Cook with Us #8 - Red Beetroot Kubbe Soup! A Delicious Comfort Food from the Iraqi Cuisine @Cooknbake

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Hi guys! In my recent food posts I've glided a bit into my grandmothers delicious Iraqi cuisine stories and recipes :) Sooooo many memories and so much fun learning from her how to make the favorite dishes that I grew up on!
I mentioned that my favorite family food is my grandmas famous Iraqi dish -
the delicious...

Red Beetroot Kubbe Soup!


I wasn't planning on cooking it sometime soon or posting about it BUT... thanks to @cookwithus who added a bonus theme to this weeks contest which is..... Make a family favorite dish based on the country you grew up in - my family and I got to enjoy this meal and I am so happy to share it here as well!

Just to clarify, I did not grow up in Iraq, as my grandmothers did, BUT I grew up on homemade Iraqi food that was made from both my grandmothers and my mother who, of course, learned from them all of these great recipes! :)

My entry for this weeks Cook with Us #8 - Contest:

Red Beetroot Kubbe Soup- Recipe
@Cooknbake

20150831_195900.jpg

The Kubbeh are dumplings filled with meat and are cooked in a delicious tangy/sweet flavored beet soup and served hot. It is such a great comfort food, especially on cold winter days!
This is one of those dishes that every Iraqi mother knows how to make and always has a batch in the freezer! :)

For the Kubbeh:

Ingredients:

(makes about 30 kubbeh)

For the Coating:
400gr chicken breast, minced
3 cups rice
1 tablespoon oil
¼ cup Semolina
1 teaspoon salt


For the filling:
500gr ground beef, minced
1 bunch fresh parsley, chopped
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon ground pepper
1 onion, finely chopped
¼ cup breadcrumbs

Method:


1-Rinse the rice and place in a bowl and pour water, enough to cover the rice. Let sit for ½ hour.
2-Meanwhile Prepare the filling:
Mix all filling ingredients in a bowl. Add more salt/pepper to taste if desired.


3-Prepare the coating:
Strain the rice and place in a blender. Pulse a few minutes, while gradually adding the ground chicken breast, and the mixture becomes a fine texture that is easy to work with. Add the remaining ingredients and mix until combined.

(Note: If the mixture is too dry, add a bit more water. If it is too wet, add more semolina.)

4-Make the Kubbeh!
With wet hands, take about 15 gr from the coating mixture, place in palm of your hand and flatten. In the center place about 20 gr of the filling mixture, wrap the coating around the meat with your thumb and pinch the edges. Roll into a fine smooth ball, set aside and continue with the remaining mixture. Refrigerate the balls until the soup is ready.

My grandmother used to make a very large batch of these kubbeh and freeze them at this point on a baking sheet. Once frozen, shed place them in an airtight container and whenever needed she would simply add the frozen kubbeh to the hot soup and they would be ready in no time!

For the Soup:


Ingredients:


3 tablespoons oil
1 large onion, minced or cut into thin slices
2 tablespoons tomato paste
5 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon salt
1 tablespoon ground pepper
3 medium-large beets, peeled and cut into thin slices or wedges
5 cups water
½-1 teaspoon citric acid

20150831_194232.jpg

Method:

1-In a large pot heat oil on medium-high heat. Add onion and fry until golden-brown. Add tomato paste, sugar, salt and pepper and mix. Add the beetroot and mix a few minutes while gradually adding a bit of water, so it does not burn.

2-Add water until covers the beetroot, stir in the citric acid and bring to a boil.
3-Reduce to medium heat, place lid on pot and cook for 20 minutes.
4-Carefully drop in the kubbeh one by one into the hot soup (without crowding them)and add more water until covers them as well.

5 Cover the pot and continue cooking on medium heat for about 25 minutes.

Enjoy the amazing smell!

20150831_195850.jpg

and of course-ENJOY the delicious, comforting taste!!!

Hope you liked!

20151030_101931.jpg

ENJOY EACH BITE!

Simple Recipes @Cooknbake :)

More simple recipes to come! So stay tuned :)

-All pictures are mine and original, taken on my Galaxy S7 phone-

I love reading your thoughts and comments! Any feedback is always welcome ! So please keep 'em coming! :)

See you soon!

Have a great week!

Much Love ❤️
@Cooknbake
Simple recipes for any home :)

A big thank you to the Cook with Us team:@chefsteve , @pandamama and @offoodandart for these great contests!!

Sort:  

Love this soup! I'm a big fan of beet soups, meatballs and dumplings. And this soup combines them all in one! I have never made kubbeh. Thanks for teaching me another delicacy, I look forward to making this soup one day soon!

Great to hear @chefsteve!
If you love beetsoups , dumpling and meat then this is definately the soup for you!! I hope you get a chance to taste it! Im so happy to know that Im able to pass on my favorite recipes from my grandmother and that they are appreciated!!🤗

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cooknbake from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

what cake his name was .. I see it looks good

That colour is amazing ! Beetroot and I are friends now, so finally love the idea of dyeing my food magenta! :D I'm a firm believer in grandma recipes, always delicious! Thanks so much for sharing.

I also loooove recipes that are passed down generations! And yes, isnt the color amazing?! I love magenta🤗 happy that you liked it @whattheduck, this dish is very special to me :)) have a great day!!

I've always seen recipes for kubbeh, but I have never made them. Reading your post I can picture your grandma making a big batch of them with the aroma of the soup cooking in her kitchen. What a great recipe.

Thank you so much for the lovely comment @loveself! Yes, every time i visited my grandmother there was always the smell of her food and cooking in the house:) Im glad I got a chance to learn from her!
Glad to hear you loved this recipe🤗

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @tomekkk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

It looks delicious! Grandma recipes are always the best :)

Yes, the food that passes on generations is something to cherish! And we need to learn from our families so that these recipies keep living 😉🤗
Thanks for stopping by @amandagomez!
Have a great day🤗

Kubbe! Now I know what Kubbe is and a huge thanks to you!

It's a lovely soup. The color is just vibrant and appetizing. The dumplings look and sound delicious, judging from the ingredients above. I would love to try making them at some point. It helps that they freeze well too.

Thanks for sharing your story and background! Thanks for your grandma and for your heritage! I'm loving that I'm getting to know more about the Cook with Us contestants and supporters. What a great bunch!

Haha!! Yup, this is the famous kubbeh!! (Well, one of the many versions of it!) Im happy to know that I was able to share something new to you @offoodandart! And the appreciation to my heritage😁
Definately a great bunch - the team and contestants! Such fun to be a part of it!! 🤗💃🕺

This looks SO good @cooknbake - thank you for posting and working so hard on your recipes. I'm really loving this community - you are all so special

Thank you for the appreciation and the support @pandamama!! As you know, were all really enjoying these contests and it has definately become a special community thanks to your team! 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64