's #myturn!

I'll keep that in mind! Will be for next week, already have this weeks menu planned out ;)

Oh the homesickness! I can smell that curry already! Also haven't had pea flour roti in years. I must make a visit to Durban at this rate!

Thanks for your great comments @whattheduck, Cape Town is such a long way from Durbs hey!

It's too far!!!! So homesick!

dear @lizelle, now you got me with my weakness for vegan dishes :) It looks amazing...so much work. Great job! :)

All your delicious vegan recipes has me wanting to learn more about this way of cooking @diemama, thanks for the resteem, really appreciate it :)

I am a carnivore myself but this veggie curry looks fabulous and I would eat it any day. Something new for me but if I could get all the ingredients will definitely try to make some especially the pan cakes but I think we don't have pea flour here.

It's just as nice with rice @watersnake101, thanks for your great comments, hope you get to make this. You could actually do a post on that using @offoodandart's #myturn

Awesome if I could just find all the ingredients.

You don't need exactly the same spices but a good masala & turmeric would suffice. Thanks again :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #156 (6/5/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

You just succeded in leaving me more hungry than I was before I saw this post.

cries ....

Wish I could give you a bowlfull @klynic

the dishes sound wonderful and look so colorful I am sure that it must be very tasty

Thank you @tattoodjay, it was very tasty indeed, thanks for your support☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99