Cook with Us #14 Zucchini Flower Empanadas

This is the last entry of @cookwithus we hope you enjoy this rest period and see you for the next round.
This is my version of Empanadas I hope you like tasty and nutritious.
Thanks for this contest to the team of Cook with us - @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart

Zucchini Flower Empanadas

IMG_9251.JPG

I made these empanadas with a dough that I made with nopal (cactus), parsley and spinach, all this ground in the blender with water and added to half the corn dough and the other half milled oat flakes.
The mixture inside the empanadas is the following

Ingredients

IMG_9225.JPG

1 cup of zucchini flower I had them in a glass container if you have them fresh better because they are cut into pieces.
1 shallot or a small onion
2 cloves of garlic
1/3 bunch of parsley
3 or 4 branches of epazote
1 jalapeno pepper without seeds
Vegan cheese or mozzarella
olive oil to taste
salt to taste

Steps
The tortillas are made in plastic circles and that's where the mixture is added that I now tell you how to make

IMG_9229.JPG

Cut all the ingredients into small pieces and in a pan with a little oil, fry everything until smooth.
IMG_9227.JPG

And that is the mixture that goes in the tortilla circles and the cheese and with the same plastic circle closes.
IMG_9230.JPG

You can put them in the oven at 300 F for about 20 minutes or in a frying pan over medium heat with a little oil in the bottom and covered with a lid and in this case for being green the mixture until it takes a darker color.
As data, I use an herb called epazote that at this time I find it fresh and it gives a very good flavor to the mixture of zucchini flowers.
separador de steemit.png
IMG_9236.JPG

separador de steemit.png

Camara Canon PowerShot SX60 HS
@gladysstillwagon

Sort:  

This looks soo appealing! 😋 I would like to have this for dinner tonight! 😫
Tip!

Good idea @pusteblume
you are seeing that I use the cactus for many things is very nutritious and takes the flavor of what you put
Have a beautiful day

A wonderful day for you too! ☀️

This is beautiful @gladysstillwagon. Great idea with the zucchini flowers!

Hello my dear Carolyn since you are in Mexico you can make this recipe easily and find all the products I recommend you use the flowers of zucchini with the leaves of epazote make a perfect combination

Hello!
I am back in Canada. The funny thing is when I was in Mexico I saw epazote and I ask what it was.I didn't buy it because I just did not know what to do with it. I really want to use zucchini flowers one day. I have never tried that. Thank you dear!

Your balance is below $0.1. This is your 2nd notification that your account is running low and should be replenished.

beautiful empanadas, brilliant using zucchini flowers as the stuffing instead of the thing to stuff things in! I love the flavour of them, very clever! love that vibrant natural green and your plating is beautiful as always!

How nice you are @whattheduck
And the flavor of this Empanada is amazing with the cactus Tortilla and the zucchini flower filling
Thank you

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-06T02:28:42
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 838.30/200.00
Total Photos: 141
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi @gladysstillwagon! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @pusteblume!

@pusteblume wrote lately about: Wild Herbs Honey On Homemade Pancakes Feel free to follow @pusteblume if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

What a beautiful looking recipe @gladysstillwagon - well done

Really nice entry @gladysstillwagon! I love the delicate flavor of zucchini flowers. Your filling is so nice with the flowers, epazote spice and cheese. Thanks for sharing your recipe and we will see you next season!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54