Steemit cookwithus 14: Mini carob crepes w/ Maqui nice cream + strawberries

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

crepes.jpg

So I found out about another new awesome food competition called cookwithus, well it's not that new because we are now on the final round but I only discovered it last week, so here I am with my second entry ever!

The theme this week is anything wrapped, and as much as I loved wrapped food, since going gluten free, the receipes are a bit restricted, rice wraps aren't an option and since I don't eat white rice either, I thought about sushi but I'd ran out of Nori. Well It's the weekend and it's pretty hot here so I felt like I needed a bit of a treat, I also picked up my order of fresh delicious local mountain strawberries and they are best eaten right away!

That's when I thought to make these indulgent but healthy crepes. They are also sugar free because I eat quite a restricted diet and I find even natural sugar can give me adverse effects. Thank god for bananas because they are a must have staple in a vegan diet and they're just the best at making everything creamy and sweet.

crepes2.jpg

To make the crepes:

Oats
Coconut flour
Ground Chia seeds
Chia egg
Banana
Carob (use cacao if you prefer)
spring water

Blend all the ingredients together and add water as you go until you get the consistency of a batter mix
Then heat coconut oil and pour batter on to skillet, flip both sides

Maqui Nice cream:

Freeze a few bananas
Once frozen blend
teaspoon of coconut oil
Add a Teaspoon of Maqui powder

crepes3.jpg

When you add the Maqui it will go a beautiful lavender colour but it fades quickly so make sure to do this part just before serving, unlike me who left the nice cream out, I'll remember for next time! :)

If you don't know already i'm obsessed with this new maqui powder I discovered by chance, I was looking for a powder that would colour smoothies, and of course have health benefits, just from doing an online shop I stumbled across it and check that it was a deep purple colour and for that it was perfect for my purpose. After it was a;ready ordered and I did a bit more research into it, I discovered it was new super food of 2018, and it said to be 8x more powerful that blueberries. just what I need right now, because there is a lot of random summer bugs flying around.

Anyway I filled the pancakes with lots of nice cream and chopped strawberries the rest is history or shall i say in my tummy, nom nom :)

Thanks to everybody that makes the cookwithus competition happen, @chefsteve , @pandamama and @offoodandart and @curie for supporting it!

crepes4.jpg

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health, nutrition, spirituality + more @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

global love banner .jpg

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

They look so delicious @celestialcow I am ready to digg in

These look so delicious @celestialcow! Love that carob, they look light and fluffy...so not filling right? lol

Looks like the vegans are representing full force in the contest! These look great! I got maqui powder recently on a whim, too. So far I've mostly used it in smoothies, but I'll have to try it in nice cream, too. Excellent entry!

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

miam miam these look very delecious, good tasting

Yummalicious! I miss strawberries too!! Another one for the cooler climes! Those look beautiful, and I know they taste delicious. We do get some amazing cacao here. I'm out right now and dearly missing it!

What a great treat my dear!! I love those crepes and with nicecream, yum! I had some pancakes with nicecream yesterday, lol, it's so freaking hot here all the time!
xxx

Thanks so much for your entry @celestialcow! Looks so delicious!

Could you please resteem this post? Please also include "Cook with Us #X" in the title for your next post. Sorry, too many rules, we know. Thanks again!

Loving your stuff @celestialcow Just given you a follow. I'm a fellow foodie and always looking for healthier alternatives and inspo, so thanks!

Looks like my kind of dessert - thanks for an amazing post - and make sure to join us after the break - we'd love to see some more from you @celestialcow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84