Cook With Us #4: Squid with black quinoa

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Happy Easter and Happy Passover to everyone. I hope you all had a safe and happy and relaxing time in front of the oven baking and cooking nice things for your loved ones. I know I had a really busy time getting everything ready in time. So much so that I nearly missed putting an entry for @cookwithus Week #4 contest. To be honest I wasn’t sure I could pull an Italian dish worthy of the competition.

I initially thought of preparing a spaghetti Bolognese but didn’t think it would be fair for me to get a pre-made sauce from the shop. The next on my mind was a spaghetti in pesto sauce. I’ve done this a fair number of times in the past and it tasted particularly delicious. However while brainstorming the idea with my husband he mentioned reading a story about the Pesto World Championship in early March in Genova, Italy. Basically, it is said that a real pesto is made using a mortar and pestle and not blended in a mixer.

It was definitely a hard choice… until @cookwithus opened up the contest to include dishes that we may serve up over the Easter weekend. With this in mind, I opted for a squid recipe with black quinoa, considering all the chocolate we would ingurgitate over the weekend. As I’m writing this I also have an eye on the clock conscious that I’m really really late this time with my entry.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup peanut oil
  • 650g squid hoods
  • 3 crushed garlic cloves
  • 2 tsp sweet soy sauce
  • 2 tsp grated ginger
  • 3 tsp Chinese black vinegar
  • 1 tsp grated orange rind
  • 2 thinly sliced red chillies
  • 3 cups cooked black quinoa
  • Lemon wedges for serving


Method:

  1. In a bowl add 2 tsp of oil, the squid, ginger, garlic, sweet soy sauce, vinegar, orange rind and chilli and mixed together to coat. Cover the bowl and allow to marinate in the fridge for 1hr.

  2. In a large pan, heat the remaining peanut oil over high heat. Gradually add in the squid and cook for 3 minutes each side. Set aside while keeping warm.


  3. Add the quinoa in a sauce pan with water and cooked.


  4. Add the marinade to the pan and cook for 3-4 minutes until it has thickened.

  5. I also made a simple salad to accompany the dish. I used cucumber, cherry tomatoes, spring onions and coriander

  6. On a plate place the quinoa, add the squid on top and pour the sticky sauce over. Sprinkle with salt and Sichuan pepper and serve with lemon wedges.



I hope you enjoy it!

Bon appétit!

Sort:  

This is great. Do-able, different, and not too pretentious. Thanks! I will.defo cook this! I wish Steemit had a bookmarking tool

Beautiful entry @foodforsoul!

Could you please upvote this post? Once upvoted, your entry will be valid. Thanks so much!

Great, thank you! Your entry is valid, woohoo =D!

Amazing photographs and beautiful-looking dish @foodforsoul! I
The squid marinade sounds delicious. I can imagine it gave the squid a very nice flavor. Would love to try this squid preparation someday. The salad looks refreshing and perfect for the squid and quinoa!

Glad your husband is part of our Cook with Us family. He has wonderful ideas. Please tell him that I've never tried making pesto with a mortar and pestle. My blender and food processor have been my friends for making pesto =D. Maybe someday your husband can also submit his own entries? That would be great and fun!

Hahahaha we work as a team and try to discuss each post before they are made. He also listens a lot to some French podcast where he collects all these weird information. The pesto one was fresh from this week! But I’ll try and encourage him to join as well. Let’s say what he says lol.

You got good teamwork! Maybe he'll say yes ... on verra!

What a great dish! It has sweet, sour and spicy flavors. The squid has a beautiful rich glaze and the salad offers a bright and refreshing counter balance. Your photos really show how tasty this dish is. Thanks for your entry and good luck!

Congratulations @foodforsoul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58148.81
ETH 2345.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35