Cook With Us Week #20 | Grilled Balsamic Tropical Pizza

DSC_0219 (2).jpg

Good Day my Steemian Food Friends! It’s another wonderful challenging week of Cook With Us! Week 20!


I want to thank @chefsteve, @offoodandart and @pandamama for hosting the weekly event. They have certainly come up with a challenging theme for this week.


Knife Cuts!


We all use knives every day while we are cooking, I have more than my share of scars! Making those delicate cuts look oh so simple, but they're not! This week has proven that. Indeed a great challenge my friends. So much to learn!


It’s summer time and hot outside. Fruits and vegetables are plentiful and while the kids are still at home we like to encourage them to eat them. I know anytime we mention the word pizza...everyone comes running, so how about a Fruit Pizza!


todaysjourney.jpg

Grilled Balsamic Tropical Pizza

Ingredients

  • Watermelon
  • 1 Pear
  • Pineapple
  • Kiwi
  • Pistachios (chopped)
  • Unsweetened Organic Coconut
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Salt
  • Coconut Yogurt
  • Maple Syrup
  • Cardamom

Prep


I began by slicing a 1” center slice of watermelon, marinating it with 2 tablespoons Balsamic vinegar and letting it rest in the refrigerator for about 2 hours.


While waiting ...time to chop!

Large Dice

DSC_0167 (2).jpg


Large dice 3/4”x 3/4” Adding this beautiful pineapple will give our pizza a burst of sunshine


Macedoine


DSC_0156 (2).jpg


Medium dice or Macedoine 1/2 ”x 1/2 ” Love the bright Watermelon, perfect on top!


Brunoise


DSC_0174 (2).jpg


Brunoise 1/8”x1/8” Sweet pears to sprinkle

Rondelle


DSC_0175 (2).jpg

Rondelle 1/8” thick or less These Kiwis were so stunning I wanted to include them, adds a nice tart flavor


Remove the watermelon from the fridge and grilled on both sides, really intensifies the watermelon flavor and sweet taste. Next I flavored the yogurt with a dash of cardamom and maple syrup. Spread a layor of yogurt over the watermelon, and decorate as you wish! Sprinkle chopped pistachios and coconut over all.


A great summertime dessert!

DSC_0246 (2).jpg

Enjoy!


DSC_0253 (2).jpg


Thanks again @cookwithus team! This was a great challenge this week. I have a whole new level of respect for all of the amazing talented chefs around the world!


And as always, blessings to all
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

I'm so glad that you accepted this challenge and learned a bit from it. Your dish and the presentation are stunning. I always say that if you can make precise and uniform cuts then your dish will look a lot better. It will also cook more evenly if it is a savory dish. Your knife skills have totally made your dish look amazing. Your cardamon maple yogurt is a wonderful sauce to go with all of this sweet fresh fruit.

Did you previously know all of the names associated with knife cuts?
Has completing this challenge improved your overall culinary skills?

Thanks for your entry @birdsinparadise!

Thank you so much! This was fun. I did not know all of the names, but I do now! Needless to say, this takes a lot of practice, patience and study. I appreciated the challenge and you are right, this will definitely raise the bar on on future presentations. Thanks @chefsteve!

This is so beautiful @birdsinparadise, you've really done well with your knife skills! I would love to have a slice or two of this!

Thank you @lizelle, I must say this was a challenge. I learned something new...and it was fun too :)

That is one gorgeous looking salad. The cardamom maple syrup flavored yoghurt is perfect with the fruit and the presentation is top notch. Those fruit cubes look perfect!

You are sweet, quite fun this week. Took a while to decide what to make. I loved your dish, it was wonderful. I appreciate your kind words :)

I look forward to seeing your entry for next week!

This looks sooooooooooo good I just keep looking at the pictures over and over !!!!!! 🤣 it’s a fruitalicious feast I may have to attempt something similar if not identical as I know I can’t get my hands on all the ingredients but I shall do my best. 👏👏👏👏👏👏💚💜💛❤️

You are so sweet, thank you! It was fun to create and better to eat ;) I hope you'll try it and share your results. Those knife cuts were definitely a new experience, glad to learn new skills! lol Glad you stopped by :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-13T17:17:57
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 667.75/200.00
Total Photos: 106
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.97 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great fruit salad @birdsinparadise. I like what you did with the pineapple and watermelon. I can’t remember if I’ve ever had both together but it’s sure would taste great. It’s great that you’ve challenged yourself for this one and provide a different take (on ingredients) and cuts for this challenge. Nice pictures too!

Thank you! I appreciate your kind words! I must say I think the biggest challenge was decided what to do right? That took me the whole week lol. The pineapple was tangy sweet with the mellow mellon, fun mix. :)

Very good posts. Brother's continued success

So colorful! I love how you had employed the different knife cuts to come up with a wonderful entry in the form of a pizza. The dice, brunoise, rondelle, etc. were all beautifully made.

What a great idea to use watermelon as a base. The pizza looks tasty and refreshing - a perfect summer treat!

I hope you enjoyed the challenge. And next time you prep your ingredients for a dish, maybe you'll be thinking, "Should I do a brunoise or a julienne cut?" Haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34