Cook with Us #3 - Buttermilk Chocolate Cake

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Many who know me will know that I'm not a great dessert fan - but I do love a good chocolate cake. My mother's friend sent her a recipe for a chocolate cake and this is my version of it.

Recipe:

3 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups granulated sugar
1 cups unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tablespoon baking soda
1½ teaspoons baking powder
1½ teaspoons salt
4 large eggs
1½ cups buttermilk
1½ cups warm water
½ cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

I had all the ingredients but couldn't find buttermilk at the supermarket. I've now since discovered how to make my own buttermilk. You simply add 2 tablespoons of lemon into a glass of milk - (It goes all lumpy - but then it's buttermilk)

All the ingredients were placed in a bowl and whipped until smooth and then placed in a round baking tin. Oven temperature was 175 degrees for 30 minutes. Put a toothpick in to check if cooked through.

Icing sugar was made by whipping 1 x 200g tub of Philadelphia cheese with castor sugar and cocoa.


The cake was delicious even if I say so myself. The buttermilk was essential to the recipe so glad I discovered how to make my own. I served it with fresh strawberries - which really go well with the chocolate cake.

This was really easy to make and preparation took 15 minutes and baking 30 mins - so a great cake in less than an hour.

Hope you enjoy

Sort:  

Wow so delicious
YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!

This was really delicious @buuroots - you should try to make it

I would like to have a giant piece. It looks so fluffy and the cream cheese frosting...divine! Thank you for the buttermilk substitution tip.

Well, well, well ... @leelektrik made dessert =D! Thanks for trying your hand it and for sharing it with us.

I love that buttermilk can be made easily by adding acid to milk, so I don't recall ever buying it. I just use vinegar or lemon juice to make it. Lemon juice definitely works better for this dish.

Lovely plating! I bet you made your family happy with your chocolate cake dessert.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 01:03:47
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 116.35/200.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow, I'm salivating, thanks for making the process easy and detailed, I'll give it a try sometime.

Nice work @leelektrik! This cake looks so moist and delicious. I like how you did not let the buttermilk slow you down. You hacked the buttermilk! I've done something similar before too and the results are great. Thanks for sharing this recipe and we appreciate your entry. Good Luck!

Lovely chocolate cake @leelektrik - haha this one not so healthy but oh my it was delicious

This cake looks so moist! Thanks for giving the buttermilk tip. I'm sure someone will read that and learn from you! Good luck this week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61