You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cook With Us #23 - Fish Croquettes

FOR TSE: I love croquettes of all kinds. I haven't made them in years though. These with an oriental twist are sooo calling my name. It looks like a lot of prep, TBH, but I may just have to try it anyway.

You do such a good job, always. I'm starting to fret that I'm not adventurous enough any more. Although I did do an African Chicken Stew recipe for last week-end -- with shredded chicken, tomatoes, sweet potatoes and peanut butter of all things -- and a bunch of Indian spices.

I messed around with it. (Naturally) Adding coconut, cinnamon, turmeric. The Weasel declared it delicious ... and I mean with genuine enthusiasm. That's rare for him -- but I have to admit this was good!! (There's still another meal in left-overs in the refrigerator.)

I know those ingredients sound odd to a Western palate .. but sometimes you just have to take a deep breath and go for it. We both love exotic food, so I want to try some things from the Middle East and some Caribbean dishes. I just wish I knew what they were supposed to taste like so I'd know if I've hit the target.

Sort:  

That sounds interesting indeed, I still have to try adding peanut butter to dishes, you are adventurous indeed, really need to get @catweasel to take pics when you try out exotic dishes like that and show it to us! So it was hot & spicy then?
Those croquettes really was not a lot of work, and the chili sauce can be made in advance, perhaps double up and keep in refrigerator. We have quite a variety of ready-made ones in our stores, some very good actually.
Re the croquettes, I often use the same recipe even for canned fish like tuna if I'm in a hurry, it makes great croquettes. Nice served with creamy potato mash and a salad.
Hope to see an @enchantedspirit food post soon :)
Thank you for sharing this and for your kind comments!

FOR TSE:

really need to get @catweasel to take pics when you try out exotic dishes like that and show it to us!

You assume it lasts long enough for that! (Actually, I'm not that great on presentation. The Weasel doesn't care. He just wants to get at it!!)

So it was hot & spicy then?

It was very nice and spicy. Not especially hot. In fact, I may double the cayenne I put in it next time. The sugar from the coconut toned it way down. I'm not sure what it takes to get it back hot again -- short of leaving the coconut out.

They serve honey with a fried bread (soft squares and hollow inside) called sopapillas here with Mexican food. The honey is especially good at cooling the "hot" from the peppers and chilis. (As I understand it, the "hot" is carried in the oils of the chilis -- which is why liquid won't wash it away. Something sweet though makes a big difference. Probably something to do with the tongue's taste receptors.)

Haha the picture you're painting is of The Weasel hovering over the pots and devouring it as it comes off the boil...my hubby sometimes is like that... stealing little bits and getting into trouble ;)
As for hot foods, people think drinking water will cool the tongue down but of course it just makes it worse, interesting about the sopapillas, it sounds quite delicious as well, will look to granny google for a recipe, I'm curious now!

FOR TSE:

Haha the picture you're painting is of The Weasel hovering over the pots and devouring it as it comes off the boil...my hubby sometimes is like that... stealing little bits and getting into trouble ;)

So ... you know that routine!!

Sopapillas (pronounced soap-ah-pee-yahs) are marvelous and easy. You just have to be ready to heat up the deep fryer. I've made them before and I really like them.

You tear off one corner when you're ready to eat one-- as I said, they're hollow inside -- pour a little bit of honey down along one side inside. Take a bite. Chew and repeat. They're delicious.

The honey comes in a jug like you use for pancake syrup ... with the little slider on top -- or you can use something like a ketchup squeeze bottle. Dipping might also work, but it's messy that way and not authentic.

Let me know if you try them.

I googled them, they look really nice but your description makes it sound even better, hope to make them soon but really hope to see some of your cooking too, especially of The Weasel hovering over the pots ;)

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60986.74
ETH 2636.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63