Cook with Us #26 - Roasted Root Vegetable Chilli

in #cookwithus6 years ago

_MG_7785.jpg


Hello everyone!

Today I am submitting my first entry to the wonderful Cook with Us: a foodie contest run by @chefsteve, @offoodandart and @pandamama. Season 3 has just started and when I saw that the first topic was a root vegetable dish I knew I had to cook something delicious to enter this week.

As a European I have always had access to root vegetables, and as time has gone by I have noticed that a wider variety of them are becoming more readily available in the shops. Growing up in the UK we experienced extremely cold winters so root vegetables were a staple in my family's diet, creating plenty of hearty, filling and warming dishes to see us through to brighter days! I live in Spain now and while the winter season is not as harsh it can still get pretty chilly! We even experienced some snow last year which was a surprise to say the least.

One of my favourite comfort dishes to eat by far is chilli. It is an extremely versatile dish and everyone has their own (sometimes secret!) go-to recipe. Over the years I have been perfecting my recipe and the sweet flavours of roasted root vegetables compliment this chilli sauce really well. Read on for the recipe!


Roasted Root Vegetable Chilli

INGREDIENTS (serves 6: first half served in potato skins, second half served with rice the following day)

3 large sweet potatoes
3 parsnips
3-4 carrots
1 whole bulb of garlic (+3 cloves to make the sauce)
1 red onion
1 white onion
10 cherry tomatoes
1 red pepper
Handful of Twilight chilies (approx. 10)
2x 390g tins of chopped tomatoes
1x 400g jar of red beans
1 small tin of sweetcorn
1 tbsp of tomato paste
1 vegetable stock cube
2 tbsp of cumin seeds, toasted and ground
1 tbsp of paprika
1 tsp of dried cilantro
A pinch of cayenne pepper
Extra virgin olive oil
Freshly ground Himalayan pink salt
Freshly ground mixed peppercorns (red, green, black and white)
Fresh parsley leaves, for garnish
Fresh moringa leaves, for garnish


_MG_7617.jpg

_MG_7647.jpg


To begin with I preheated my oven to max (gas mark 6-7) to roast my root vegetables. I cut up the parsnips, carrots and red onion into chunks. I usually leave all vegetable skins on to ensure all the nutrients are preserved but this time I peeled the parsnips as the skins were quite scratched and damaged. Once these were all prepared I tossed them in a little olive oil, salt and pepper to coat and put them on a lined baking tray in the oven for 45 minutes, turning them after 20 minutes until they were evenly roasted.

I washed and dried the sweet potatoes thoroughly and pricked them several times all over with a fork to allow for optimal roasting. To prepare the garlic bulb I simply chopped the tops of the cloves off to reveal them, drizzled oil, sprinkled salt and pepper and wrapped it tightly in baking paper AND tin foil. I find this ensures the garlic does not burn whilst in the oven. Both the sweet potatoes and the garlic roasted in the oven for an hour.


_MG_7672.jpg

_MG_7729.jpg

_MG_7719.jpg


While all of the delicious root vegetables were happily roasting away I made the chilli. I started off by caramelising the onion, then added the Twilight chilies and garlic until softened and they released their aromas. Next I added the dry spices to cook those off, then the cherry tomatoes for a short while and finished with the tinned tomatoes, stock cube, salt and pepper. Once it came to the boil I added the red beans and sweetcorn and left it to simmer for approximately 50 minutes.

At this point the kitchen was smelling amazing with everything cooking simultaneously, receiving top olfactory compliments from my family in the living room. Wait until they taste it, I thought!

Once the chilli was almost ready I squeezed the garlic out of its skins, scraped out the sweet potatoes and added those into the mix, ending with the roasted parsnips, carrots and red onion.

To serve I spooned the chilli into the sweet potato skins and garnished with freshly picked parsley and moringa leaves. Voila!


_MG_7747.jpg

_MG_7785.jpg

_MG_7757.jpg


As this is my first entry to the contest I must include photo proof to show I made this dish - I hadn't realised this at the time of cooking so I am hoping that providing these screenshots of my shoot will be acceptable and my entry is valid!

Capture.PNG

Capture2.PNG


Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed this post!

If you are interested in participating in this contest check out the Cook With Us blog, you will find the season 3 calendar of topics here. Happy cooking!

Gardeningchef

Sort:  

Oh wow @gardeningchef, this is a gorgeous ode to root vegetables, looks and sounds absolutely delicious! Lovely post :)

Thanks so much @lizelle! I'm happy you liked my recipe :D

Wow this is really making me feel hungry! it encompasses a bunch of my favourite veggies not to mention the fact I LOVE chilli.
The photos are as perfect and appetizing as the the food itself. Great job @gardeningchef. I wish you lots of luck in the competition. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and support @sallybeth23 - glad to find another chilli lover! :D

Wow ... what a mouth watering FEAST!
Awesome ... and superbly photographed too.

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Haha thanks @icedrum - it was so tasty!!

I appreciate your support always :D

I love everything about this, and to have you finally join in on the contest! Root veggies are just so darn delicious, especially roasted and put into a chili. And so cute to serve it up in the potatoes! I don't mind cold weather when I have something like this to nosh on. :)

@plantstoplanks I'm so glad you love it, thank you :)
I'm excited to be joining in and looking forward to becoming a regular member in the community! Can't wait to see everyone's root veg recipes - will I be seeing yours soon? :D

Yep, nothing fancy this time around but I definitely have a bowl of hearty goodness to bring to the communal table. :) I'll try to get it up in the next day or two!

I saw your potato goodness indeed!! Fancy doesn't always equate deliciousness, the real win is when you create something simple and packed full of flavour, which I bet your stew was!

Welcome to Cook with Us @gardeningchef! So glad to have you as part of the Cook with Us community. The people here are so nice and amazing!

Such a beautiful and delicious entry! It's so nice to have a variety of root veggies for this particular dish. And ohhhh, the roasted garlic definitely gives a heightened flavor! I would totally enjoy eating this. Yumm!

Beautiful photos! And thanks for sending the screenshots as the proof photo!

Thank you @offoodandart, it's a pleasure to be a part of this lovely community! It's great to be among thoughtful and creative people.

Thank you for your feedback and yes I agree, the roasted garlic gives it that extra oomph of flavour that you don't quite get with just the cooked cloves alone. If you ever decide to cook this dish do let me know how you liked it.

Happy you liked the photos and the screenshots are valid proof :)

Yes, will definitely let you know if I get to make it or a variation of it. Thanks @gardeningchef!

Hi @gardeningchef! Welcome to Cook with Us. We are always so happy to have new people join the community.

You vegetable chili looks so amazing! I like how you roasted the root veggies to develop more flavor and I also like how you added roasted garlic to the chili too. I can just imagine how great this dish tastes. I had never heard of twilight chilies before! Thanks for introducing me to them. Also your presentation and photographs are very well done. Good luck this week and thanks for joining the community!

Hey @chefsteve, thank you! I'm happy to be here and looking forward to entering in future weeks.

Thanks for the positive feedback! I'm glad my entry is well received.

Twilight chilies are beautiful to have in the garden, if you can grow your own. They are at 30,000-50,000 Scoville heat units so not quite blow-your-head-off heat, making them perfect for this recipe. For reference they are on the same level as cayenne or Tabasco peppers.

Thanks again! Looking forward to seeing the winning recipes this week :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81