Cook with us #3 -Dessert - Crumpets with Chocolate Whispers

in #cookwithus7 years ago

Here we are at Week #3 and although not too early but at least I'm still in time this week.

Going through my photographs, I came across a slow mode pic of myself flipping a pancake and it made me really crave pancakes. I started making the batter and then changed my mind and decided to make crumpets instead. As we are staying at someone's house at the moment and hardly a moment to go out shopping, I had to make do with the ingredients I had.

So here goes - ingredients are really simple:

My late grandmother left a book of recipes from which my mother and I still have some family favourites


This is the recipe in her own handwriting

I used a little less milk so that the consistency would be a bit thicker than if I had made the pancakes.


I usually make one first to check that my pan is hot enough


Ah - perfect!!


So now I can make four at a time. Hate it when a lovely pan like this is scratched because metal utensils were used. One should only use wooden or plastic on these non-stick surfaces



Here comes the guilty pleasures part

Heat a little butter in a pan and throw in a packet of Maltezers or Whoppers - malted milk chocolates

And voila - a delicious dessert. Normally I use Nutella or honey and cinnamon - but whichever way you eat crumpets they are delicious and more-ish !!! They are also great with jam and cream - yummy! now I feel like making them again.

Thank you @chefsteve, @offoodandart and @pandamama for a superb contest.

Thanks for reading
E

Sort:  

I have a weakness for Maltesers and very rarely have it. So when I do eat them, it's such a treat! And look at your pancake ... topped with those lovely chocolate-covered 'teasers'! And melting on the outside from the warmed butter. Never had them this way but .... yummmmmm! What a wonderful idea and great on the pancakes!

Thanks for sharing a recipe from the pages of your grandma's book. I remember when your mom posted about it. Precious!

Yeah my mom and I love Maltesers as well @offoodandart

Love your crumpets @edenmichelle - thanks for entering on the move

Thanks @pandamama - at least I'm trying haha

This is so creative and resourceful! I like how you made your dessert from what is available. Using the Whoppers and butter to make a topping/sauce was a great idea. And your crumpets look so good with the topping and sauce soaking into them.

It is wonderful that you have your grandmother's recipe for crepe. The memories of our relatives live on whenever we cook their recipes. It is fun to tell stories about these people while we are enjoying a meal that they used to cook. Thanks for your entry this week and good luck!

Thank you @chefsteve, @offoodandart and @pandamama for your encouraging comments - make it all worthwhile

Looks great!

Thanks @drewley - how about a recipe from you ? - aargh - I missed openmic this week

Haha I’m not a great cook.. but I will try one of these days. Yes looking forward to your next Open Mic 🎤:)

It's always so nice to have some family recipes. I want a big plate of those crumpets! Delicious!!!

Thank you @loveself - congrats on winning last week - great recipe

It looks awesome! And easy to make it too, I like to eat pancake yummy! ;)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 23:05:52
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 8.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love how you just made this happen with what was available! The dessert looks very tasty and I think you just created a completely new sauce/topping with the Whoppers and butter!

I totally agree too with the scratched pan! It must of made a horrible scratching noise when they were using it with a metal utensil. Just thinking of that noise makes me cringe. Thanks too for adding the story about your dish. With the story, It becomes so much more than just a recipe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.23
ETH 2335.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52